Quick Question Thread

I had #BroraTaxiGate in the back of my head when we were deciding what train to get :lol: got half an hour before our train so barring any major f**k ups we'll be fine.

I'm just taking the car tomorrow. Was supposed to be on the train and drinking but Benidorm has absolutely rinsed me and I'm scunnered with the drink. :lol:

See you up there. ;)

Not so quick a question...

Got Ecoli o157 last October and was in hospital for about a fortnight, at one point it was looking pretty grim for me, the worst bit though was waiting on the kids results, thankfully clear. Still suffer bowel issues. 

How I got it was that I rented a farm house from a farmer with multiple properties, it was a well fed water supply. The water supply did not have a filter fitted (he gets a grant for this), a fence round the well or a lid. He put sheep in the field and with heavy rain it contaminated the water. Enviromental health condemed the house and we had to move.

I have a solicitor looking into this for some compensation. There is evidence that the landlord is at fault.

Does anyone know my chances of winning this? If so what sort of amount we talking?

4 hours ago, johnnydun said:

Got Ecoli o157 last October and was in hospital for about a fortnight, at one point it was looking pretty grim for me, the worst bit though was waiting on the kids results, thankfully clear. Still suffer bowel issues. 

How I got it was that I rented a farm house from a farmer with multiple properties, it was a well fed water supply. The water supply did not have a filter fitted (he gets a grant for this), a fence round the well or a lid. He put sheep in the field and with heavy rain it contaminated the water. Enviromental health condemed the house and we had to move.

I have a solicitor looking into this for some compensation. There is evidence that the landlord is at fault.

Does anyone know my chances of winning this? If so what sort of amount we talking?

I took the liberty of making a few assumptions and did this quick e coli compensation calculator and it returned an answer of between £37-50k although there's a chance that they maybe exaggerate the figure to get your business. 

Have a swatch here: https://www.quittance.co.uk/personal-injury-compensation/holiday-accidents-or-illness-claims/e-coli-poisoning

6 minutes ago, Dee Man said:

I took the liberty of making a few assumptions and did this quick e coli compensation calculator and it returned an answer of between £37-50k although there's a chance that they maybe exaggerate the figure to get your business. 

Have a swatch here: https://www.quittance.co.uk/personal-injury-compensation/holiday-accidents-or-illness-claims/e-coli-poisoning

Thanks for that mate, I really appreciate it! 

I did that calculator and it said up to £154k, but as you say probably inflated to get me in.

1 hour ago, johnnydun said:

I did that calculator and it said up to £154k, but as you say probably inflated to get me in

"Up to" is an utterly meaningless figure because it covers everything from a penny upwards.

Good luck with your claim - I usually can't stand the compensation culture but in this case it sounds like you have good reason to nail the guy to the wall.

1 hour ago, GordonD said:

"Up to" is an utterly meaningless figure because it covers everything from a penny upwards.

Good luck with your claim - I usually can't stand the compensation culture but in this case it sounds like you have good reason to nail the guy to the wall.

Aye thanks, Im of the same thinking but this dung chuckin, greedy, tchuchter, fermer c**t has not even apologised! 

6 hours ago, johnnydun said:

Don't know the answer to your question but I really hope you get somewhere with your claim.  Sounds like a horrendous experience caused by someone who doesn't give a f**k.

1 hour ago, Granny Danger said:

Don't know the answer to your question but I really hope you get somewhere with your claim.  Sounds like a horrendous experience caused by someone who doesn't give a f**k.

Yeah, my wife went through the mill when I was in hospital, having to move house, having to move schools with the kids and waiting for their results, all the while im stuck in hospital. Then she gets a phone call from the landlord saying that im "quite skinny and pasty looking at the best of times". Now I dont know what this c**t was trying to imply but im 6'2" and 15 stone, im hardly a waif. Plus I had not had a day off work in 3 years. I was fighting fit.

But now iv had to change my diet and I cant have alcohol, probably just as well for him. Waiting to see a specialist about it to give me a diagnosis of the longer term complications.

9 minutes ago, johnnydun said:

Yeah, my wife went through the mill when I was in hospital, having to move house, having to move schools with the kids and waiting for their results, all the while im stuck in hospital. Then she gets a phone call from the landlord saying that im "quite skinny and pasty looking at the best of times". Now I dont know what this c**t was trying to imply but im 6'2" and 15 stone, im hardly a waif. Plus I had not had a day off work in 3 years. I was fighting fit.

But now iv had to change my diet and I cant have alcohol, probably just as well for him. Waiting to see a specialist about it to give me a diagnosis of the longer term complications.

It's bad enough when someone is negligent, possibly criminally negligent, but when they then try to avoid responsibility it's galling.  Seems to be the done thing though, maybe influenced by insurers.

The chances of someone holding their hands up these days and saying "yeah it's my fault and I'm sorry" appear slim.

4 minutes ago, Granny Danger said:

It's bad enough when someone is negligent, possibly criminally negligent, but when they then try to avoid responsibility it's galling.  Seems to be the done thing though, maybe influenced by insurers.

The chances of someone holding their hands up these days and saying "yeah it's my fault and I'm sorry" appear slim.

Its maybe to do with that if they say sorry, it becomes an admission of guilt?

9 hours ago, johnnydun said:

If you don't have the info already, I would try putting in a Freedom of Information request into Environmental Health asking for the history of all Private Water Supply samples they have taken over the years from the well. 

If you can show he knew there was a problem & ignored it, you'll have a better chance of winning.

It will only cost you a stamp, and the worst that could happen would be that EH refuse your request.

16 minutes ago, lichtgilphead said:

If you don't have the info already, I would try putting in a Freedom of Information request into Environmental Health asking for the history of all Private Water Supply samples they have taken over the years from the well. 

If you can show he knew there was a problem & ignored it, you'll have a better chance of winning.

It will only cost you a stamp, and the worst that could happen would be that EH refuse your request.

He never got samples taken, ever. I was there for 4 years and not once was a sample taken.

When the sample was taken for Ecoli, it had high maganese, iron, turbidity and enterococci.

Thanks for your advice though, I appreciate it.

6 minutes ago, Bobby Skidmarks said:

I'd seek legal advice immediately tbh. Even the 'No win No fee' brigade will jump on this with aplomb if you haven't got the finance.

Yeah mate a solicitor has agreed to take my case on, he is just waiting to find out the long term health effects.

He never got samples taken, ever. I was there for 4 years and not once was a sample taken.

When the sample was taken for Ecoli, it had high maganese, iron, turbidity and enterococci.

Just read your story about how you got ill. From a wee bit of knowledge from my line of work, IMO it sounds like you have a pretty solid case against your landlord.

However, did you sign a tenancy agreement that stated in plain black and white (and making you aware) that it was literally untreated well water you'd be drinking? Also, do you know if a comparative sample of water was taken? I.E. In dry conditions when there were no livestock present?

You also mentioned there being no water filter - Was it literally untreated well water? Not even a UV lamp?

Not to mention everything else, but just a high manganese reading in the water alone is scary stuff as it's heavily linked with causing brain damage.

6 minutes ago, johnnydun said:

It's not up to him to have the samples taken. EH have a duty to sample all private water supplies, but I'm not sure how often. They tell you that you are due a test & you have to let them in.

However, I was assuming that you were in a holiday let, which are considered to be commercial supplies, and are sampled more often than private houses. Accordingly, I would suggest that it would still be worth the FOI request on the off-chance that a negative test result was obtained just before you moved in.

It's not up to him to have the samples taken. EH have a duty to sample all private water supplies, but I'm not sure how often.They tell you that you are due a test & you have to let them in.

However, I was assuming that you were in a holiday let, which are considered to be commercial supplies, and are sampled more often than private houses. Accordingly, I would suggest that it would still be worth the FOI request on the off-chance that a negative test result was obtained just before you moved in.

I'm not sure if it differs by the region, but I worked up at Balmoral Estate for a week a couple of years ago, which has its own water supply. The estate manager said Aberdeenshire Council used to send their person round just once a year to sample the water. The estate has its own water treatment plant though with more than just a basic treatment system.

Is it wrong I want footballers to choke on their chewing gum? 
Just seen the Bournemouth boy Pugh win a penalty at Old Trafford and walk away swinging chewny like a 13 year old lassie.

Mods please

14 hours ago, 8MileBU said:

Just read your story about how you got ill. From a wee bit of knowledge from my line of work, IMO it sounds like you have a pretty solid case against your landlord.

However, did you sign a tenancy agreement that stated in plain black and white (and making you aware) that it was literally untreated well water you'd be drinking? Also, do you know if a comparative sample of water was taken? I.E. In dry conditions when there were no livestock present?

You also mentioned there being no water filter - Was it literally untreated well water? Not even a UV lamp?

Not to mention everything else, but just a high manganese reading in the water alone is scary stuff as it's heavily linked with causing brain damage.

No, the tennancy agreement never mentioned the water.

Not even a UV lamp mate. I thought there would of been a filter at the pump in the well but enviromental health said there wasnt. I would of not been drinking the water if I knew this.

That is scary stuff about the maganese like!