19QOS19 Posted April 22 Share Posted April 22 1 hour ago, Fullerene said: Have you tried using your railcard? You might get a discount. Scotrailed. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BFTD Posted April 22 Share Posted April 22 11 hours ago, Fullerene said: Have you tried using your railcard? You might get a discount. "Would you like to go around the world, sir?" "I was hoping I could just get off at Haymarket" 9 hours ago, 19QOS19 said: Scotrailed. Brilliant idea for a Bang Bus style website. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scottsdad Posted April 22 Share Posted April 22 3 hours ago, BTFD said: "Would you like to go around the world, sir?" "I was hoping I could just get off at Haymarket" Brilliant idea for a Bang Bus style website. I saw a Bang Bus held on a Stagecoach hosted by Brian Soutar. Like A Handmaid's Tale, a sheet with a wee hole in it and lots of prayer. 3/10. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Derry Alli Posted April 29 Share Posted April 29 Why is "wee heavy" called wee heavy when it's brewed to a higher alcohol percentage than "heavy"? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zen Archer (Raconteur) Posted April 29 Share Posted April 29 5 minutes ago, Derry Alli said: Why is "wee heavy" called wee heavy when it's brewed to a higher alcohol percentage than "heavy"? Is it because it was sold in a wee bottle? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Derry Alli Posted April 29 Share Posted April 29 Just now, Zen Archer (Raconteur) said: Is it because it was sold in a wee bottle? That could answer it. I've never seen it on draught, right enough. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tamthebam Posted April 29 Share Posted April 29 Fowler's Wee Heavy, brewed in Prestonpans, had the proper name "12 Guinea Ale" in small print on the label 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scottsdad Posted May 2 Share Posted May 2 Getting a haircut later on. Do I go for my usual 1 all over, of the skinhead 0 all over? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hillonearth Posted May 2 Share Posted May 2 On 29/04/2023 at 10:10, Derry Alli said: Why is "wee heavy" called wee heavy when it's brewed to a higher alcohol percentage than "heavy"? I always understood it was because it was served in smaller measures than standard. Either that or they had a well-developed sense of irony in 18th century Scotland. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
19QOS19 Posted May 2 Share Posted May 2 11 minutes ago, scottsdad said: Getting a haircut later on. Do I go for my usual 1 all over, of the skinhead 0 all over? Blade aff. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melanius Mullarkay Posted May 2 Share Posted May 2 On 29/04/2023 at 10:10, Derry Alli said: Why is "wee heavy" called wee heavy when it's brewed to a higher alcohol percentage than "heavy"? Why can something be wee and heavy at the same time? This surely defies the laws of physics. Next someone will be saying a tonne of feathers and a tonne of steel weigh the same. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thane of Cawdor Posted May 2 Share Posted May 2 37 minutes ago, Melanius Mullarkay said: Why can something be wee and heavy at the same time? This surely defies the laws of physics. Next someone will be saying a tonne of feathers and a tonne of steel weigh the same. You have clearly never been to Northern Ireland where it would, for instance, be considered perfectly normal to ask for a wee Big Mac. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melanius Mullarkay Posted May 2 Share Posted May 2 9 minutes ago, Thane of Cawdor said: You have clearly never been to Northern Ireland Correct. And I have no plans to go either. Unless @Jacksgranda invites me over to see his "snow on the Sperrins". 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacksgranda Posted May 2 Share Posted May 2 5 minutes ago, Melanius Mullarkay said: Correct. And I have no plans to go either. Unless @Jacksgranda invites me over to see his "snow on the Sperrins". It'll be a few months before that happens. Not sure about the invite, though... 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scottsdad Posted May 2 Share Posted May 2 I used to go out with a girl from Northern Ireland. Went over for a romantic weekend. Plane landed Friday afternoon and her dog died about 2 hours later. So, instead of spending my Friday night going tatters deep, I spent it helping her did dig a grave for a beloved family pet. All my plans out the window. I shovelled the dirt onto the dog corpse with some venom. The ultimate in cock-blocking. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melanius Mullarkay Posted May 2 Share Posted May 2 23 minutes ago, Jacksgranda said: It'll be a few months before that happens. Not sure about the invite, though... Disappointing. I was hoping for a bit of Kenneth there. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Kincardine Posted May 2 Share Posted May 2 Went to The Emirates with my youngest, her pal from Primary and her Arsenal-supporting auld man yesterday evening. Great game for the neutral but a cruel way for Arsenal to go out. A couple of rows in front of us sat a family - maw, paw and two weans - in the green and grey hoops with the young ones being FKWs. Driving back to leafy South Bucks, the Gooner dad and I agreed it was odd behaviour whilst the lassies thought it was ok to wear your team's colours at any game you like. So, my QQ is: If you went to a UWCL match in London would you wear your team's replica jersey or would you just be normal? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MazzyStar Posted May 2 Share Posted May 2 2 hours ago, scottsdad said: I used to go out with a girl from Northern Ireland. Went over for a romantic weekend. Plane landed Friday afternoon and her dog died about 2 hours later. So, instead of spending my Friday night going tatters deep, I spent it helping her did dig a grave for a beloved family pet. All my plans out the window. I shovelled the dirt onto the dog corpse with some venom. The ultimate in cock-blocking. 4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GordonD Posted May 3 Share Posted May 3 22 hours ago, Thane of Cawdor said: You have clearly never been to Northern Ireland 22 hours ago, Melanius Mullarkay said: Correct. And I have no plans to go either Big team found 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melanius Mullarkay Posted May 3 Share Posted May 3 22 hours ago, scottsdad said: I used to go out with a girl from Northern Ireland. Went over for a romantic weekend. Plane landed Friday afternoon and her dog died about 2 hours later. So, instead of spending my Friday night going tatters deep, I spent it helping her did dig a grave for a beloved family pet. All my plans out the window. I shovelled the dirt onto the dog corpse with some venom. The ultimate in cock-blocking. No surrender to the canine ender. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...