Is There Any Hope?

Lex

Lost at home in a qualifier for the first time for twenty years or something. No doubt everyone will be calling for Vogts head again, but really would anyone else do any better?. A manager's only as good as is players and to be frank, ours are utter pish. Our * star man * is a bench warmer for the mighty Everton i mean what chance has the guy got. Look at Wales' team today. Bellamy, Hartson Giggs, Speed, every one of those players is better than wee jimmy mac, the question needs to be, why haven't we got players like that? Well i don't know the answer, but sacking Berti Vogts in my opinon would do no good to us. Expectations are too high, it's time we accepted that we are now effective minnows in world football terms, and i really can't see any light at the end of the tunnel

• Replies 18

Totally agree with that. As I said on the other thread we need to get back to basic skills. A lot of these "superstars" can hardly pass trap or control a ball, and they are not comfortable on the ball when they have it. They get good wages, obscenely high in some cases, they train for a half day then home or the snooker or whatever when they should be out on the training ground improving themselves. :rolleyes:

You're right, we are now at the level of a Norway or Iceland of 20 years ago.

Guest baldfred
No doubt everyone will be calling for Vogts head again, but really would anyone else do any better

Yes, I could. Most people on this forum could. I seriously believe that.

The you're seriously away with it! I honestly can't imagine Scotland playing any better than they did before the penalty today. We were easily the better side but couldn't score. Look at the forwards. A guy who plays for Blackburn but until last season wasn't really a first team regular at any of his clubs. Faddy who hasn't started a game since the first of the season for Everton, Fletcher has hardly started for Man U. What on earth can you do with that lot?

McFadden has to leave EVERTON RIGHT FRIGGIN NOW for a regular game else he is going to become an irrelvance. Fletcher too. Ferguson's problem is he is a very good player who just can't relate to shite footballers and most of the guys he's playing with for Scotland are shite. GORDON IS A FUCKING JOKE. If we have to have a Hearts keeper, I'LL HAVE NICKY FUCKING WALKER PLEASE.

A Scottish manager is going to make no difference to this bunch of reprobates, and none of the b*****ds wanted it when Brown resigned so , no , sorry i'm not having guys like Strachan etc riding into town now as though they're the fucking cavalry come home to sort our problems. If guys like him could get a Premiership job they'd tell Scotland to shove it so they can all piss off.

Who is going to own up now to suggesting Craig Gordon should be our Number 1?

He was garbage in the Slobenia game and we have an excellent goalkeeper in David Marshall sitting on his arse, yet Vogts plays him.

Granted, Vogts can do little with the lack of quality we have, but there is a blatant error. As is not having Gary Teale playing on the right wing and having Gary Holt playing at all.

Granted, Vogts can do little with the lack of quality we have, but there is a blatant error. As is not having Gary Teale playing on the right wing and having Gary Holt playing at all

Holt was the most inept Scottish internationalist performance i've ever seen after CRAIG FUCKHEAD GORDON.

What rubbish, Neil Sullivan springs to mind. Anyway we shipped 3 goal with Marshall in goal. Gordon was excellent v spain, hes only 21 give him a break.

Funny that I can't remember seeing Gordon make a howler for Hearts, yet I remember Marshall making a few (but nowhere near as many as Bhoys67 thinks) for Celtic. :rolleyes:

The you're seriously away with it! I honestly can't imagine Scotland playing any better than they did before the penalty today.

How long have you supported Scotland?

Since the Slovenia game?

That was utter rubbish yesterday. I can't remember us having ONE serious shot on target, apart from that one early doors that looked over the line, and even that was a goalmouth scramble.

We have got the players there. Not to be world beaters, but to at least compete. Norway were very poor yesterday, yet we couldn't break them down. Total mince.

An excellent weekend once again ruined by the thing you go for in the 1st place.

It's just as well there's drink :lol::lol::lol:

A few popinters from yesterdays game

1. i perosnally felt holt was excellent yesterday held the midifeld together in a neil lennon style role in front of the back four, and he more than made up for ferguson's fear of going to anything less than 70/30 tackle.

2. the atmosphere was pretty crap i felt compared to most games, maybe that was because we were in the travel club overflow at the far top tear, we stood the entire game and tried to get it going but it wasnae happening

3. gordon was perhaps partly at fault for the goal, and before yesterdays game i want sure if he had the bootle to be goalie for scotland, now i think he does, hes has made far fewer mistakes at domestic level and to me has to be scotland number oe at this present time

4. the referee and linesman (main stand side) were appaling, not biased, just completly inept at their job, we got numerous soft fouls, and then some shocking takles would go in from both sides and he wouldnt book them, persoanlly how dickov stayed on the park for that two footed assault on the guys back i will never know

How long have you supported Scotland?

Since the Slovenia game?

That was utter rubbish yesterday. I can't remember us having ONE serious shot on target, apart from that one early doors that looked over the line, and even that was a goalmouth scramble.

We have got the players there. Not to be world beaters, but to at least compete. Norway were very poor yesterday, yet we couldn't break them down. Total mince.

An excellent weekend once again ruined by the thing you go for in the 1st place.

It's just as well there's drink :lol::lol::lol:

Of course we struggled to score. We haven't got a goal scorer!!!

Fletcher, McFadden and Naysmith aren't even getting a regular gig at their clubs. Ferguson is not long back to full fitness. They have real quality but are desperately lacking match fitness. Dickov is probably not good enough for international football. Unfortunately these are about the best options the manager has available to him and I think the team did as well as can be expected considering we are pish.

I have supported Scotland since 1986. To suggest that I'm some kind of Johnny come lately is uncalled for IMO. I am entitled to my opinion as you are yours.

A few popinters from yesterdays game

1. i perosnally felt holt was excellent yesterday held the midifeld together in a neil lennon style role in front of the back four, and he more than made up for ferguson's fear of going to anything less than 70/30 tackle.

2. the atmosphere was pretty crap i felt compared to most games, maybe that was because we were in the travel club overflow at the far top tear, we stood the entire game and tried to get it going but it wasnae happening

3. gordon was perhaps partly at fault for the goal, and before yesterdays game i want sure if he had the bootle to be goalie for scotland, now i think he does, hes has made far fewer mistakes at domestic level and to me has to be scotland number oe at this present time

4. the referee and linesman (main stand side) were appaling, not biased, just completly inept at their job, we got numerous soft fouls, and then some shocking takles would go in from both sides and he wouldnt book them, persoanlly how dickov stayed on the park for that two footed assault on the guys back i will never know

Totally agree with almost everything there mate. I wouldn't say Holt was awesome but he was effective and a lot better than he was at Right Back.

Of course we struggled to score. We haven't got a goal scorer!!!

Steven Thompson should have started the game, he's been playing pretty good for the **** lately, and his physical prescence is omething we were sadly lacking up front.

Vogts made a huge blunder by not bringing on Thompson immediately after Faddy was sent off. 1-0 down at home to a team you MUST beat, you have to chase the game. One of the midfield or defence should have been sacrificed for another striker. Losing 2 or 3 nil in this kind of game is as bad as losing 1-0.

But no, MacBerti leaves it for a fool (sic) 20 minutes before doing anything constructive to change it.

I was speaking to some Norway fans in some Glasgow pub on Friday night, all Brann Bergen supporters, who can't believe Robbie Winters wasn't even in the squad. They all said he has been in superb form. I'm inclined to believe them, as they also said Charlie Miller was a fat, lazy, barstard, or words to that effect :lol:

It is mystifying why Winters isnt getting a game. Another one of Berti Hoax's master strokes.

Oh and I made no earlier mention of Tommy Burns getting to feck because that is a given. He can carry Berti's bags to the airport for him.

Guest Guinness_Alan
I was speaking to some Norway fans in some Glasgow pub on Friday night, all Brann Bergen supporters, who can't believe Robbie Winters wasn't even in the squad. They all said he has been in superb form. I'm inclined to believe them, as they also said Charlie Miller was a fat, lazy, barstard, or words to that effect :lol:

Got to agree about Winters. He's obviously on form and is scoring regularly for his club.

Not sure it can all be Berti's fault. We were missing some very influential players yesterday. If we'd had Pressley, Dailly, McNamara, Quashie and a fully fit Ferguson it would have been a totally different game.

Also got to say that I thought Holt had a good game.

I think Gordon is the best option we have in goals, but I would bring Sullivan into the squad to pass on his experience and help with Gordon and Marshall's development.

Going to answer the original question: No, there is no hope for Scotland in the forseeable future. We will not qualify for a major tournament for a long, long time. Part of the problem is now that the rot has been slowly setting in for years, but it's really coming to a head now and we're sliding down the UEFA/FIFA rankings. Eventually we'll end up as 4th/5th seeds (I believe we're 3rd right now and were 2nd for the Euro 2004 qualifier) and have to play a LOT of teams that are better than us, and we'll just get worse and worse. It's going to take a total renaissance, along the lines of the Welsh rebuilding (and I know they're not THAT great, but look at them compared to themselves 20-10 years ago, and look at them compared to us!) before any hope for Scotland can be restored.