wearealldoomed Posted October 10, 2004 Share Posted October 10, 2004 Apologies if this has been done before. 1) "Work/life balance" 0% work, 100% life would be nice... 2) "Talk to the hand" SHUT THE FECK UP!! 3) "24/7" Yet more Americanised cack. 4) "Social inclusion" What eejit politician dreamt up that pish? 5) "Drug misuse" Surely anyone having a wee smoke or whatever is using it exactly as intended? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Akritoi Posted October 10, 2004 Share Posted October 10, 2004 4) "Social inclusion" What eejit politician dreamt up that pish? Labour, actually. It was the whole idea of getting every type of Social class together so there would be no difference, not a bad idea, but it was already being implemented. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Savage Henry Posted October 10, 2004 Share Posted October 10, 2004 Labour, actually. It was the whole idea of getting every type of Social class together so there would be no difference, not a bad idea, but it was already being implemented. Actually, it's origins date back to the post-war period, where the democratic consensus to create a "home fit for heroes" for a second time, saw politicians of all parties combining ideologically and literally. Out of this came the now insignificant but once powerful Central Council of Physical Recreation. It was a new phrase, coined along with the New Deal, which has also been given a face-lift, but harked back to the essentially condescending Victorian period policies which Blair owes much of the New Labour manifesto to. The problem with it is more the fact that it has become so ubiquitous that it has lost all meaning, and is shoved into any government literature so as to mean everything and nothing all at once. It also patently patronises anyone who isn't ABC1 as they are deemed to be "socially excluded" but don't always feel so. They feel government is excluded from the society which they know. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest God is a bairn Posted October 11, 2004 Share Posted October 11, 2004 "its no the winning its the taken part that counts" typical loser speech, wtf is the point in competing in something if your aim is not to win it - no-one remembers losers Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CK Posted October 11, 2004 Share Posted October 11, 2004 talk to the hand cos tha face aint listening. WTF is that about ehhhhhhhhhhh nawwwwwwww i have never said that and never will say it. i hate folk that say it Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garrowhillclyde Posted October 11, 2004 Share Posted October 11, 2004 One that pisses me off is folk that start sentences with "to be honest, ..." What, so you are lying to me the rest of the time, you cvnt. Grrrrrrrr. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swampy Posted October 11, 2004 Share Posted October 11, 2004 1. "Asinine." Such an awful word. 2. Corporate-speak. E.g. Human Resources instead of personnell, mission statements instead of shutting the f**k up, recruitment instead of hiring. There are myriad others. 3. "I'm loving this" or "He's hating that." Why not just, I love this, or he hates that? Once upon a time we ridiculed foreigners for confusing similar tenses I'll think of more later, have to go now. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest mrs stainrod Posted October 11, 2004 Share Posted October 11, 2004 "like" or "ken" at the end of every sentence Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rugster Posted October 11, 2004 Share Posted October 11, 2004 Myriad. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Musketeer Gripweed Posted October 11, 2004 Share Posted October 11, 2004 Can you smell what The Rock is cooking. And everything else he ever said. Not that I watch that pish Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hughsie Posted October 11, 2004 Share Posted October 11, 2004 This isn't really one that annoys me but I just havn't heard it for ages WALLOPER as in off Chewin The Fat Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest SeD Posted October 11, 2004 Share Posted October 11, 2004 Mrs SeD has a strange use for 'literally' as an intensifier or as a synonym for 'exactly, precisely': as in They were literally 5 miles away at the time It gets on my wick, big time Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest spr Posted October 11, 2004 Share Posted October 11, 2004 1- "Bouncebackability"- wtf? 2- "team player" (at work)- It's not like playing fitba, we only work to make a living and I'm only there for me not some stupid "team". Got that? 3- "cool"- usually said when people don't know what else to say or they're actually thinking the opposite. Lying bassas. 4- "wicked"- fvcking hate trendy words, as in 1, 2 and 3 above. 5- "get a life"- as above. First advised to do that by a septic in USA way back in '92, then you get people here who think it's clever to say it. Er got news for you, heard it a billion frigging times before. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rugster Posted October 11, 2004 Share Posted October 11, 2004 Think outside the box, back to basics, Below the line, underlying trend. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Musketeer Gripweed Posted October 11, 2004 Share Posted October 11, 2004 "Thats the bottom line cause Stone Cold said so!" Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StewartyMac Posted October 11, 2004 Share Posted October 11, 2004 1 - Anything Sid says 2 - "We're all singing from the same hymn sheet" 3 - "Fabby" 4 - "Manage the customer's expectations" 5 - One I used to hate a few years ago was, "Number 9, Michael Geraghty" Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gordon EF Posted October 11, 2004 Share Posted October 11, 2004 1) When people say "literlally" when it isn't literal at all. "He's literally on fire." So he's writhing in fucking flames is he? Mostly used by 20 something TV presenters and stupid commentators. 2) Anything overly American. I've found myself saying things and just after it thinking, 'that sounded far too American'. I try hard to keep it to a minimum but when almost every film and TV program you see is American the odd coulpe slip out. Things like, "That rocks", "Ass hole", "Talk to the hand" etc edited to include...I never say "That rocks" etc, just incase it read like that. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Akritoi Posted October 11, 2004 Share Posted October 11, 2004 When somebody says "No offence", you know aftewards they'll say "Your a p***k" or "Your a fucking fanny" but because they said no offence, they don't mean it to hurt. Away tae f**k! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Savage Henry Posted October 11, 2004 Share Posted October 11, 2004 "We like to play football" People who write in Scots. Superfluous swearing. It's not big, it's not clever, and it's not hard, even if you do drive an SRi. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Centre Stand Hero Posted October 11, 2004 Share Posted October 11, 2004 1. At the end of the day Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...