Who's Going To Uni?

At Strathclyde Union it was very much hit and miss at the bars. On a Tuesday it was generally too busy after uni for them to check, but in the Gamezone they tended to be a lot stricter, because they had nothing much else to do.

It's Strathclyde he's going to so he'll likely spend a bit of time in there.

It's always worth a shot, anyway.

Anyone going to Heriot Watt by any chance? :unsure:

I'm feeling like i'm going to be all alone on freshers :ph34r: ! Also 17 on freshers week?

Will it be much of a problem? <_<

Im gonna be 17 till February, but im just thinking of getting other people to go to the bar in the union and ive got fake id to get beers at off licenses.

Just go around talking to anyone and everyone on your first day, thats what im planning on doing.

See reading this, I've realised I completely missed out on the whole student experience. I lived at home, which was part of the problem, and met a long term girlfriend in 1st year, plus I took studying pretty damn seriously. I only really went on the odd night out with my uni mates and spent most weekends going out with my mates from home. What a load of pish now I think of it.

I remember Freshers week as well, pulling a few birds and thinking that this uni malarky was going to be class. Ach well...

ME!

And i'll be 17 over fresher's week also. Heard the union serves anyone though so I'll just stick to their until I'm 18 (not until February)

Cool mate! I'll keep my eye out for a queens top :P ! What course you doing? Looking forward

to it?

This whole being under 18 malarky is getting me a bit worried too. I'm not 18 til January. However I was speaking to a mate who was in the same situation as me for a couple of months at Dundee and he said the Union allowed you in "as long as you didn't drink". As soon as you were in, the 18 year olds got the drinks in and no-one was any the wiser. I don't know whether this is the case at other unions but I'd thought I'd post it anyway.

Stirling Uni is like that. They'll check your ID at the door, and if you're not 18, they'll take it from you to get it back when you leave.

The theory behind it being, of course, that you get ID'd at the bar, and if you don't produce a student card, you don't get served. In reality, they very, very rarely ID at the bar, and they certainly don't care if it's the same person buying every round, as long as the person doing the buying is 18.

This whole being under 18 malarky is getting me a bit worried too. I'm not 18 til January. However I was speaking to a mate who was in the same situation as me for a couple of months at Dundee and he said the Union allowed you in "as long as you didn't drink". As soon as you were in, the 18 year olds got the drinks in and no-one was any the wiser. I don't know whether this is the case at other unions but I'd thought I'd post it anyway.

You wouldn't get away with that Strathclyde Union which is the best one. Strict as f**k in there. Caley you probably would. Stirling you certainly do. They do ID at the door sometimes but you are still allowed in and the bar staff are dotted.

Edited by Gregory Helms

Try and get yourself some fake id. Can't speak for Edinburgh, but Glasgow is strict on ID especially for students and especially in fresher's week.

When is it you turn 18? My flatmate in first year was 17 for most of first year, didn't turn 18 until February. She tried to come out with us one night, got refused entry, and lost all her confidence and never bothered trying again until she was legal - was a total waste of first year.

Not wanting to put a downer on you, but I always advise 17 year olds to take a gap year then start their course when they're 18.

Pish, I'm not 18 till March, obvious disadvantage of leaving at the end of 5th year. I've heard Glasgow uni unions aren't strict at all, but if they are I'll have to try and wing it with my brothers ID.

Who's all going to Glasgow then?

Anyone else going to Murano Street?

A couple of guys from my school are in Murano Halls for this year. I'm off to Glasgow but I decided not to go into Halls.

I presume you'll be doing Music or something like that?

You wouldn't get away with that Strathclyde Union which is the best one. Strict as f**k in there. Caley you probably would. Stirling you certainly do. They do ID at the door sometimes but you are still allowed in and the bar staff are dotted.

I totally forgot about that actually, but you're right, at Caley you got ID'd and if you were under 17 they just told you not to drink alchohol, but you were allowed in (I think the law might state though that after a certain time you have to be with someone over 18 at least, so don't turn up by yourself if you're 17).

Glasgow Uni has two unions. QMU I think used to give you a stamp but I dunno if that was to show you were over 18 or just incase you left. Can't remember going to either of them unions with anyone under 18 though, same with Strathclyde.

Another funny thing with Glasgow Uni by the way. If you actually go to Glasgow Uni, you have to join one of the Unions before you can get in. However, if you're from Caley or Strathclyde, you're allowed straight in and can even sign others in.

This of course resulted in the strange episode of me and my Glasgow Uni mate turning up one night, him showing his Glasgow uni card, being asked if he had a membership card, and when he said no being told he couldn't get in. I was stood behind him, showed my Caley card but was ready to walk away anyway as obviously wasn't going in without my mate - when the doorman says "you can sign up to 2 people in with that card". So there was me, a guy with a matric card for a different University, signing in a Glasgow uni student to his own Union.

Stirling Uni is like that. They'll check your ID at the door, and if you're not 18, they'll take it from you to get it back when you leave.

The theory behind it being, of course, that you get ID'd at the bar, and if you don't produce a student card, you don't get served. In reality, they very, very rarely ID at the bar, and they certainly don't care if it's the same person buying every round, as long as the person doing the buying is 18.

Good to hear. I'm not 18 until October, so for the first couple of weeks I'll only be 17. Was a wee bit worried I wouldn't be able to go anywhere.

You'll get in the Union nae bother. Just get a mate to buy your drinks at the bar.

I wouldn't advise trying to get into Fubar or Dusk though, unfortunately. You'd maybe get away with it at Fubar, surprisingly, but I've been ID'd every single time I've tried to get into Dusk.

You won't be the only one though. And you're just as well getting bevvied in the halls, instead of going out when there's a good chance of getting knocked back at the door.

Is anyone doing/done Applied Maths?

That the course I'm lloking to apply for next year.

I'm going into third year but have a resit in Applied Maths at the end of the month. It's horrible. I presume you're quite good at Physics? Well, I'm not and the lecturer just took it for granted we were all clued up on Physics. Hence, the majority of the course made no sense to me and most other people.

What Uni are you applying to? If it's Glasgow, the Maths course is quite broad in the first two years; you'll do courses in first year that cover Calculus and Algebra. Then in second year, it breaks down into more specialised courses like Applied, Pure, Analysis, etc. In third year, you can then decide whether you want to pursue Applied, Pure or general Maths degree.

Good luck with the Applied, though. If you're like me, you'll need it. ;)

You'll get in the Union nae bother. Just get a mate to buy your drinks at the bar.

I wouldn't advise trying to get into Fubar or Dusk though, unfortunately. You'd maybe get away with it at Fubar, surprisingly, but I've been ID'd every single time I've tried to get into Dusk.

You won't be the only one though. And you're just as well getting bevvied in the halls, instead of going out when there's a good chance of getting knocked back at the door.

Fair enough, I'm sure I can handle it for a couple of weeks although obviously it's hardly ideal.

Yeah, there's bound to more than a few in the same boat. I'll manage for a couple of weeks.

Pish, I'm not 18 till March, obvious disadvantage of leaving at the end of 5th year. I've heard Glasgow uni unions aren't strict at all, but if they are I'll have to try and wing it with my brothers ID.

Posts like these make me feel rather smug about being 18 I have to be honest :lol:

Should our paths cross when/if you're having a problem getting in somewhere, I'll try to be of assistance ;)

A couple of guys from my school are in Murano Halls for this year. I'm off to Glasgow but I decided not to go into Halls.

I presume you'll be doing Music or something like that?

How did you guess! ;)

I know you said what you were doing before in the thread but I can't be arsed checking. With your grades you could get into any course!

Posts like these make me feel rather smug about being 18 I have to be honest :lol:

Should our paths cross when/if you're having a problem getting in somewhere, I'll try to be of assistance ;)

Much appreciated :D .

I always thought as I was one of the oldest in my year I'd be fine for uni, didn't count on leaving at the end of 5th year though :( ,