The Falkirk FC Thread

6 minutes ago, Shodwall cat said:

They paid 60k for him too. When was the last time we spent that kind of cash on a player?

The great John Stewart? 

1 minute ago, Shodwall cat said:

Was it as much as that bloody hell.

Certainly around that amount IIRC

Money well spent…

Sure we paid a fee for Hippolyte and Nathan Austin but not quite as much. 

Edited by Dave Mc

Frustrating to give away a stupid goal, poor decision from nesbitt to play it into the box and then Lang not to just launch it.

Other than that pretty even, neither team creating a huge number of chances but they didn't look like scoring really. Hendo and Lang (I think) missing free headers in the second half pretty much finished it.

They were clearly better organised, disciplined and coached than the 3 championship teams we've played this season so think Airdrie will have to play well to beat them. If they go in front like they did tonight they will sit deep and be a nightmare to break down. 

Don’t think there was much in the game, we made one mistake and they capitalised on it and saw the game out comfortably after that. Quite a few of our players had a bit of an off night but far rather have that in the cup than the league. 

We can now focus on what needs to be done in terms of league business without any distractions. 

Thought the ref was again absolutely fucking ganting but that’s just the norm and I don’t know why I should expect anything different.

We move on and focus on beating the Accies in a fortnight.

12 hours ago, BPM said:

Lang, Spencer and Miller decided tonight to have their poorest game in a Falkirk jersey. 

They created the square root of f**k all, scored a goal through our mistake and just sat in and stopped us playing. Fair play to them. 

Not the end of the world but a missed opportunity IMO. 

Spot on. The comments are over the top IMO. We made one mistake and got punished. Their press was better than anything we’ve faced and they set up defensively sound. Their keeper was busier than Nicky and on another night we’d have scored at least one. Just one of them games it didn’t happen for us. Move on and forget.

Edited by Tea and Busquets

Aye on another night that game would've finished 0-0. We chucked them a free goal and they sat in and defended well. Not getting all the over the top shite on the COYB page or on here. 

Very similar performance to the Dundee United game in the league cup. Playing out from the back against full time teams that can press well will ultimately lead to the odd mistake or two. Total hospital ball by Nesbitt who other than that I thought played pretty well. Will ultimately be a forgettable night if we can beat Hamilton in a couple weeks and get another step closer to getting out this league. 

Very similar to the Dundee Utd defeat in the LC group stage. Fairly even game but we lose a goal through an error and our opponents see the game out. 

To add to the budget discussion, TNS signed someone from EFL League One a couple of seasons. Undisclosed fee but described as a club record, so you've got to imagine it was somewhere in the region of 6 figures. Their budget would have them top half in the Championship imo.

Easy to say focus on the league but I was selfishly wanting to take the wee man along to his first cup final as he's starting to catch the bug.

Edited by lanky_ffc

Echo the above few comments, absolutely no knicker wetting from my side. The distractions are now well and truly behind us, no cups, transfer windows closed, we know our squad, we know our remaining fixtures. Let’s get to work and get the job done and out of this league.

26 minutes ago, GMBairn said:

They were clearly better organised, disciplined and coached than the 3 championship teams we've played this season so think Airdrie will have to play well to beat them. If they go in front like they did tonight they will sit deep and be a nightmare to break down. 

Once they got in front they done a professional job in shutting up shop and were disciplined. Stuffy team and well drilled. Frustrating that they scored from our mistake but it wasn’t to be our night in the end. It’s history now and need to move on, there’s a league to win.

Good old Falkirk, spolied my night.

I was really looking forward to taking another 6 off you guys as in the play offs last season but, you failed to beat a bunch of Scousers disguised as a Welsh Team !

Leave it to us to deal with them and please don't blow your Seaside League Title - cannot wait to see you next season.!

28 minutes ago, Tea and Busquets said:

Spot on. The comments are over the top IMO. We made one mistake and got punished. Their press was better than anything we’ve faced and they set up defensively sound. Their keeper was busy than Nicky and on another night we’d have scored at least one. Just one of them games it didn’t happen for us. Move on and forget.

How was their keeper busier? We had 2 shots on target whole game and one of those was a powder puff header…..

Just want to say some of our supporters are absolute knobheads. WTF was that all about throwing barriers over the wall at TNS fans? Couldn’t believe that behaviour after a defeat in a diddy cup. 
Please can we start banning these wankers who are bringing down our club? Its not the first time this season either..,,,

42 minutes ago, JulioBairn said:

Who are the wee Fanny’s chucking barriers about at our own stadium. Get that to f**k

That's what happens when you give the 'ultras' the run of things.....alloa away,stirling away, hamilton away, tns home. Not to worry the powers that be won't say anything...

TNS had our number completely.  They knew how we'd play and did well shutting down our main threats.  Miller particularly didn't get a sniff.  

As others have said, a harsh reminder of McGlynns inability to mix it up or react during the game.  We should get over the line this year but if we do go up, we'll get a lot more games that play out like tonight and somehow we need to get better at adapting. 

Gutted we've missed out on a final having beaten some decent teams to get to the semi.  Player for player TNS aren't better than us but tactically better and very well organised.  

Edited by Proudtobeabairn

Just now, Proudtobeabairn said:

TNS had our number completely.  They knew how we'd play and did well shutting down our main threats.  Miller particularly didn't get a sniff.  

As others have said, a harsh reminder of McGlynns inability to mix it up or react during the game.  We should get over the line this year but if we do go up, we'll get a lot more games that play out like tonight. 

Gutted we've missed out on a final having beaten some decent teams to get to the semi.  Player for player TNS aren't better than us but tactically better and very well organised.  

I watched the interview with the TNS manager before the game and he had clearly done his homework and knew our game plan inside out. 
We were totally stifled and completely devoid of any ideas how to break them down. 
They are a really decent side, better than Airdrie for sure, and deserve to be in the final…..