Big Rangers Administration/Liquidation Thread - All chat here!

I've never known any protestants not getting a job because of their religion.

I have personally never known a catholic in this predicament either? What on earth does that have to do with where I stay or the fact that I witness examples of bigotry from both sides?

Edited by forever_blue

There is a well known Scaffolding company in your area who don't employ Catholics...you already know this.

In the not to distant past British Bakeries and Wellpark brewery two of the biggest employers in the area had a Protestant only policy.

Again you are getting into completely unrelated nonsense, if you are so confident the company in question has this policy name them ? growing up I have experienced bigotry from both sides , as I am sure many in glasgows east end have , do you think I m lying in this statement.

It happened, your club ignored it, none of this is made up.

Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout, Whatabout,

Despite any of this I doubt you have ever regretted supporting your team, I have certainly never regretted supporting mine.

The thing is, if you were a decent human being, you would. Claim ignorance, do Youngsy. That at least is understandable, not excusable but understandable. But knowledge of what your club was, what it has done and the utter contempt it holds you in means you are condoning it. Which makes you a bit of a c**t doesn't it?

Normal Aberdeen fans supporting their club were / are in no way fuelling the violence caused by their casuals. It's reprehensible to attack innocent people, but it's not something your ordinary fan is facilitating by buying a season ticket.

Rangers FC (club and company) had a policy of not signing Catholics. The stewards employed by Rangers also didn't eject people for singing sectarian songs. The club itself were fully complict. People who supported the club were giving money to an openly discriminatory organisation. And everyone knew it.

Yes, different time, different standards. So it's not AS bad as today, but it's still pretty damn bad and those who supported Rangers but ignored the discrimination should still feel an appropriate dose of shame or regret. Not burying their heads and saying "I just went for the football". Which of course totally and utterly misses the point.

I was a Rangers fan as a wee kid and I asked my dad if we could get a season ticket. This was about 1986. He said no because he didn't agree with the non-catholic policy. Two years later Rangers signed Mo Johnston but my Dads job then prevented us going. Thank God, in hindsight.

Aye...It's a large employer in the East End.

How is it unrelated?

AS Scaffolding..once the proud sponsor of Broxi Bear.

I don't know if you're lying..I would hope you're sitting up at this time of the day.

I should ask do you have proof of this company using this policy, if not it is a pretty outrageous statement to make without evidence of it being in place. as for that last piece of "patter" , well shocking, truly shocking.

Normal Aberdeen fans supporting their club were / are in no way fuelling the violence caused by their casuals. It's reprehensible to attack innocent people, but it's not something your ordinary fan is facilitating by buying a season ticket.

Rangers FC (club and company) had a policy of not signing Catholics. The stewards employed by Rangers also didn't eject people for singing sectarian songs. The club itself were fully complict. People who supported the club were giving money to an openly discriminatory organisation. And everyone knew it.

Yes, different time, different standards. So it's not AS bad as today, but it's still pretty damn bad and those who supported Rangers but ignored the discrimination should still feel an appropriate dose of shame or regret. Not burying their heads and saying "I just went for the football". Which of course totally and utterly misses the point.

I was a Rangers fan as a wee kid and I asked my dad if we could get a season ticket. This was about 1986. He said no because he didn't agree with the non-catholic policy. Two years later Rangers signed Mo Johnston but my Dads job then prevented us going. Thank God, in hindsight.

This is my point, minus the vitriol. Thanks, green yin owed.

Not trying to call Phil a liar when he says this was unscripted but I did mention the other day my mate (taxi driver, sevco fan, not no. 8) picked up DK from Ibrox and after conversing with the sainted one told me to expect an announcement in the coming days. I have to admit I didn't believe him at the time but the circumstantial evidence is certainly in his favour.

right so king who has been quiet and secretive and not gave away much over the last few years blurted it all out to a taxi driver .

awa and dinnae talk pish pal

Unless it written or admitted it would be hard to provide evidence ... the scenario I described for the gay bigot question existed. I see Bennett ducked answering it .. no shock there.

But the clique at work who are polite and only refer to work but would refuse to socialise with him other than that ... how do you prove it?

the f**k are you talking aboot?

At least she can marry one now, the pope unfortunately is not free to follow this path, how fucked up is that?

I dinnae see ony difference.

You want tae be Pope - ye cannae be a protestant.

You want tae be a monarch - ye cannae be a catholic.

Bigotry on baith sides.

right so king who has been quiet and secretive and not gave away much over the last few years blurted it all out to a taxi driver .

awa and dinnae talk pish pal

I posted on Monday about it and that I didn't believe him. Today's events make it look like I was wrong (or it's the biggest coincidence ever). Admitting I may have been wrong in a previous post is talking pish is it? You really are a cretin.

Everyone knew about the 'casuals' including the 'normal' fans and the club, nothing was done it was a 'football' problem and as you say 'different times'

Yes there was an unwritten rule, yes Scotland had a country wide sectarian issue that was widely accepted in those 'different times' and no I am not going to feel any sense of shame for supporting my football team then or now.

Why are you not ashamed of supporting a sectarian organisation?

Everyone knew about the 'casuals' including the 'normal' fans and the club, nothing was done it was a 'football' problem and as you say 'different times'

Yes there was an unwritten rule, yes Scotland had a country wide sectarian issue that was widely accepted in those 'different times' and no I am not going to feel any sense of shame for supporting my football team then or now.

Of course everyone knew about the casuals. I'm saying that ordinary Dons fans weren't giving said casuals financial or moral backing. That's the difference. You must see this difference. In any case the whataboutery stuff is tiresome.

Countrywide sectarian issue... I don't care how widespread it was. Many normal people saw it for what it was. You had a choice. You chose to give money and support to a discriminatory organisation. For many years. It doesn't make you or youngsy monsters. I don't believe you got off on the religious angle. But you might at least accept that you turning a blind eye was a very small part of a huge problem.

(I know you won't admit that though, don't worry, my hopes weren't high)