Sons' sorrow

This was on another forum but it's too good not to be shared here.  For those of us who remain misty-eyed about Boghead this picture taken from the @Silverton End is about as good as it gets, with the Crags looking down on what looks like a mid to late 1950's contest between the Sons and possibly QoS or Stranraer - suggestions welcome.

122454101_10158535824057367_7831500746125114741_o.jpg.f65308bfa604c92160da39279249d5cb.jpg

5 minutes ago, O'Kelly Isley III said:

This was on another forum but it's too good not to be shared here.  For those of us who remain misty-eyed about Boghead this picture taken from the @Silverton End is about as good as it gets, with the Crags looking down on what looks like a mid to late 1950's contest between the Sons and possibly QoS or Stranraer - suggestions welcome.

122454101_10158535824057367_7831500746125114741_o.jpg.f65308bfa604c92160da39279249d5cb.jpg

I'm intrigued by the 'Master Vending Machine Co' 

31 minutes ago, Boghead ranter said:

I'm intrigued by the 'Master Vending Machine Co' 

Aye, this was probably to do with the introduction of vending machines for cigarettes and confectionery * in pubs, clubs and elsewhere in the 50's - it would likely have been a lucrative business.

* And of course condoms

4 hours ago, O'Kelly Isley III said:

Black & Gold hooped jerseys, no pie shop at the Turnberry End yet.

The Longcraigs haven't changed much 😬

Queen of The South had a strip like that around 1960

snapshot_historicalkits.co.uk_1718221079717.png

Edited by Silverton End

2 hours ago, Silverton End said:

Most of QoS's regular contributors on P&B were probably in attendance that day and should be able to speedily confirm.

11 minutes ago, George Parr said:

Most of QoS's regular contributors on P&B were probably in attendance that day and should be able to speedily confirm.

I think you're on to something here. I've spotted at least two with rattles on them at the Turnberry end.

11 hours ago, George Parr said:

Aye, you could be right there - there's a few of us are auld gits now.  Alas, I was only 3 years old in 1960 and still lived in Gorgie back then!

11 hours ago, lionel wickson said:

I think you're on to something here. I've spotted at least two with rattles on them at the Turnberry end.

Don't mention those bloody rattles - does ma heid in  ... 😐

21 hours ago, O'Kelly Isley III said:

Must be after 1957 because there are lights and the Turnberry end

17 hours ago, Silverton End said:

Seems most likely although historical kits has us in stripes that season

21 hours ago, O'Kelly Isley III said:

Had a wee look into this and checked the ten year period from 1955 to 1966 ...

Queens and Dumbarton only shared the same league (old Division 2) during the periods 1959-62 and again during 1964-66.  Outside of those periods Queens were in the old Division 1 (without Dumbarton).

In terms of Queens strip, I could only find black and white photos from that period...

AP1GczPf7clq7y1C39eKxSV8ututnCTrHgj886WNQHYxFxFGTGSiY5uLuiIHPJo8u9oiv-Jto9hTM8xlXjaQAOOPdDZlRleW3qtuTTkgAYPYxDMTZa9yCHkKeGKGCoGU9yTTEyRQru0Ww8sZP3nkbMjDJGSt8aYcQ4A9PR2YBSDQubiR61m8p8LkyXhLQuUr8BlFC0C67gEbR-jj--ZFWRzJbLMUv6Ir1xT3LsO5SJdg8hau8d_G39tKrYd6lO8yoNQUuc5ec6O0uReFfUPTquEM7kpgEmXQyagYxeK2fVMa32MQFLOdkIQ23I7mLzK_RCKYN0k8daviaU4JQdWKxVwoAeKsBa06OYukJf9svo2joDzhNez9691DVIs9shwTEeqzi6Jiq0b3NsXS8QN9YT5xCytjJN97l2AVOcPdKJ9_s3o8oMlCjuILDK0Gq79johphtMaAu0zH-DUBVbw-dtET6FOkoflc61t96pPLs3tb1f3wx-cOCwb2j3WeOXLsxhYRhpEANdns2akLDBk4mMzwmVEiowQpPcQgOQ673k6CvHxP_Tmc5AHLVJbjtXM0OF8q2GledOygLb8DjRte8xC04OJbK1KQapaJWcUnrJcdnR-EocbMVdmlU_S9eEe_fzJyhjRuvJO5WkLMJIGddoE5FYvyDXC3-Ri0HWyIu-GMjxJ16H5SewKHr3QDuN1RVGiJTmJdax9FFMQ-fdZCYtEwO5UvydTV5lyopXJA7M_k7nAlIcbV3ewr3LF-uSr20Pg1ItEcgEp8G0Ypue5t7u0Vobac1umB4QTeB_oaKgJ3e8lf0GXjRUMckRBNxJUmF-RIOwvtpYsb-ZzZ-lRWEZykxHElbe3lupjEJX4vvjg5njSSNDPGQ8IGkv1YArgaja3kk_Gm799Ai4YX3AwF_ygHISM-1a4=w1470-h827-s-no-gm?authuser=0

AP1GczN2ddpRoOymJMI_cnmfplz30EoLfJunWJfh6o4NkpCMkzK9PmNA1YKQzZ6gZp5lafbg8qllFWhwkM3yckyrrTSHYOCt2E-mNMHOuobpeM86Pxw349hcoGVUz_VwlbL8kwIE1V4pF-E_EcCh4UTy5NE9mW0ClaU0uyVidpL4_LjnIXfDCdaDGxHSVZri1po_0zha5-bfBB4kSEaOZJij6CB2Y9cYWgXpqY2kZOsrYgvIaRRd524gIvB16x0Ky3kaAQPJ98MypJkTYCPA0KZuoXVCqv9WAQmliS6oTR9xc1k6ODPVj_vmpw56ihto5oU4pWpdiu5MZp3QKBzrpcAYGI9htxKo6A8pBI_JW5k65qIFEGMmWsm1eFtwxMpDsDXP3EXKYP5TowxDUy3i1YYLglpsuC7nOBdgPqeIIlHS2koo9BWa4ybdyK36MlGZ7ZMa_7SckmvYSIbXsLHeqEExn0aIEFo78oRjoNU85b0kSX0INAACQWFCjARk0GX0oPIWrEjjvxaAXmVQT-D3Sw5GbfNhg_nvbZVmZXPWsFpK_-PO2DKHgqH8Pb1A7CXJ0Dxi-HWNlhs9OXE-vDBnSUtIYEGLSmOON-8GZlux0uHgB-YnPpqLkggGrMggyJo2qMmFz8v_UMaKbWINHMoXopA8fET4sI6WsEi_l3oAIPplrpWyPtz6cIGv_oseKpMXJ_KDKEulH1dd96LERz6XTombH6fXKFZePnbYolGHAqXQBKm1c8zVlukZ2g98f_JpbguvjTzrmtj7htB0n_vIRdkaud4i4SzZJy3G01dpY28d-l2bAVVzjtG7eDkTcoWblC0N643F5mAo7wKb1Mzc5d262yNBPF88CtcA1qeXbZVP59-iTeiKjAKeKODefrfcqgPOtxWSTO2v3bTQM4yB0Af4fprUI8w=w1470-h827-s-no-gm?authuser=0

The top photo (1960) shows white socks with a solid colour top to the sock (probably blue).

The lower photo (1962 - a league game with Rangers at Palmerston) again shows a white sock but with two (?) narrow blue hoops at the top of the sock.

So, looking back at the Boghead photo, if it was a league game and if it was Queens in the photo it could have been around 1960 I think going by the style of the solid colour top to the socks - we seem to have altered the sock design by 1962.  But then again ... it could well have been Stranraer!! 😎

3 hours ago, Otis Blue said:

Had a wee look into this and checked the ten year period from 1955 to 1966 ...

Queens and Dumbarton only shared the same league (old Division 2) during the periods 1959-62 and again during 1964-66.  Outside of those periods Queens were in the old Division 1 (without Dumbarton).

In terms of Queens strip, I could only find black and white photos from that period...

AP1GczPf7clq7y1C39eKxSV8ututnCTrHgj886WNQHYxFxFGTGSiY5uLuiIHPJo8u9oiv-Jto9hTM8xlXjaQAOOPdDZlRleW3qtuTTkgAYPYxDMTZa9yCHkKeGKGCoGU9yTTEyRQru0Ww8sZP3nkbMjDJGSt8aYcQ4A9PR2YBSDQubiR61m8p8LkyXhLQuUr8BlFC0C67gEbR-jj--ZFWRzJbLMUv6Ir1xT3LsO5SJdg8hau8d_G39tKrYd6lO8yoNQUuc5ec6O0uReFfUPTquEM7kpgEmXQyagYxeK2fVMa32MQFLOdkIQ23I7mLzK_RCKYN0k8daviaU4JQdWKxVwoAeKsBa06OYukJf9svo2joDzhNez9691DVIs9shwTEeqzi6Jiq0b3NsXS8QN9YT5xCytjJN97l2AVOcPdKJ9_s3o8oMlCjuILDK0Gq79johphtMaAu0zH-DUBVbw-dtET6FOkoflc61t96pPLs3tb1f3wx-cOCwb2j3WeOXLsxhYRhpEANdns2akLDBk4mMzwmVEiowQpPcQgOQ673k6CvHxP_Tmc5AHLVJbjtXM0OF8q2GledOygLb8DjRte8xC04OJbK1KQapaJWcUnrJcdnR-EocbMVdmlU_S9eEe_fzJyhjRuvJO5WkLMJIGddoE5FYvyDXC3-Ri0HWyIu-GMjxJ16H5SewKHr3QDuN1RVGiJTmJdax9FFMQ-fdZCYtEwO5UvydTV5lyopXJA7M_k7nAlIcbV3ewr3LF-uSr20Pg1ItEcgEp8G0Ypue5t7u0Vobac1umB4QTeB_oaKgJ3e8lf0GXjRUMckRBNxJUmF-RIOwvtpYsb-ZzZ-lRWEZykxHElbe3lupjEJX4vvjg5njSSNDPGQ8IGkv1YArgaja3kk_Gm799Ai4YX3AwF_ygHISM-1a4=w1470-h827-s-no-gm?authuser=0

AP1GczN2ddpRoOymJMI_cnmfplz30EoLfJunWJfh6o4NkpCMkzK9PmNA1YKQzZ6gZp5lafbg8qllFWhwkM3yckyrrTSHYOCt2E-mNMHOuobpeM86Pxw349hcoGVUz_VwlbL8kwIE1V4pF-E_EcCh4UTy5NE9mW0ClaU0uyVidpL4_LjnIXfDCdaDGxHSVZri1po_0zha5-bfBB4kSEaOZJij6CB2Y9cYWgXpqY2kZOsrYgvIaRRd524gIvB16x0Ky3kaAQPJ98MypJkTYCPA0KZuoXVCqv9WAQmliS6oTR9xc1k6ODPVj_vmpw56ihto5oU4pWpdiu5MZp3QKBzrpcAYGI9htxKo6A8pBI_JW5k65qIFEGMmWsm1eFtwxMpDsDXP3EXKYP5TowxDUy3i1YYLglpsuC7nOBdgPqeIIlHS2koo9BWa4ybdyK36MlGZ7ZMa_7SckmvYSIbXsLHeqEExn0aIEFo78oRjoNU85b0kSX0INAACQWFCjARk0GX0oPIWrEjjvxaAXmVQT-D3Sw5GbfNhg_nvbZVmZXPWsFpK_-PO2DKHgqH8Pb1A7CXJ0Dxi-HWNlhs9OXE-vDBnSUtIYEGLSmOON-8GZlux0uHgB-YnPpqLkggGrMggyJo2qMmFz8v_UMaKbWINHMoXopA8fET4sI6WsEi_l3oAIPplrpWyPtz6cIGv_oseKpMXJ_KDKEulH1dd96LERz6XTombH6fXKFZePnbYolGHAqXQBKm1c8zVlukZ2g98f_JpbguvjTzrmtj7htB0n_vIRdkaud4i4SzZJy3G01dpY28d-l2bAVVzjtG7eDkTcoWblC0N643F5mAo7wKb1Mzc5d262yNBPF88CtcA1qeXbZVP59-iTeiKjAKeKODefrfcqgPOtxWSTO2v3bTQM4yB0Af4fprUI8w=w1470-h827-s-no-gm?authuser=0

The top photo (1960) shows white socks with a solid colour top to the sock (probably blue).

The lower photo (1962 - a league game with Rangers at Palmerston) again shows a white sock but with two (?) narrow blue hoops at the top of the sock.

So, looking back at the Boghead photo, if it was a league game and if it was Queens in the photo it could have been around 1960 I think going by the style of the solid colour top to the socks - we seem to have altered the sock design by 1962.  But then again ... it could well have been Stranraer!! 😎

Thanks to the wonderful Sons Archive curated by @microdave I think this may be the 17th October 1959 fixture won 3-1 by Queens, with Jimmy Anderson scoring Sons goal.

Queens scorers were Black, McEwen and Garrett and the crowd was 1850 (six of whom had rattles).

Edited by O'Kelly Isley III

Somehow following the Sons doesn't seem so much of a trial after those events in Munich last night.  And my thoughts go out to the Sons supporters and all the others who travelled to Germany and are waking up to some cold reality this morning. 

That was a national embarrassment, but if you can't or won't in the case of the SFA and our leading clubs develop native footballing talent then this is the result.

Edited by O'Kelly Isley III

31 minutes ago, O'Kelly Isley III said:

Somehow following the Sons doesn't seem so much of a trial after those events in Munich last night.  And my thoughts go out to the Sons supporters and all the others who travelled to Germany and are waking up to some cold reality this morning. 

That was a national embarrassment, but if you can't or won't in the case of the SFA and our leading clubs develop native footballing talent then this is the result.

Its a discussion for the Tartan Army Ramblings forum, but the lack of youth development absolutely impacts on the club game too. I have no idea how Lennon and Newbury will progress in the next few years. I wouldn't be surprised if both become regulars in the top flight or if either makes a move down south. But they need to be playing. We need to start trusting our better kids to play and to expose them to first team football and increasingly higher levels. We've benefited in our promotion season from getting 2 good prospects on loan and hopefully they both benefited from playing first team football. I'd like to see that happen far more often. Lots of fans angry at how badly Anthony Ralston was exposed last night. We've got what was a fantastic young prospect kicking his heels in Liverpool's youth set up and completely unable to make the next step in his career. Calvin Ramsey should serve as a warning to guys like Lennon Miller and David Watson that some moves may well set them up financially, but do nothing to help their footballing career. Ben Doak is another who needs first team football and you;ve got Rory Wilson and a young centre half (Smith?) at Villa who are good prospects, but who will need to develop and regular football has to be part of that. Its why B teams are not the answer up here. There's no progression with B team football. Our kids need to be trusted to play regularly. If that means a loan at Dumbarton (or any other club) is their first exposure to first team competitive football and gives them something to build on then long term we all benefit.

34 minutes ago, O'Kelly Isley III said:

A big game, 3-0 down at halftime and having a man sent off. It was giving me oddly unpleasant flashbacks to Annan away, well Scotland actually got a goal so it wasn't as bad in the end... Just much more public

I heard from someone who attended that the Fanzone wasn't very well managed and ended up a bit of a nightmare. Not enough seating and then huge queues at the bar (which is often the case at matches too).

I hope they haven't just tried to be greedy and oversold to make some extra money, but it certainly sounds like that may have been the case. 

1 hour ago, squeezebox-son said:

I heard from someone who attended that the Fanzone wasn't very well managed and ended up a bit of a nightmare. Not enough seating and then huge queues at the bar (which is often the case at matches too).

I hope they haven't just tried to be greedy and oversold to make some extra money, but it certainly sounds like that may have been the case. 

The fanzone thing was organised by a couple of volunteers who I know put in a huge amount of work to get it on, despite numerous hurdles including the police dictating what could and couldn’t happen in the car park regarding food vendors etc. Unfortunately with a bar that small there will always be big queues when it’s busy in there as you can realisticly only serve two or three people at a time/have two or three bar staff working at a time before they start running into each other.

Hopefully it pulled in a decent amount of cash for the club, it’s good to see them trying something a bit different. I wasn’t there myself so I can’t really comment on how it all went.

2 hours ago, squeezebox-son said:

That’s a shame that they felt that.  While I didn’t make it, I have heard from a lot of folk that they really enjoyed it (except the result)

As @Bring Back Paddy Flannery has mentioned already. On busy night the bar will always have a queue due to its size.

What I can say for def is the group that organised it put a power of work into it to make it as best an experience as possible with what they had.

11 hours ago, O'Kelly Isley III said:

Why would you feel sorry for anyone who is there? They knew what they’d be letting themselves in for. Unless they just completely ignore history