Ryan Gauld

DjembaDjemba

8 minutes ago, haggisbeastie said:

What position could he play if he gets a chance for senior Scotland squad next year?

Would he not be wasted in a holding role & be better supporting striker?

If/when we are out of World Cup reckoning, would have him, Burke & Souttar made regulars. To be honest, would do it now, not much left to lose....

Apart from losing more games, spiralling down the pots, and ruining young players confidence because they've been thrown in before they're ready?  There's always something to lose unless you're San Marino or Gibraltar.  I guarantee that should we get beat by Slovenia, then decide to do what you say against England, then subsequently lose and convincingly so, those young players will join everyone else in the same boat - HMS Shithouse.  They'll get absolutely castigated.  

Once they're ready, they'll be in the squad, got no doubt about that.  Burke is further forward than the other two - as evidenced by the fact he was plucked straight from the U19s - so will be a regular fairly soon.  Gauld doesn't look ready, and is hardly lighting up the U21 side, so why should we just throw them into the main side?  What does it really achieve other than the hollow "fro the yoofs in" shouts?  Wait til they're ready, then it benefits everyone.  

Curmudgeonly old b*****d speaking above.   All top countries fast track their best kids ,  we should obviously be doingthe same.  I remember well Holland calling up an 18 year old with 3 senior appearances in club football fr a competitive game a few years ago. 

Total no brainer,  give them as much experience of intl football as possible and reap the benefits.   We have nothing to play for for 18 months and it'snot llike our senior players are great anyway,  chuck them all in play as many friendlies so possible too we sshould be blooding a young team for 2020 ccampaign now.

Apart from losing more games, spiralling down the pots, and ruining young players confidence because they've been thrown in before they're ready?  There's always something to lose unless you're San Marino or Gibraltar.  I guarantee that should we get beat by Slovenia, then decide to do what you say against England, then subsequently lose and convincingly so, those young players will join everyone else in the same boat - HMS Shithouse.  They'll get absolutely castigated.  
Once they're ready, they'll be in the squad, got no doubt about that.  Burke is further forward than the other two - as evidenced by the fact he was plucked straight from the U19s - so will be a regular fairly soon.  Gauld doesn't look ready, and is hardly lighting up the U21 side, so why should we just throw them into the main side?  What does it really achieve other than the hollow "fro the yoofs in" shouts?  Wait til they're ready, then it benefits everyone.  

We've been down this road before, so we can agree to disagree. My main contention, is that they have better quality than current options & they would handle challenge OK.

Club Football -  Developing players to sell on for profits, and reinvesting in youth.  

International Football - Picking best available squad for every match.   Slight experiments during friendlies.   

I've no idea how playing a singular match for Scotland in 2016 could create a super-star in 3 years time.  

2 hours ago, Peppino Impastato said:

Playing 20 games for Scotland over the next three years makes a much better intl footballer in three years.  Doing that with 7 or 8 makes a much better team.

Aye, nae bother.  Let's just cap loads of Thistle players.  Doesn't matter that they're not good enough, they're young enough, so obviously playing twenty games for Scotland will automatically make them better.  Win win.

I think the sensible answer is somewhere between the extremes. Strachan has had Barrie McKay and John McGinn in the last few squads with no real intention of them making a difference to the campaign. Just getting them in training with the squad.
International football is about getting the best 11 together but it'd be helpful if those 11 had good experience of playing/training together and the only way to do that is getting a decent mix of youth/experience in the squads.

Who said thistle players you utter clown

It's not just training together it's playing intl football different teams and styles and environments it's a massive education for a player.   The sensible approach for us is to accept our campaign is over and we need to be ready for the next one.  Guys like gauld are going to be first choice in that one souttar probably too we need them ready. 

Also fulton,  Tierney,  Robertson,  Kingsley,  Burke,  harper, paterson.  These 8 or 9 guys will be the core of our team in a couple of years,  there's no point denying them vital experience that could be hugely beneficial to give mulgrew and greer anymore caps,  our campaign is over there'snnothing to play for our ranking basically can'tfall any lower chuck them in arrange friendlies galore in two yyears you have a cracking young team coming together. 

7 hours ago, Peppino Impastato said:

Also fulton,  Tierney,  Robertson,  Kingsley,  Burke,  harper, paterson.  These 8 or 9 guys will be the core of our team in a couple of years,  there's no point denying them vital experience that could be hugely beneficial to give mulgrew and greer anymore caps,  our campaign is over there'snnothing to play for our ranking basically can'tfall any lower chuck them in arrange friendlies galore in two yyears you have a cracking young team coming together. 

Patterson has been given a chance and has been utterly fucking dreadful; shouldn't be in the side until he puts some serious work into his defending. Being desperate  for an Alan Hutton return really says it all. 

Also the same Harper who can't get a game with Brighton under 23's.....

9 hours ago, Peppino Impastato said:

Who said thistle players you utter clown

It's not just training together it's playing intl football different teams and styles and environments it's a massive education for a player.   The sensible approach for us is to accept our campaign is over and we need to be ready for the next one.  Guys like gauld are going to be first choice in that one souttar probably too we need them ready. 

You implied that if players played 20 games for an international side, they'll become better without question.  Thistle players aren't good enough to play for Scotland, but if we're living in your wee fantasy world then I'd like them to play for Scotland so that they can improve like this.  It's not really that hard to understand.

All the names mentioned sound feasible, apart from Harper. He looks to be a dead loss (in terms of becoming what he was hyped to be). Not even played a minute of senior football yet and is nearly 21. I can see him doing a Feruz style loan to Dundee Utd or the like soon.

If harper was at utd he'd be their best player by far.   He's played 8 times for the u23s this season and one for the first team, 26 minutes actually you said not one.

He is more like a Armstrong,  who you can add to the list btw along with mcginn,  than feruz.   Still has every chance and is younger than gauld. 

As for paterson hhe'ssimply the best we have just now, so sshould be given the most experience of intl football possibl ,  Hutton isn't coming back and is too old now along with bardsley.   Love and mcghee could challenge paterson soon ut right now there is nobody else.

I don'tsee all three laying lb for sScotland but regardless you need two or three anyway. 

Thistle clown shut up, one more stupid post you're on Ignore.