SteveThePirate Posted October 14, 2014 Share Posted October 14, 2014 IMO most Prem 1 teams would beat most EOS teams. The likes of Tollcross and Newcraighall would comfortably compete, if not win the first division, and I'd argue that at the moment, only Leith, Tynie, Lothian and at a push Civil would beat them in the premier. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Here.We.Go Posted October 15, 2014 Share Posted October 15, 2014 IMO most Prem 1 teams would beat most EOS teams. The likes of Tollcross and Newcraighall would comfortably compete, if not win the first division, and I'd argue that at the moment, only Leith, Tynie, Lothian and at a push Civil would beat them in the premier. I think you need to wake up and smell the coffee sunshine. When was the last time you watched some of the EOS teams play? Because I've seen both recently and let me tell you, you're way off the mark. You can't judge EOS teams by their results against other EOS teams to then suggest they'd get beat from Amateur teams. Tollcross played Edi Uni's B team last week and got beat 3-1 or 4-2 or something and Edi Uni were by no means great, but still pulled out the result. I think you'd probably find that EOS teams would do the same. They train twice a week and play a consistently high standard. Amateurs... well I don't need to say anything really. When an amateur teams gets a shock result against an EOS team in a pre-season friendly, there is a reason why they call it a 'shock result..' - it's a one-off, unpredicted, random. Don't get me wrong, I think some amateur teams could beat a few EOS teams. e.g. Hawick are having a terrible time at present. But win the EOS first division? Go back to the pipe... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scorer Posted October 15, 2014 Share Posted October 15, 2014 The only thing I would disagree with is..... We played edinburgh uni b team/ 2nds and beat them 3-0 We were beaten by edinburgh uni 1st team //lowland league team, granted they were playing guys who hadn't been playing much But that's what the game was for, our guys and their guys who needed the game time Dnt get me wrong..... Thought it was a good game but we lost Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteveThePirate Posted October 15, 2014 Share Posted October 15, 2014 I think you need to wake up and smell the coffee sunshine. When was the last time you watched some of the EOS teams play? Because I've seen both recently and let me tell you, you're way off the mark. You can't judge EOS teams by their results against other EOS teams to then suggest they'd get beat from Amateur teams. Tollcross played Edi Uni's B team last week and got beat 3-1 or 4-2 or something and Edi Uni were by no means great, but still pulled out the result. I think you'd probably find that EOS teams would do the same. They train twice a week and play a consistently high standard. Amateurs... well I don't need to say anything really. When an amateur teams gets a shock result against an EOS team in a pre-season friendly, there is a reason why they call it a 'shock result..' - it's a one-off, unpredicted, random. Don't get me wrong, I think some amateur teams could beat a few EOS teams. e.g. Hawick are having a terrible time at present. But win the EOS first division? Go back to the pipe... I played against the Lily the other week, drew 3-3, they were hardly spectacular, and we're playing Craigroyston tonight. Tollcross beat the uni team that's EOS, they didn't beat the LL team. You're having a shocker if you don't think Tollcross would comfortably pump the likes of Duns and Eyemouth. You really think Ormiston (top of the first) would beat Tollcross or Newcraighall? Not a chance. A few years ago I'd maybe have agreed with you, since the inception of the Lowland League the standard of EOS has dropped considerably. It's not the same league it used to be. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Here.We.Go Posted October 15, 2014 Share Posted October 15, 2014 I played against the Lily the other week, drew 3-3, they were hardly spectacular, and we're playing Craigroyston tonight. Tollcross beat the uni team that's EOS, they didn't beat the LL team. You're having a shocker if you don't think Tollcross would comfortably pump the likes of Duns and Eyemouth. You really think Ormiston (top of the first) would beat Tollcross or Newcraighall? Not a chance. A few years ago I'd maybe have agreed with you, since the inception of the Lowland League the standard of EOS has dropped considerably. It's not the same league it used to be. Where is your game against Craigroyston? I'd be interested to see that. Judging by your barmy comments, you must play for the same team as Jimmy Grimble, which would suggest that you guys pulled off a decent result against an Easthouses Lily trial team and are now keyboard warriors. Tollcross would probably give eyemouth a game but don't be confused by Eyemouth's results. Yes, they haven't been great but their team ain't bad, and I would know. Duns? Tollcross would give Duns a game but it would be a shock result of they came out of it 'easy' winners. Ormiston / Peebles, that changes slightly. Both teams have strengthened considerably and are carrying many capable players.. and since we're pretending to be keyboard warriors on the back of good results, Ormiston beat Edinburgh United 3-1 a couple weeks ago who are sitting 2/3rd in the East Prem of the juniors... but you probably didn't know that... Last but not least, Newcraighall are pish. Remove your finger from their arse. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jimmy grimble Posted October 15, 2014 Author Share Posted October 15, 2014 Where is your game against Craigroyston? I'd be interested to see that. Judging by your barmy comments, you must play for the same team as Jimmy Grimble, which would suggest that you guys pulled off a decent result against an Easthouses Lily trial team and are now keyboard warriors. Tollcross would probably give eyemouth a game but don't be confused by Eyemouth's results. Yes, they haven't been great but their team ain't bad, and I would know. Duns? Tollcross would give Duns a game but it would be a shock result of they came out of it 'easy' winners. Ormiston / Peebles, that changes slightly. Both teams have strengthened considerably and are carrying many capable players.. and since we're pretending to be keyboard warriors on the back of good results, Ormiston beat Edinburgh United 3-1 a couple weeks ago who are sitting 2/3rd in the East Prem of the juniors... but you probably didn't know that... Last but not least, Newcraighall are pish. Remove your finger from their arse. Your having a shocking day ma man!! I played for civil against a now fairly poor herriot vale side pre season, vale won and it could have been by a few more! Was no shock about it... Can't believe you're claiming to me that the first division EOS is good played against heriot watt for coldstream last year and they were terrible!! The game tonight is at dalkeith campus if you're interested Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jimmy grimble Posted October 15, 2014 Author Share Posted October 15, 2014 Keyboard warriors though hahahaha! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteveThePirate Posted October 15, 2014 Share Posted October 15, 2014 Where is your game against Craigroyston? I'd be interested to see that. Judging by your barmy comments, you must play for the same team as Jimmy Grimble, which would suggest that you guys pulled off a decent result against an Easthouses Lily trial team and are now keyboard warriors. Tollcross would probably give eyemouth a game but don't be confused by Eyemouth's results. Yes, they haven't been great but their team ain't bad, and I would know. Duns? Tollcross would give Duns a game but it would be a shock result of they came out of it 'easy' winners. Ormiston / Peebles, that changes slightly. Both teams have strengthened considerably and are carrying many capable players.. and since we're pretending to be keyboard warriors on the back of good results, Ormiston beat Edinburgh United 3-1 a couple weeks ago who are sitting 2/3rd in the East Prem of the juniors... but you probably didn't know that... Last but not least, Newcraighall are pish. Remove your finger from their arse. I'm guessing you don't watch much amateur football. Ormiston "strengthened" by signing half of Pencaitland's amateur team from last season, who by the way were in the bottom league. You go on about trialists and friendlies being useless then use them in your own statement, why contradict yourself? I think you heavily overestimate just how good a level it is. That's fine, that's your opinion, I've got mine which I'll stick to thanks. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
muller Posted October 15, 2014 Share Posted October 15, 2014 Is this forum an edinburgh based forum? Just asking as pretty sure half the central amatuer teams would beat all the teams mentioned in this thread. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jimmy grimble Posted October 15, 2014 Author Share Posted October 15, 2014 Is this forum an edinburgh based forum? Just asking as pretty sure half the central amatuer teams would beat all the teams mentioned in this thread. Aye they would mate cause the EOS first division is brutal! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brown Brogue Posted October 15, 2014 Share Posted October 15, 2014 He should be SAF!! I thought ur pal Allan is the gaffer with scorer and Stephen Enwoods as coaches? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
King_Leonidas Posted October 15, 2014 Share Posted October 15, 2014 I thought ur pal Allan is the gaffer with scorer and Stephen Enwoods as coaches? that is correct mate, Big D is the man though! But Alan is doing a cracking job and the boys want to win trophies for him as much as ourselves! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GS11 Posted October 15, 2014 Share Posted October 15, 2014 Good 2-1 win for danderhall against craigroyston tonight. Personally I think tollcross would beat most EOS teams... Just my opinion though. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Here.We.Go Posted October 16, 2014 Share Posted October 16, 2014 I'm guessing you don't watch much amateur football. Ormiston "strengthened" by signing half of Pencaitland's amateur team from last season, who by the way were in the bottom league. You go on about trialists and friendlies being useless then use them in your own statement, why contradict yourself? I think you heavily overestimate just how good a level it is. That's fine, that's your opinion, I've got mine which I'll stick to thanks. This was an interesting post in SO many ways. :-) But I'm bored of the topic. You keep playing amateur, I'll keep doing what I'm doing and wait and hope the two shall meet. How did you boys do last night then? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Here.We.Go Posted October 16, 2014 Share Posted October 16, 2014 I'm guessing you don't watch much amateur football. Ormiston "strengthened" by signing half of Pencaitland's amateur team from last season, who by the way were in the bottom league. You go on about trialists and friendlies being useless then use them in your own statement, why contradict yourself? I think you heavily overestimate just how good a level it is. That's fine, that's your opinion, I've got mine which I'll stick to thanks. Half of an amateur team who hardly lost a game, if any. The rest of the team is made up of EOS and Junior players. I also only used the reference to friendlies to make a point in the same reference you did. Yeah, Ormiston beat Edi UTD in a friendly, but you don't see me sitting here saying Ormiston would pump every team in that league and compete / win the league, which is what you seem to be getting at. Never did I see the day that Danderhall players, sitting 4th bottom in PREM 2 would be giving it the big'un about beating EOS teams. It almost makes this whole debate laughable. Maybe if you concentrated harder on your own league you could lift yourself out of the fight for relegation, rather than worry about Prem 1 and EOS. And yes... I heard about your wee win against Craigy in a friendly and no, I'm no impressed, nor does it make me think you could compete in the EOS league. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gregsta1 Posted October 16, 2014 Share Posted October 16, 2014 This chat is a drain. I previously played amateur in Prem 1... Signed for Gala Fairydean in LL this season but travelling was a nightmare and have since signed for Ormiston (EOS). I hear what you're saying lads. There are amateur teams who could beat EOS teams, granted. But it's hardly worth the argument unless these teams play in the same league and do it over the course of a season. This argument is like 'my da's bigger than your da' ... it's shite. The standard in some of the EOS teams is high, much higher than I seen in amateur, but there are amateur teams who could compete. I agree with that. At the end of the day, any team can beat any other on their day. This is just opinion against opinion because unless they play in the same league, we'll never know either way. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jimmy grimble Posted October 16, 2014 Author Share Posted October 16, 2014 Half of an amateur team who hardly lost a game, if any. The rest of the team is made up of EOS and Junior players. I also only used the reference to friendlies to make a point in the same reference you did. Yeah, Ormiston beat Edi UTD in a friendly, but you don't see me sitting here saying Ormiston would pump every team in that league and compete / win the league, which is what you seem to be getting at. Never did I see the day that Danderhall players, sitting 4th bottom in PREM 2 would be giving it the big'un about beating EOS teams. It almost makes this whole debate laughable. Maybe if you concentrated harder on your own league you could lift yourself out of the fight for relegation, rather than worry about Prem 1 and EOS. And yes... I heard about your wee win against Craigy in a friendly and no, I'm no impressed, nor does it make me think you could compete in the EOS league. Who do you play for?? Haha 4 games gone and were in a relegation battle Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteveThePirate Posted October 16, 2014 Share Posted October 16, 2014 This chat is a drain. I previously played amateur in Prem 1... Signed for Gala Fairydean in LL this season but travelling was a nightmare and have since signed for Ormiston (EOS). I hear what you're saying lads. There are amateur teams who could beat EOS teams, granted. But it's hardly worth the argument unless these teams play in the same league and do it over the course of a season. This argument is like 'my da's bigger than your da' ... it's shite. The standard in some of the EOS teams is high, much higher than I seen in amateur, but there are amateur teams who could compete. I agree with that. At the end of the day, any team can beat any other on their day. This is just opinion against opinion because unless they play in the same league, we'll never know either way. I'd agree with this. All I said previously was that there were amateur teams who would do well EOS but they've taken it to heart. Chances are there will never be a structure in place to allow that to happen, but it's still an interesting point to debate. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jimmy grimble Posted October 16, 2014 Author Share Posted October 16, 2014 This chat is a drain. I previously played amateur in Prem 1... Signed for Gala Fairydean in LL this season but travelling was a nightmare and have since signed for Ormiston (EOS). I hear what you're saying lads. There are amateur teams who could beat EOS teams, granted. But it's hardly worth the argument unless these teams play in the same league and do it over the course of a season. This argument is like 'my da's bigger than your da' ... it's shite. The standard in some of the EOS teams is high, much higher than I seen in amateur, but there are amateur teams who could compete. I agree with that. At the end of the day, any team can beat any other on their day. This is just opinion against opinion because unless they play in the same league, we'll never know either way. I agree big fella! All the best x Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gregsta1 Posted October 16, 2014 Share Posted October 16, 2014 I agree big fella! All the best x Glad we're all in agreement! Haha Have you lads played for Danderhall for the past few seasons? I was at Mayfield & Easthouses a few seasons ago and loved a wee M&E / Danderhall derby!! Haha That end of the season clash on your mountain - Whoever won, won the league! Was a cracking game. Never seen soo many fans at an amateur game... fans 3 deep all the way down both sides of the park! We just edged that game but it was luck more than anything else! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...