underdogunderdog underdog Posted October 26, 2014 Share Posted October 26, 2014 Going to Belfast for a stag do next month. Anyone been there before on one and have good recommendations on places to go? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audaces Fortuna Juvat Posted October 27, 2014 Share Posted October 27, 2014 Head for the Golden Mile in Great Victoria Street, or the area around the City Hall, and you won't go wrong. Lots of stuff to do and, sadly, mostly for the younger person and not for an old caaaant like me. A multitude of good live venues too and, if that's your bag then just buy the Belfast Telegraph on a Friday and it'll let you know what's going on in that respect. Any questions about the "failed statelet", just PM me. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mizfit Posted October 27, 2014 Share Posted October 27, 2014 Going to Belfast for a stag do next month. Anyone been there before on one and have good recommendations on places to go? Whatever you do, if an angry man asks for cheddar cheese and pineapple on stick, you get him cheddar cheese and pineapple on a stick. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audaces Fortuna Juvat Posted October 28, 2014 Share Posted October 28, 2014 But do you get him Proddy cheese or Kafflik cheese? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ICTJohnboy Posted October 28, 2014 Share Posted October 28, 2014 Whatever you do, if an angry man asks for cheddar cheese and pineapple on stick, you get him cheddar cheese and pineapple on a stick. I couldn't resist watching that again! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bullywee Posted October 29, 2014 Share Posted October 29, 2014 The Linen House is a hostel that hosted an illegal rave/ club night sort of thing after the proper clubs had closed (at least when I was there). It was held in the basement of an abandoned block of flats next door and was BYOB. No idea if that's your sort of thing but it's pretty central so gives an option if you're looking for something to do later on. There's a 24 hour carry out shop that's joined on to a pub that you can go to.. Can't remember what it's called, though. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacksgranda Posted October 29, 2014 Share Posted October 29, 2014 The Linen House is a hostel that hosted an illegal rave/ club night sort of thing after the proper clubs had closed (at least when I was there). It was held in the basement of an abandoned block of flats next door and was BYOB. No idea if that's your sort of thing but it's pretty central so gives an option if you're looking for something to do later on. There's a 24 hour carry out shop that's joined on to a pub that you can go to.. Can't remember what it's called, though. The Alkies Paradise Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Easy Posted October 29, 2014 Share Posted October 29, 2014 The Linen House is a hostel that hosted an illegal rave/ club night sort of thing after the proper clubs had closed (at least when I was there). It was held in the basement of an abandoned block of flats next door and was BYOB. No idea if that's your sort of thing but it's pretty central so gives an option if you're looking for something to do later on. There's a 24 hour carry out shop that's joined on to a pub that you can go to.. Can't remember what it's called, though. Worst hostel I have ever stayed in, pub outside that you needed to go through a cage before getting in the front door. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Co.Down Hibee Posted October 29, 2014 Share Posted October 29, 2014 Kind of depends on the age of those going but the Empire bar on Botanic is usually a great night, really good bands and a great atmosphere, other than that I'll ask the younger, wife and kid-less types in work as to the best places to go for Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Co.Down Hibee Posted October 29, 2014 Share Posted October 29, 2014 I couldn't resist watching that again! That's the first time I've actually watched this clip, quite funny actually and at last I've got the endless pineapple on a stick quotes that VT and his wee fanboys keep posting.. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underdogunderdog underdog Posted October 29, 2014 Author Share Posted October 29, 2014 Kind of depends on the age of those going but the Empire bar on Botanic is usually a great night, really good bands and a great atmosphere, other than that I'll ask the younger, wife and kid-less types in work as to the best places to go for We are all in our early to mid 30s. I've heard Cathedral Quarter or something like that is good? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Co.Down Hibee Posted October 30, 2014 Share Posted October 30, 2014 We are all in our early to mid 30s. I've heard Cathedral Quarter or something like that is good? It is very good but the bars tend to get completley rammed tbh, If you're looking for something to do during the day (outside of alcohol) then I would suggest the Eddie Irvine centre in my hometown of Bangor, a half hour from Belfast if you get a taxi/mini bus . You can do go karting,paintball and 5 a side fitba there and they do a good rate for stag do's. i went on one a couple of months ago and all 3 events made for a great warm up for that evening. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underdogunderdog underdog Posted October 30, 2014 Author Share Posted October 30, 2014 It is very good but the bars tend to get completley rammed tbh, If you're looking for something to do during the day (outside of alcohol) then I would suggest the Eddie Irvine centre in my hometown of Bangor, a half hour from Belfast if you get a taxi/mini bus . You can do go karting,paintball and 5 a side fitba there and they do a good rate for stag do's. i went on one a couple of months ago and all 3 events made for a great warm up for that evening. Aye, a few of the folk are going to Eddie Irvine thing but I'm not a fan of karting so opted out along with a few others. Looking for something to do on the Saturday afternoon. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audaces Fortuna Juvat Posted October 30, 2014 Share Posted October 30, 2014 What weekend and I'll get the footie fixtures up for you. Might even be able to stretch to a freebie if it's the right game? Probably best avoiding Linfield at present as we aren't good to watch, apart from sporadic patches. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underdogunderdog underdog Posted October 30, 2014 Author Share Posted October 30, 2014 We get there on afternoon of the 21st and come back early afternoon on the 23rd. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
invergowrie arab Posted December 19, 2015 Share Posted December 19, 2015 If you are passed the disco biscuit stage and like a live band a beer and a whisky/ey what's the story in Belfast. I'm likely to arrive late so heading out about 10 pm, do pubs have late licenses or is it clubs only? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
welshbairn Posted December 19, 2015 Share Posted December 19, 2015 If you are passed the disco biscuit stage and like a live band a beer and a whisky/ey what's the story in Belfast. I'm likely to arrive late so heading out about 10 pm, do pubs have late licenses or is it clubs only? My kind of man, going out solo I presume? Heard good things about the Voodoo Bar on Fountain Street, otherwise it will be some fucker droning Danny Boy with a keyboard. Hopefully you'll get posters who live there or have been more recently to help you out Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
invergowrie arab Posted December 19, 2015 Share Posted December 19, 2015 My kind of man, going out solo I presume? Whilst I might go solo clubbing I certainly wouldn't admit it on here. Unfortunately I'll have Mrs invergowrie in tow Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...