Granny Danger Posted April 27, 2015 Share Posted April 27, 2015 We all accept that Miliband is going to have to change his position regarding working with the SNP after the election. Given this, does it give Sturgeon scope to change her position? I'm seriously coming round to calling Miliband's bluff and, on 8 May, proposing a formal coalition. After all why not, if it's good enough for the LibDems why not for us? He can reject it and we abstain in the Queens Speech or it he grit his teeth and suck it up and get into Downing Street. SNP Ministers; the SNP actually able to propose legislation rather than just sitting on the sidelines trying to influence it or vote against it. Are there drawbacks? Sure there are, but I hope people don't quote the MSM as one of them; frankly I couldn't give a f**k what the BBC or the Daily Mail/Daily Record/Scotsman say. I also think we could bring the Scottish electorate onside. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SodjesSixteenIncher Posted April 27, 2015 Share Posted April 27, 2015 Don't think there's much to be gained from being a minor coalition partner generally speaking. If the Government is a beautiful success story (I know, go with it) people feel better about going back to Labour and if it's a nightmare, the smaller partner always gets slaughtered. Much better to exert some influence from the sidelines, imo. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
madwullie Posted April 27, 2015 Share Posted April 27, 2015 Look at the Lib Dems. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr Heliums Posted April 27, 2015 Share Posted April 27, 2015 In coalition, the SNP would end up being tarnished by a Miliband government. Outside, the SNP will be in a good position: able to vote against austerity measures - which will play well up here to Labour's detriment - and providing a Commons majority for progressive legislation - which Labour would have to consult them on. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FlyerTon Posted April 27, 2015 Share Posted April 27, 2015 I just have a feeling it's going to be Cameron who'll be in no. 10 again, one way or another. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr Bairn Posted April 27, 2015 Share Posted April 27, 2015 The problem with being the minor party in a full coalition is that the SNP would have to make some policy concessions of their own. With some kind of informal deal, the SNP MPs wouldn't be bound to support Labour on issues where there is disagreement, such as Trident. With a full coalition the SNP would likely get more concessions from Labour (more powers, cabinet roles) but they'd be more bound to backing Labour even in areas where they disagree. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WhiteRoseKillie Posted April 27, 2015 Share Posted April 27, 2015 Informal support from ALL the progressive parties would be for the long-term good of the country. Plaid and the Greens have already made some good capital from the debate situation and, when independence inevitably occurs a decade or two down the line, I'd like the possibility of a viable Socialist movement down here. Yeah, I would prefer to use the word Socialist instead of progressive. I'm fed up with the general drift towards it being used as an insult. I'm not religious, but I don't think Jesus, Mohammed or Buddha would have been Tory voters, would they? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HTG Posted April 27, 2015 Share Posted April 27, 2015 Milliband wouldn't survive having Big Eck in his tent riding him into next week. What needs to be made very clear is that unless M gives very careful thought to his legislation he'll be at the head of the dole queue pronto. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sophia Posted April 27, 2015 Share Posted April 27, 2015 I've just watched Nicola charm both Evan Davies and this island with a great display in interview. She understands that we need a different type of politics, a progressive politics where people and parties work together. We are better when we work together. Better together. I particularly like her phrase "for as long as we are part of Westminster". It has an inevitably about it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Highlandmagyar Posted April 27, 2015 Share Posted April 27, 2015 IF Labour are the largest party I hope Miliband tells Sturgeon to f**k off and dare her party to bring his government down. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
John Lambies Doos Posted April 27, 2015 Share Posted April 27, 2015 IF Labour are the largest party I hope Miliband tells Sturgeon to f**k off and dare her party to bring his government down. Get off your knees Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
I'm Brian Posted April 27, 2015 Share Posted April 27, 2015 IF Labour are the largest party I hope Miliband tells Sturgeon to f**k off and dare her party to bring his government down. So do I. Another case of England ignoring the democratic wishes of Scotland. Labour's death in Scotland would be instant. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Kincardine Posted April 27, 2015 Share Posted April 27, 2015 Wee Nicola still peddling the 'Nae Tories' line and wanting to be kingmaker. She's had a great campaign but this is something she needs to address: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/election-2015-scotland-32486432 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
doulikefish Posted April 27, 2015 Share Posted April 27, 2015 Len says he will https://commonspace.scot/articles/1164/chief-of-britain-s-biggest-trade-union-i-expect-ed-miliband-to-work-with-the-snp Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
doulikefish Posted April 27, 2015 Share Posted April 27, 2015 Wee Nicola still peddling the 'Nae Tories' line and wanting to be kingmaker. She's had a great campaign but this is something she needs to address: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/election-2015-scotland-32486432 Another "the prods must stay in power" glens vodka fuelled rant coming on? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Kincardine Posted April 27, 2015 Share Posted April 27, 2015 Len says he will https://commonspace.scot/articles/1164/chief-of-britain-s-biggest-trade-union-i-expect-ed-miliband-to-work-with-the-snp Who was the last Trades Unionist worth listening to? Jimmy Reid? Mick McGahey? About as useful to politics as are Triumph Choppers to The Tour de France. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Kincardine Posted April 27, 2015 Share Posted April 27, 2015 Another "the prods must stay in power" glens vodka fuelled rant coming on? Aye, hopefully Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kevthedee Posted April 27, 2015 Share Posted April 27, 2015 IF Labour are the largest party I hope Miliband tells Sturgeon to f**k off and dare her party to bring his government down. Better watch your back the p&b snp/yes brigade will be after you for daring to have a different view to their own Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
doulikefish Posted April 27, 2015 Share Posted April 27, 2015 Who was the last Trades Unionist worth listening to? Jimmy Reid? Mick McGahey? About as useful to politics as are Triumph Choppers are to The Tour de France. You have shown your true colours on here and you are a halfwit and a bigot,now go and dress up in your daft garb and cry in to your picture of the royal family and cry into your grants vodka Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Kincardine Posted April 27, 2015 Share Posted April 27, 2015 You have shown your true colours on here and you are a halfwit and a bigot,now go and dress up in your daft garb and cry in to your picture of the royal family and cry into your grants vodka Show me who 'Grants vodka' and I will take you up on it. So I think The SNP have a problem. I admire Sturgeon's campaign. My view is that she should be concentrating less on what happens with Labour. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...