AsimButtHitsASix Posted May 15, 2015 Share Posted May 15, 2015 With Michael Gove being outed as a proponent of the death penalthy and the surviving Boston Bomber getting handed a death sentence today what's folks thoughts on capital punishment? I can't understand any society calling themselves civilised thinking that state sanctioned murder is OK. That's before we even discuss instances of people who've reformed in prison and went on to contribute to society, miscarriages of justice that would have seen innocent men and women killed or changing times and attitudes that could have seen folk like Nelson Mandela hung for "terrorism" “But what then is capital punishment but the most premeditated of murders, to which no criminal's deed, however calculated it may be, can be compared? For there to be equivalence, the death penalty would have to punish a criminal who had warned his victim of the date at which he would inflict a horrible death on him and who, from that moment onward, had confined him at his mercy for months. Such a monster is not encountered in private life.” Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr Bairn Posted May 15, 2015 Share Posted May 15, 2015 While I find it hard to have any sympathy for Tsarndjshwbckdhaochenl, the death penalty is never okay. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
madwullie Posted May 15, 2015 Share Posted May 15, 2015 Of course not ffs Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elixir Posted May 15, 2015 Share Posted May 15, 2015 lol Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Kincardine Posted May 15, 2015 Share Posted May 15, 2015 If an idea is agreed by both Gove and American courts then you know instinctively that it's wrong. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wee Willie Posted May 15, 2015 Share Posted May 15, 2015 It's no an easy decision to make but I would vote tae bring it back in an independent Scotland. The example I'm using isnae from Scotland but ye should get my drift. Remember that janitor doon in England that murdered the two wee lassies and then helped the polis tae look for them. There is nae way he should still be alive. Remember the Moors murderers. Is one deid and the other let oot? I cannae remember but there is no way they should have lived. instances of people who've reformed in prison and went on to contribute to society Are there many murderers like that? The trouble is that it's the do-gooders who get them released from prison. Lord Longford springs tae mind. Note: I said in an independent Scotland cause I believe our justice system is better than Englands. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ICTChris Posted May 15, 2015 Share Posted May 15, 2015 They should put it on television on Saturday nights. Not because it's moral but it's better than Ant and Dec's Saturday Night Takeaway, Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AsimButtHitsASix Posted May 15, 2015 Author Share Posted May 15, 2015 instances of people who've reformed in prison and went on to contribute to society Birdman of Alcatraz, that guy from the Crips who campaigns against gang culture and gun crime, folk from The Troubles who came out and campaigned against violence and helped with the peace process... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johnny van Axeldongen Posted May 15, 2015 Share Posted May 15, 2015 #nothanks Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wee Willie Posted May 15, 2015 Share Posted May 15, 2015 Birdman of Alcatraz, that guy from the Crips who campaigns against gang culture and gun crime, folk from The Troubles who came out and campaigned against violence and helped with the peace process... I wis asking is there many murderers who reformed in prison. folk from The Troubles who came out and campaigned against violence and helped with the peace process... were they known murderers? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1320Lichtie Posted May 15, 2015 Share Posted May 15, 2015 I used to think it was a good idea in some cases. I'm glad the PnB masses made me change my mind. Absolutely nothing to be gained from killing someone. Jail him for life. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sherrif John Bunnell Posted May 15, 2015 Share Posted May 15, 2015 It's no coincidence that all the countries that retain it are the shittest ones. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wee Willie Posted May 15, 2015 Share Posted May 15, 2015 I used to think it was a good idea in some cases. I'm glad the PnB masses made me change my mind. Absolutely nothing to be gained from killing someone. Jail him for life. But isn't that the problem. The c***ts arenae jailed for life. There's always some do-gooder in an offical role who lets them out eventually. Any c**t jailed for life there is no guarantee that they will stay in prison. Whit's the usual length of sentence for a murder now - 12 years? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scary Bear Posted May 15, 2015 Share Posted May 15, 2015 They should put it on television on Saturday nights. Not because it's moral but it's better than Ant and Dec's Saturday Night Takeaway, Can we do Peter Tobin first? He's a serial offender and seems a horrible c**t. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ira Gaines Posted May 15, 2015 Share Posted May 15, 2015 No is the only answer here. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ICTChris Posted May 15, 2015 Share Posted May 15, 2015 Remember the Moors murderers. Is one deid and the other let oot? I cannae remember but there is no way they should have lived. Myra Hindley died in prison and Ian Brady will never get out. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
I'm Brian Posted May 15, 2015 Share Posted May 15, 2015 It isn't that long ago that the UK abolished it. Makes you think Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Granny Danger Posted May 15, 2015 Share Posted May 15, 2015 I'd bring it back for the OP, kevthedee and anyone who watches 'reality TV' then ban it again. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr Bairn Posted May 15, 2015 Share Posted May 15, 2015 If an idea is agreed by both Gove and American courts then you know instinctively that it's wrong. Charles. It's no an easy decision to make but I would vote tae bring it back in an independent Scotland. The example I'm using isnae from Scotland but ye should get my drift. Remember that janitor doon in England that murdered the two wee lassies and then helped the polis tae look for them. There is nae way he should still be alive. Remember the Moors murderers. Is one deid and the other let oot? I cannae remember but there is no way they should have lived. instances of people who've reformed in prison and went on to contribute to society Are there many murderers like that? The trouble is that it's the do-gooders who get them released from prison. Lord Longford springs tae mind. Note: I said in an independent Scotland cause I believe our justice system is better than Englands. Helen. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wee Willie Posted May 15, 2015 Share Posted May 15, 2015 I'd bring it back for the OP, kevthedee and anyone who watches 'reality TV' then ban it again. Well I'm safe :lol: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...