kiddy Posted May 31, 2015 Share Posted May 31, 2015 & action! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
NoPapacNoParty Posted June 10, 2015 Share Posted June 10, 2015 Quadruple time! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MEADOWXI Posted June 10, 2015 Share Posted June 10, 2015 Quadruple time! Does failing to win this for the 4th time in a row justify calling it a Quadruple Achievement? Will there be commemerative T-shirts on sale.........in Sports Direct shops obviously? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RossP Posted June 10, 2015 Share Posted June 10, 2015 http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/index.php/topic/223444-petrofac-training-cup-2015-16-first-round/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
NoPapacNoParty Posted June 10, 2015 Share Posted June 10, 2015 Does failing to win this for the 4th time in a row justify calling it a Quadruple Achievement? Will there be commemerative T-shirts on sale.........in Sports Direct shops obviously? Commemorative semi final strips of couse Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
NoPapacNoParty Posted June 10, 2015 Share Posted June 10, 2015 Bit of an excuse but say we get a Queen of the South in the first round this year, we will (probably) have a new squad that has not gelled, if it isn't a new squad we'll lose because the current team is tiny and mostly awful. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jarkko Wiss Posted June 11, 2015 Share Posted June 11, 2015 ^^^Getting the excuses in early.^^^ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hellbhoy Posted June 11, 2015 Share Posted June 11, 2015 Bit of an excuse but say we get Hibs in the first round this year, we will (probably) have a new squad that has not gelled, if it isn't a new squad we'll lose because the current team is tiny and mostly awful. You'll be lucky if it's Hibs who pump yer sorry arses if there's a shit Rangers squad, you'd at least have a hof decent excuse. Imagine the lolathon if East Fife pump ye's in the first game. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
NoPapacNoParty Posted June 12, 2015 Share Posted June 12, 2015 Getting Hibs in the cup is as good as a bye. Aye true ill change it to a team that has a bit of bottle Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
NoPapacNoParty Posted June 12, 2015 Share Posted June 12, 2015 ^^^Getting the excuses in early.^^^ I did mention it was an excuse . They are things that need to be taken into account. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jagfox Posted June 12, 2015 Share Posted June 12, 2015 Rangers really need to concentrate on the league, tbf. The thrill of the cup is all well and good but 3rd place in the Championship must be quite embarrassing for Rangers and their fans? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
thepundit Posted June 12, 2015 Share Posted June 12, 2015 Rangers really need to concentrate on the league, tbf. The thrill of the cup is all well and good but 3rd place in the Championship must be quite embarrassing for Rangers and their fans? The extra games in this irrelevant tournament did the Rangers team no favours. I was always amazed when I read the players who were starting. They should have been sitting with their feet up in preparation for the 3 real trophies they were competing for whilst non-first team players got their chance to impress. It would have gradually taken it's toll on energy levels. And something that really annoyed me was the injury to our best player Lewis Macleod in a match against Alloa, resulting in a lack of creativity in midfield. Rangers then lost 2 of their next 4 Championship games scoring just 3 goals in the process. Hearts? Well, they just fielded a reserve team and lost heavily in the first round to Livi. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bennett Posted June 12, 2015 Share Posted June 12, 2015 Rangers really need to concentrate on the league, tbf. The thrill of the cup is all well and good but 3rd place in the Championship must be quite embarrassing for Rangers and their fans? Aye we need to concentrate on league games and forget about cups. No, not really, after all the off field carry on and allyness, 3rd place wasn't that big an issue. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hellbhoy Posted June 12, 2015 Share Posted June 12, 2015 The extra games in this irrelevant tournament did the Rangers team no favours. I was always amazed when I read the players who were starting. They should have been sitting with their feet up in preparation for the 3 real trophies they were competing for whilst non-first team players got their chance to impress. It would have gradually taken it's toll on energy levels. And something that really annoyed me was the injury to our best player Lewis Macleod in a match against Alloa, resulting in a lack of creativity in midfield. Rangers then lost 2 of their next 4 Championship games scoring just 3 goals in the process. Hearts? Well, they just fielded a reserve team and lost heavily in the first round to Livi. I thought predictions were your forte but here you are doing a post mortem on how pish The Rangers were. You do realise that when doing the autopsy the conclusion has got to be that winning no cups at all including the diddiest of diddiest cups three times shows that assembling a squad to compete in the cups was the worst strategy the club could have chosen. Assembling a squad to gain promotion every season on a smaller budget would have been the more prudent way to go but you and your fans demanded to act like a big club pissing money into the wind to achieve nothing. So again this season you have a demented lunatic promising to spend even more than last season even though the club received £4.3 million in non recurring revenues last season leaving the {for Tedi here} an operating loss probably in excess of £20 million which Tedi thinks isn't debt in any way at all and can be ignored using the Mad Kings philosophy of debt is the new non repayable investment. So where's this operating loss of £20 million plus coming from then ?, the Mad King won't even pay Ashley a palsy £5 million to gain back some revenue from his supposed multi million pound pissing in the wind contest to get the club competing in the Chumpions League the season after this one. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
thepundit Posted June 12, 2015 Share Posted June 12, 2015 You do realise that when doing the autopsy the conclusion has got to be that winning no cups at all including the diddiest of diddiest cups three times shows that assembling a squad to compete in the cups was the worst strategy the club could have chosen. Assembling a squad to gain promotion every season on a smaller budget would have been the more prudent way to go but you and your fans demanded to act like a big club pissing money into the wind to achieve nothing. So you think Rangers spending LESS on their team would have helped them earn promotion to the Premiership?... Okay. You seem to think the playing budget was the reason Rangers were operating at a loss even though it totalled less than 30% of income. That should have been easily affordable. Why it wasn't is the question, rather than blaming the players. I'm of the opinion Rangers should have been spending more on players. 40% maybe. Most clubs spend between 50%-60% but I doubt you're constantly posting on their threads going on about how they have players they can't afford. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kiddy Posted June 12, 2015 Author Share Posted June 12, 2015 Might be wrong, but I think Falkirk have done the league & diddy Diddy cup double twice, from their four wins? At considerably less expense than the Tribute Act. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hellbhoy Posted June 13, 2015 Share Posted June 13, 2015 So you think Rangers spending LESS on their team would have helped them earn promotion to the Premiership?... Okay. You seem to think the playing budget was the reason Rangers were operating at a loss even though it totalled less than 30% of income. That should have been easily affordable. Why it wasn't is the question, rather than blaming the players. I'm of the opinion Rangers should have been spending more on players. 40% maybe. Most clubs spend between 50%-60% but I doubt you're constantly posting on their threads going on about how they have players they can't afford. First off let me say !, £19.2 million is the amount your club will have to stump up next season to equal what they spent last season. Now where the fcuk in your tiny mind does a £19.2 million overspend equate to the players budget being anywhere near 30% of turnover ??? If The Rangers say are generating £30 million in revenue, just over £25 million season ending June 2014, how does an almost £20 million deficit equate to anything remotely close to 30% ??? We actually know and have a very close idea what the stadium and facilities cost to run a year and that stands close to around £15 million a year. That leaves £35 million thereabout to be squandered on the BoD and management but more importantly in players wages. I think you are using the total operating costs here to justify your figures here, what I assume to be around the players budget season past fits in well with your 30%, but it is not 30% of revenue generated, but more to the possible £45 million plus in operating costs for the season past. Me personally, I think they blew £13 million in players wages & bonuses easily to get promoted at the first time of asking and failed. Could be far more. The players budget to make The Rangers stay solvent with current ST sales from last year should ultimately be around £20% of turnover. The stadium and facilities take up around 60% of turnover as it is. That would leave £10 million to spend on paying employees of the club and upkeep of the stadium. If I ran Rangers I'd keep some money by for plenty of legal fees. A budget of £4.5 million on players should be well sustainable and more than enough to assemble a squad able to win the division as well as being capable of winning cup ties. I include projected bonuses in the budget as well. I you can't win the Championship with a budget of £4.5 million then you don't deserve anything. It's never going to happen though, living within their means. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr Waldo Posted June 13, 2015 Share Posted June 13, 2015 It takes fifteen million pounds to run the stadium and facilities!!! FFS. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
thepundit Posted June 13, 2015 Share Posted June 13, 2015 I think they blew £13 million in players wages & bonuses easily to get promoted at the first time of asking and failed. Could be far more. You're wrong about that. In the last set of financial accounts the staff costs totalled £14.7m. ("staff") In that same set of accounts, which you have even referred to in your post, it clearly states the first team wage to turnover ratio is 26%. The non-first team players may have added another 5%-10% but it obviously proves the players should have been easily affordable. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Flash Posted June 13, 2015 Share Posted June 13, 2015 Bit of an excuse but say we get a Queen of the South in the first round this year, we will (probably) have a new squad that has not gelled, if it isn't a new squad we'll lose because the current team is tiny and mostly awful.An excuse that won't really work given that we have lost 6 of the players who started at Ibrox in the last game plus 2 of the subs. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...