The_Kincardine Posted August 9, 2015 Share Posted August 9, 2015 It is Just you keep telling yourself it isn't though I am perfectly happy to say we embarrassed ourselves financially and let plenty of folk down.. I take issue with you saying, "The only utterly embarassing (sic) thing in Scottish football is the Rangers saga". I shan't say anything more on this subject. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1320Lichtie Posted August 9, 2015 Share Posted August 9, 2015 I am perfectly happy to say we embarrassed ourselves financially and let plenty of folk down.. I take issue with you saying, "The only utterly embarassing (sic) thing in Scottish football is the Rangers saga". I shan't say anything more on this subject. You can add Doncaster and Regans ineptness to the list Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LuoAnLai Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 I am perfectly happy to say we embarrassed ourselves financially and let plenty of folk down.. I take issue with you saying, "The only utterly embarassing (sic) thing in Scottish football is the Rangers saga". I shan't say anything more on this subject. I'm not sure why you put that in the past tense. The financial embarrassment continues and therefore, so does the saga. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RedRob72 Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 Booming I tell ye, Booming !! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AUFC90 Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 Booming I tell ye, Booming !! Wow... Rangers has more fans than Dundee UTD, Hearts etc.... I, for one, am totally shocked by this stunning revelation. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Monkey Tennis Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 Booming I tell ye, Booming !! Christ Rob. That's original chat. The gates for the clubs involved there are all pretty decent. Who exactly are you attempting to mock here? Would it be the people who do follow these clubs, because that would be kind of stupid? I'd be more inclined to criticise those from around the country who ditch their local clubs in order to attach themselves to something bigger, with a dubious back story. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RedRob72 Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 Wow... Rangers has more fans than Dundee UTD, Hearts etc.... I, for one, am totally shocked by this stunning revelation. More fans attending a 2nd tier game than all those combined through the gates at matches in the Country's Premier competition. Throw in all the rest of the games in the Championship and all those in the first Division too, then we're getting somewhere near. Where else in the world eh? The fine institution that is Rangers Football Club is very much alive and well !! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Monkey Tennis Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 More fans attending a 2nd tier game than all those combined through the gates at matches in the Country's Premier competition. Throw in all the rest of the games in the Championship and all those in the first Division too, then we're getting somewhere near. Where else in the world eh? The fine institution that is Rangers Football Club is very much alive and well !! Rangers is a very big club in a small country. I thought you knew. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RedRob72 Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 Christ Rob. That's original chat. The gates for the clubs involved there are all pretty decent. Who exactly are you attempting to mock here? Would it be the people who do follow these clubs, because that would be kind of stupid? I'd be more inclined to criticise those from around the country who ditch their local clubs in order to attach themselves to something bigger, with a dubious back story. I'm not trying to Mock anyone MT, the original post(and subsequent responses) was another tiresome dig at the Rangers support, falling attendances, sales of season books etc....which has proved to be spectacularly wrong! Early days yes, but as its been said numerous times by most Bears on here, the fans will turn up if we play some decent stuff! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Monkey Tennis Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 I'm not trying to Mock anyone MT, the original post(and subsequent responses) was another tiresome dig at the Rangers support, falling attendances, sales of season books etc....which has proved to be spectacularly wrong! Early days yes, but as its been said numerous times by most Bears on here, the fans will turn up if we play some decent stuff! The first post on the thread asks what people think will happen in terms of gates? It contains a wee dig about Rangers' "hilarious" failure last season, but I think the question is asked sincerely enough. It certainly prompted plenty of sincere responses, from Rangers fans and others. The comparison with top flight gates is just daft though. If Rangers get a big crowd, it's bound to exceed the aggregate gate there, because it means Celtic are probably away from home. You don't need to remind us that Scotland is hideously lopsided in terms of the stature and power of clubs and we surely don't need to remind you why Rangers aren't in the highest division. The "booming, I tell ye" crap is lifted verbatim from No8's repertoire and is just stupid and pointless. Supporting the same club as lots of other people obviously means a great deal to you, but that's a wee bit pathetic when you really think about it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bennett Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 A few people forgetting that this thread was started by a pars fan at the end of last season as a dig. So if a few bears point out that our crowds appear to be pretty high then what's the big deal..... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RedRob72 Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 The first post on the thread asks what people think will happen in terms of gates? It contains a wee dig about Rangers' "hilarious" failure last season, but I think the question is asked sincerely enough. It certainly prompted plenty of sincere responses, from Rangers fans and others. The comparison with top flight gates is just daft though. If Rangers get a big crowd, it's bound to exceed the aggregate gate there, because it means Celtic are probably away from home. You don't need to remind us that Scotland is hideously lopsided in terms of the stature and power of clubs and we surely don't need to remind you why Rangers aren't in the highest division. The "booming, I tell ye" crap is lifted verbatim from No8's repertoire and is just stupid and pointless. Supporting the same club as lots of other people obviously means a great deal to you, but that's a wee bit pathetic when you really think about it. That's not the point at all Monkey, read the continual jibes on these pages, about the club being 'dead', 'the fans who don't do walking away' etc, etc snooze.. The fans know that we are entering a new chapter in our history and are turning up in numbers, their support for our famous old club undiminished. Even you wont baulk at that tenet surely! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Monkey Tennis Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 That's not the point at all Monkey, read the continual jibes on these pages, about the club being 'dead', 'the fans who don't do walking away' etc, etc snooze.. The fans know that we are entering a new chapter in our history and are turning up in numbers, their support for our famous old club undiminished. Even you wont baulk at that tenet surely! Why the focus on comparison with top flight gates then? And why are you running with the "baulk" thing? It was Youngsy and Kincardine who wound up looking stupid there. I'd reserve my taunts for them if I were you. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dons_1988 Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 I'm not trying to Mock anyone MT, the original post(and subsequent responses) was another tiresome dig at the Rangers support, falling attendances, sales of season books etc....which has proved to be spectacularly wrong! Early days yes, but as its been said numerous times by most Bears on here, the fans will turn up if we play some decent stuff! Do you mean 'if it looks like the league will be easy this year and we won't have to suffer the horror of being in 2nd place and actually dropping points' Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kildog Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 More fans attending a 2nd tier game than all those combined through the gates at matches in the Country's Premier competition. Throw in all the rest of the games in the Championship and all those in the first Division too, then we're getting somewhere near. Where else in the world eh? The fine institution that is Rangers Football Club is very much alive and well !! That's what I still don't get. All that inherent advantage, over everyone else, bar the other lot, and still Rangers managed to die after years and years of cheating! The most successful club were cheats. Fucking cheats!! Lance Armstrong FC. "Where else in the world eh?" Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
thepundit Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 Supporting the same club as lots of other people obviously means a great deal to you, but that's a wee bit pathetic when you really think about it. Or taking pride in the fact many thousands of people support the Rangers means a great deal to him?.... Nothing pathetic about that at all. You seem jealous?....................... If you were at a match at Palmerston and (in a fantasyland where they had a big stadium and you actually went to games) you looked around and saw 50k fans cheering the club on, that wouldn't mean a "great deal" to you?... Aye, okay. No big deal. Right. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HibeeJibee Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 With the possible exception of St Johnstone-ICT not quite making 3k, the weekend's Premiership gates were pretty good viewed with any appreciation of context. OF have got 2/5 - 1/2 of crowds for most of the last quarter century, dipping in the last few seasons via falls at Ibrox and Parkhead and rises elsewhere. Highly unusual for both Hearts+Hibs to have been away. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bennett Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 That's what I still don't get. All that inherent advantage, over everyone else, bar the other lot, and still Rangers managed to die after years and years of cheating! The most successful club were cheats. Fucking cheats!! Lance Armstrong FC. "Where else in the world eh?" You've recycled one of kens old posts..... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Monkey Tennis Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 Or taking pride in the fact many thousands of people support the Rangers means a great deal to him?.... Nothing pathetic about that at all. You seem jealous?....................... If you were at a match at Palmerston and (in a fantasyland where they had a big stadium and you actually went to games) you looked around and saw 50k fans cheering the club on, that wouldn't mean a "great deal" to you?... Aye, okay. No big deal. Right. Are you actually suggesting now that I don't go to games? That's even weirder than the suggestion that I'm jealous of those who've made a choice I'm perfectly at liberty to make for myself. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken Fitlike Posted August 10, 2015 Share Posted August 10, 2015 You've recycled one of kens old posts..... Doubt that. He just picked up on what most rational folk would observe about the cheat-esque similarities between the arrogant doped cyclist and the arrogant dopes from Govan. Of course the ruling bodies of the two sports had incredibly divergent views of the title stripping that was appropriate for the aforementioned cheating. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...