Peppino Impastato Posted May 3, 2016 Share Posted May 3, 2016 http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-36190557 I would like to see similar compassion and humanitarianism in the judicial system of every country, perhaps it could be standardised through the Eu? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wee Willie Posted May 3, 2016 Share Posted May 3, 2016 An opinion piece in Corriere Della Sera says statistics suggest 615 people are added to the ranks of the poor in Italy every day it was "unthinkable that the law should not take note of reality". Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peppino Impastato Posted May 3, 2016 Author Share Posted May 3, 2016 Fair play to them. Europe just knows better, it'sthe centre of ddemocracy and civilisation and the most highly developed continent on earth, I'dmmuch rather be governed by Brussels than London. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peppino Impastato Posted May 3, 2016 Author Share Posted May 3, 2016 So the problem with this ruling is two-fold. Firstly, it sends out a very clear message that stealing is fine as long as you are hungry. Secondly, it doesn't even attempt to deal with the actual problem which is why exactly are people starving in the streets of Italy in the first place in 2016. It doesn't say whether this starvation is self-caused for whatever reason or whether there is a fundamental problem in Italy. Maybe someone can explain exactly why this ruling makes Europe a better place than the UK. We don't typically have people starving in the street. We have a welfare system and foodbanks which essentially take care of that. Perhaps not ideal but at least we don't have starvation. Maybe Italy doesn't have that safety net. I have no idea. All I know is that we probably need to give credit where its due. stealing is okay if you're hungry, that wasn't a mistake that they sent out that message. The rest is hardly the job of the court. You're a bitter old man. And what starvation would be self Caused? We'renot ttalking about bobby sands here Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peppino Impastato Posted May 3, 2016 Author Share Posted May 3, 2016 We do have people starving here too and grown women eating cold beans with their bare hands after not eating for days then finally getting a referral to a food bank, which the government don't fund and blocked an investigation into the causes of. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BFTD Posted May 3, 2016 Share Posted May 3, 2016 It would be nice rulings like this weren't necessary. I somehow doubt this was the guy's finest hour. No surprise that Oaksoft thinks people should fight against nature and allow themselves to starve, however Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peppino Impastato Posted May 3, 2016 Author Share Posted May 3, 2016 It would be nice rulings like this weren't necessary. I somehow doubt this was the guy's finest hour. No surprise that Oaksoft thinks people should fight against nature and allow themselves to starve, however every human being has the right not to go hungry Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr Bairn Posted May 3, 2016 Share Posted May 3, 2016 Oaksoft winning the thread, deary me. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
strichener Posted May 3, 2016 Share Posted May 3, 2016 Oaksoft winning the thread, deary me. You certainly won't. Your trolling is getting worse with every post. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr Bairn Posted May 3, 2016 Share Posted May 3, 2016 I think we can all agree that this guy doesn't deserve to be prosecuted here but that doesn't make it okay to go around stealing things. Shops have to protect their business. I would much prefer if some happy medium was reached Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
NotThePars Posted May 3, 2016 Share Posted May 3, 2016 Fair play to them. Europe just knows better, it'sthe centre of ddemocracy and civilisation and the most highly developed continent on earth, I'dmmuch rather be governed by Brussels than London. Is this 1880 and are you campaigning for the colonisation of Africa? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ad Lib Posted May 3, 2016 Share Posted May 3, 2016 This is something that should be dealt with at prosecutorial discretion level and/or through admonishment in sentencing. Not decriminalisation. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
invergowrie arab Posted May 3, 2016 Share Posted May 3, 2016 I optimistically disagree that it is not solving the problem (sort of). I believe the judgement will cause a concentration of minds about how to come up with a solution. Once the golden calf of private property is threatened people will start to take notice. The right to life has to over ride property rights. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ad Lib Posted May 3, 2016 Share Posted May 3, 2016 I optimistically disagree that it is not solving the problem (sort of). I believe the judgement will cause a concentration of minds about how to come up with a solution. Once the golden calf of private property is threatened people will start to take notice. The right to life has to over ride property rights. I don't think anyone disagrees with the notion that the right to life takes primacy over other rights, including property. The issue is that the mere existence of a supermarket's property rights doesn't deny anyone a right to life. It's the guy's absence of property that puts him in desperate need. That's a broader social problem and not a justification for depriving any specific person or shop of their property but it is a justification for things like taxation, a compassionate welfare system and giving prosecutors and judges the flexibility not to punish anyone caught stealing in a time of desperate need. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
invergowrie arab Posted May 3, 2016 Share Posted May 3, 2016 I don't think anyone disagrees with the notion that the right to life takes primacy over other rights, including property. The issue is that the mere existence of a supermarket's property rights doesn't deny anyone a right to life. It's the guy's absence of property that puts him in desperate need. That's a broader social problem and not a justification for depriving any specific person or shop of their property but it is a justification for things like taxation, a compassionate welfare system and giving prosecutors and judges the flexibility not to punish anyone caught stealing in a time of desperate need. all property is theft, kill the masters. John Swinney told me that Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wee Willie Posted May 3, 2016 Share Posted May 3, 2016 all property is theft, kill the masters. John Swinney told me that and he gets my vote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr Bairn Posted May 3, 2016 Share Posted May 3, 2016 Wait, is Swinney from the far left of the SNP? I'd heard he was a bit out of touch with other SNP MSPs and MPs but I'd always assumed that to mean he was more of a centre-right tartan Tory type. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wee Willie Posted May 3, 2016 Share Posted May 3, 2016 Wait, is Swinney from the far left of the SNP? I'd heard he was a bit out of touch with other SNP MSPs and MPs but I'd always assumed that to mean he was more of a centre-right tartan Tory type. I dinnae care. As long as he supports Independence then I'll vote for him. Easy peasy. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ScotSquid Posted May 4, 2016 Share Posted May 4, 2016 Fair play to them. Europe just knows better, it'sthe centre of ddemocracy and civilisation and the most highly developed continent on earth, I'dmmuch rather be governed by Brussels than London. London is in Europe meight. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wee Willie Posted May 4, 2016 Share Posted May 4, 2016 London is in Europe meight. and so is Edinburgh - I'll stick with that with a mibbe aye mibbe naw nod tae Brussels. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...