Edinburgh City

22 minutes ago, DutchBorderer said:

Official Twitter account having a bit of a 'mare tonight. Has since been undone.

image.png.be73862db86217a349b83f3325bb969b.png

The excitement of the Bronze Licence announcement this morning clearly gone to the head of our social media officer. What a start to the season

and folk complain the club never updates them with the important news.. 

bogroll.jpg.b9496beff0ec02cf351331c3984701b3.jpg

Bronze licences. Please take one. Never in doubt 😬
At least we can look down on no-mark diddies like Broxburn, Dunbar and Whitehill now

Late to the party. Just saw the news, chuffed it's worked out well for yourselves. Hopefully some positive times for you next season. 

12 hours ago, tamthebam said:

and folk complain the club never updates them with the important news.. 

bogroll.jpg.b9496beff0ec02cf351331c3984701b3.jpg

Bronze licences. Please take one. Never in doubt 😬
At least we can look down on no-mark diddies like Broxburn, Dunbar and Whitehill now

I'm disappointed. However, The Pointing and Laughing Committee will reconvene on the Livi and ICT threads.

On 15/05/2024 at 01:04, Les Cabbage said:

Good news for your financial situation.

3 Hibs season ticket holders about to sign up for Edinburgh City season tickets this season once we get our refunds through.

Not sure if there’ll be any more that follow.

Out of the fire and into the frying pan by the sounds of things.

Season tickets now bought for me and a mate.

Looking forward to something different next year, hopefully can steer clear of the trap door.

Robertson, Lynch & Mitchell are decent players to have on board for next season, be good to get a few loans in to supplement the squad for next year.

1 minute ago, Todd_is_God said:

Abandoned friendly due to "Crowd Trouble" is some going tbf.

It’s actually a disgrace and caused by a bunch of young Ned’s who are only interested in being idiots.

Was there tonight and left at half time due to neds and weather, shortly before the abandonment it seems. 

Young guys (12,13?) in balaclavas and masks. All for "ultras" supporting the wee teams but that was the wrong side of the line. Feel a bit for the City fans who have had to put up with a lot of shite recently and this just adds to it

45 minutes ago, Todd_is_God said:

Abandoned friendly due to "Crowd Trouble" is some going tbf.

The Edinburgh fans were causing bother when Accies fans were in pub before the game last season.

Posted (edited)

When I arrived at the game, the Edinburgh Ultras were already in. They seemed in good spirits bouncing and singing. It created a wee bit of pre-match atmosphere.  Then just before kick-off with the players out, they lit a few flares and set off some firecrackers. Broxburn stewards (the committee) went over and they all eventually went out. Game started, Broxburn ultras had gathered and were singing as well. There was a wee bit of back and forth, but it mostly seemed banter and all ok.

It got to half time, I went to toilet, came out and all hell had broken loose. Didn't see anything, but talk of stuff being thrown, a woman hit by brick, possibly knives being carried and running at the Broxburn ultras. Some police were already in. More came. There were chats between the police, referees, committees and game was pulled.

Edinburgh ultras were then shepherded out the enclosure to behind goals which I assume created passageway to let everyone else out and disperse. 

When it's at the stage someone is getting hurt, then it's the right thing to do to pull the game.

Unfortunately, it's City that are going to get the bad name for them, but they may have to be proactive and have spotters out early at every game to ensure any known problem children don't get in.

Certainly not how I saw the evening going!

Edited by Jordi1977

51 minutes ago, FuzzyBear said:

The Edinburgh fans were causing bother when Accies fans were in pub before the game last season.

You mean the wee neds. 

Us grizzled veteran City fans wouldn't bother Accies fans (I quite like your club) and I wouldn't class anybody who bothered me an "Accies fan". 

It's a minter to have a game abandoned because of these wee fannies. They let off flares at Meadowbank on Saturday against Hibs too. It must have been a quiet night in West Lothian because two police vans and two police cars had turned up by the time I left Albyn Park. 

Back in the day at a Juniors game community justice would have prevailed*

*find the ringleaders and take them round the back of the shed for a "life lesson" from a couple of handy ex-miners

24 minutes ago, Jordi1977 said:

Unfortunately, it's City that are going to get the bad name for them, but they may have to be proactive and have spotters out early at every game to ensure any known problem children don't get in.

That's me banned. I didn't eat my greens before I had my pudding. 

Free season tickets for Ultras Mums is the solution- if anything kicked off then you'd have to apologise to your ma. 

Broxburn looked the more likely to score too.