Post Upgrade Update #03 - Notifications

Long and boring post ahead. Sorry!

Ok guys one of the big bug bears post upgrade has been with notifications, particularly the seeming ramdom alerts the App is dishing up. Here's all you need to know about notifications.

Desktop Notification Settings

You can now manage all aspects of your notifications. I've switched off all restrictions so you can set your notifications up entirely as you wish. Click your name top right when logged in, then Account Settings, then on the right you'll see a panel for Other Settings and in there is Notification Settings.

The top of the page sets your preferences for automatic notifications and also desktop, including how to switch off the sound on desktop notifications which I know will be annoying for a lot of people, especially the rascals browsing at work.

Underneath all that stuff is the notification list. Here you decide what you want to be notified about and whether you want notification list alerts or email alerts or both, or neither. You simply go through and slide the switches to green for on or grey for off.

After you do that and save the preferences your notifications on desktop, and when using the mobile browser version of the site will follow those rules and all will be well.

App Notifications

The App does some weird stuff that seems to disobey some of the notification stuff we set above. I will report this as a bug but I've seen that it happens also on the newest version of both iOS and Android. I do know what's happening though so if you are receiving completely random notifications this is what's causing it and how to work around it.

Previous to the upgrade we had a concept of "Friends" on the board. Like Facebook members could be "Friends" with other members. At the upgrade all these friends were converted to "Followers".

If you "Follow" another member then regardless of what notification settings you've set, everytime they make a post on the forum you will be notified via push on the app.

So, you have two choices;

1) Manage who you "Follow" to remove members you really don't want to see any notifications from on the App. You can manage this by clicking your name top right, then Manage Followed Content on Desktop (you can also access via the menu in the mobile browser). This defaults to topics you are following. On the left though at the bottom is "Members". Click that and you will see the members list you are "Following".

Clear that down and the random notifications will go.

OR

2) You can switch off all push notifications from within the App.

I will report this as a bug to the App guys but for now I am pretty confident that is the answer.

• Replies 6

including how to switch off the sound on desktop notifications - I'm deaf

You simply go through and slide the switches to green for on or grey for off - I'm colour blind.

And how dae ye format without double spacing.

It's daein' my heid in.

You telt me earlier that to avoid double spacing you control/enter I think?It worked a couple of times but if I try it noo I get this

How come your post is neat and tidy and mine's like a coos erse.

Whit's the secret.

3 minutes ago, Wee Willie said:

You simply go through and slide the switches to green for on or grey for off - I'm colour blind.

It's daein' my heid in.

You telt me earlier that to avoid double spacing you control/enter I think?It worked a couple of times but if I try it noo I get this

Whit's the secret.

Your post looks fine to me bud.

37 minutes ago, Wee Willie said:

It's daein' my heid in.

Whit's the secret.

Its SHIFT+ENTER
like this

42 minutes ago, Wee Willie said:

It's daein' my heid in.

Whit's the secret.

4 minutes ago, Mr X said:

Its SHIFT+ENTER
like this

It's daein' my heid in.

Whit's the secret.

Yabba Dabba Do :lol: