The Sons v East Fife, Tuesday 19/7/16

• Replies 113

Cannot wait to see Chris Duggan irl again. It'll more than make up for the fact we'll have players in the wrong positions.

Simple 4-4-2 plz Stevie. We're at home, we're good at home, nae messing about with players all over the place.

Mark Brown

Craig Pettigrew Gregor Buchanan Frazer Wright Mark Docherty

David Smith Grant Gallagher Ryan Stevenson Andy Stirling

Garry Fleming/Josh Todd Robert Thomson

I know, shock horror, I've started Gallagher after his performance against Forfar, but I'm starting to realise it might not be him, it's the position he's being asked to play. He'll be a better bet for CDM than Gaz who had an absolute 'mare and we someone to do the defensive stuff for Stevo. Oddly enough when Gal was deep in the Forfar game when we sat back he was actually pretty nifty. He did a few nice we shifts to move the defender away from him and then moved the ball on which is exactly what you want from your defensive mid - as beautifully shown by Jon Routledge last season.

Up top I felt that Thommo was too isolated, and as good as he was it's pointless when he's holding to ball up and playing in Gallagher. Gaz was rancid for the most part against Forfar, but we know he's a capable finisher so he could get in behind  and tuck away the chances Gallagher couldn't. Or, if he fancies something different, lets hand Josh Todd his debut. He scored plenty last season and always looks as if he's about to do something dangerous. He'll also be completely fresh having only played for 15 minutes on Saturday.

Working so cant make this one.

Another performance like the second half v Dundee would be most welcome though.  

Not sure just how fit Duggan is, he was certainly a bigger threat than Jordan Austin on Sat, but I may be doing Austin a disservice with the wind seeming to assist the team attacking the sea end.

I'd be happy with: (if all fit)

Muir

Mercer, Kerr, Page, Naysmith

Robinson Slattery

Lamont Smith Wilkie

Duggan

Sounds like Gaz isn't in the best of places right now, I'd be inclined to drop him for this one.  I agree that playing Todd up top with Thommo would be the best way round that, it would mean Gallagher has to be extremely disciplined but I'm confident he can do that job. In two minds whether to bother with this as I'm convinced that we're still treating them as pre-season games but I just can't keep myself away.

1 hour ago, WullieBroonIsGod said:

Working so cant make this one.

Another performance like the second half v Dundee would be most welcome though.  

Not sure just how fit Duggan is, he was certainly a bigger threat than Jordan Austin on Sat, but I may be doing Austin a disservice with the wind seeming to assist the team attacking the sea end.

I'd be happy with: (if all fit)

Muir

Mercer, Kerr, Page, Naysmith

Robinson Slattery

Lamont Smith Wilkie

Duggan

Is that Mark Lamont you've got?

He was a decent wee player until he got injured with us.

Sounds like Gaz isn't in the best of places right now, I'd be inclined to drop him for this one.  I agree that playing Todd up top with Thommo would be the best way round that, it would mean Gallagher has to be extremely disciplined but I'm confident he can do that job. In two minds whether to bother with this as I'm convinced that we're still treating them as pre-season games but I just can't keep myself away.

Heard something about Garry or just basing that on his belly?

1 minute ago, cameron2000 said:

Heard something about Garry or just basing that on his belly?

Just basing it on the condition he's in and the poor performance he turned in on Saturday, both things are entirely unlike him. I'm sure he'll be back to his fighting best soon, just think giving Todd a run out up front with Thommo would be a good option for this one.

4 hours ago, Sonsteam of 08 said:

Is that Mark Lamont you've got?

He was a decent wee player until he got injured with us.

Aye, Naysmith picked him up from Stirling in the close season.  Thought him and Duggan really improved the side when they came on against Dundee.

Not seen an awful lot of him playing, but very impressed from the limited time I've seen him play

1 hour ago, WullieBroonIsGod said:

Aye, Naysmith picked him up from Stirling in the close season.  Thought him and Duggan really improved the side when they came on against Dundee.

Not seen an awful lot of him playing, but very impressed from the limited time I've seen him play

His delivery was always very impressive! If he still has it and stays free of injuries you have a decent player in your team. Pretty much ambidextrous as well if I remember correctly?

Was nice to read he had taken some time away from football got himself properly fit and then signed for Stirling last year. Good luck to him (just not tomorrow night against ourselves).