Brexit slowly becoming a Farce.

John Lambies Doos

16 minutes ago, Bishop Briggs said:

Godwin's Law applies.

Only an idiot would conflate a democratic decision to the leave the undemocratic EU with Nazism.

2 in 5 Scots, including 36% of those who voted for the SNP in 2015, voted Leave.

and ye can count me in with the Leavers as soon as I read that Mrs Windsor got almost £1m from the EU Common Agricultural Policy for one of her farms.
And here's me thinking the fund was tae help poor farmers in the EU.
Once bitten etc...

The Queen, aristocrats and Saudi prince among recipients of EU farm subsidies
https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2016/sep/29/the-queen-aristocrats-and-saudi-prince-among-recipients-of-eu-farm-subsidies

16 hours ago, git-intae-thum said:

Ferreting for scraps under Donald Trumps table. Looking up hoping he will throw a kind word down at us.

Oh how mighty Britannia has fallen.

We'll get a great trade deal with America, maybe the greatest ever. Just so long as we allow American firms to run the NHS,  imports of unlabelled GM foods and meat pumped full of antibiotics.

Godwin's Law applies.
Only an idiot would conflate a democratic decision to the leave the undemocratic EU with Nazism.
2 in 5 Scots, including 36% of those who voted for the SNP in 2015, voted Leave.

Coincidentally the same as the proportion of Germans that voted for the National Socialist party in 1932.

5 minutes ago, topcat(The most tip top) said:

As a deliberate flouting of Godwin's law.

I see whit ye did there :thumsup2

Me being a numpty and didnae go tae Uni I had tae look up Godwins Law:
Wikipedia (but truncated)
Godwin's law is an Internet adage which asserts that "As an online discussion grows longer,
the probability of a comparison involving Hitler, that is, if an online discussion (regardless of topic or scope)
goes on long enough, sooner or later someone will compare someone or something to Hitler.

Excellent :thumsup2

19 hours ago, Wee Willie said:

I will ask the caretaker if the cold water tap is straight from the mains :thumsup2

All drinking water in the UK is from the mains water supply. ( unlesss you have your own natural spring or borehole )

Tbh if your drinking water had been from an open tank in the roof space you would probably have got legionella or crytosporidium by now . 

Basically the rule is to only drink, cook and wash food from your cold tap and NEVER fill the kettle from the hot tap.....not so bad if you've got a combi-boiler as that is cold fed from the mains and the hot water, therefore is cold mains water heated up but I still wouldn't fill the kettle from it!

Edited by McSpreader

2 minutes ago, McSpreader said:

All drinking water in the UK is from the mains water supply. ( unlesss you have your own natural spring or borehole )

Tbh if your drinking water had been from an open tank in the roof space you would probably have got legionella or crytosporidium by now . 

Basically the rule is to only drink, cook and wash food from your cold tap and NEVER fill the kettle from the hot tap.....not so bad if you've got a combi-boiler as that is cold fed from the mains and the hot water, therefore is cold mains water heated up but I still wouldn't fill the kettle from it!

You wouldn't get legionella from a hot water tap either as the calorifier that supplies it is set to a high enough temperature to kill legionella. Basically all taps have potable water, you can drink it but you wouldn't want to.

1 minute ago, McSpreader said:

All drinking water in the UK is from the mains water supply. 

That's almost what I do but as I said previously the cold water in my kitchen sink tap tastes of iron? fluoride? bromide? and it is never cold (as in refreshing).
I much prefer to drink Highland Spring water (from my fridge) which hopefully helps keep some Scots in employment.

2 minutes ago, AUFC90 said:

You wouldn't get legionella from a hot water tap either as the calorifier that supplies it is set to a high enough temperature to kill legionella. Basically all taps have potable water, you can drink it but you wouldn't want to.

That is the situation in my wee flat hence the Highland Spring.

Thanks tae the pair o' ye for the info :thumsup2

and ye can count me in with the Leavers as soon as I read that Mrs Windsor got almost £1m from the EU Common Agricultural Policy for one of her farms.
And here's me thinking the fund was tae help poor farmers in the EU.
Once bitten etc...
The Queen, aristocrats and Saudi prince among recipients of EU farm subsidies
https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2016/sep/29/the-queen-aristocrats-and-saudi-prince-among-recipients-of-eu-farm-subsidies

So you sided with the Leavers who wanted to give the Queen a massive new yacht to celebrate Brexit?

52 minutes ago, NotThePars said:

So you sided with the Leavers who wanted to give the Queen a massive new yacht to celebrate Brexit?

I'm siding wi' the Leavers efter Brexit.
I forgot aboot the yacht but she didnae get it.
Tho it looks like no matter who I side wi' I'm f**ked.
I'd might as well still abstain.

I can and do and it does but it tastes of iron? fluoride? pish? and no I'm no drinking oot o' the toilet :lol:

Just get yersel a water filter Jug Willie, fill it up and stick in the fridge, £5.99 from Argos (Aqua Optimum Compact) including filter, the replacement filters are a couple of quid for two and last for 4 weeks each. Never need to buy another bottle again plus no recycling! Sorted[emoji6]

53 minutes ago, RedRob72 said:

Just get yersel a water filter Jug Willie, fill it up and stick in the fridge, £5.99 from Argos (Aqua Optimum Compact) including filter, the replacement filters are a couple of quid for two and last for 4 weeks each. Never need to buy another bottle again plus no recycling! Sortedemoji6.png

Is that water filter no for a survival course.
Drink your ain pish or even someone elses but filter it first.
Back in the day it wis sweaty socks for a filter.

I'll check it out Rob but I still prefer tae drink Highland Spring frae the fridge.
It also helps (in a wee way) tae keep Scots in employment.