c***s on the road

19 minutes ago, BillyAnchor said:

Very close to the home of the W. Anchors.  Tanker overheating so pulls off to verge. Massive thing can't miss it. Someone does miss it. One fatality I assume the driver who ran into the back Tanker driver taken to hospital apparently a few more injured. Roads all closed for hours. Huge black smoke clouds seen for miles.

Tesla on autopilot?

5 hours ago, philpy said:

Iceland in musselburgh. Apart from this Google image, you can almost guarantee some lazy fatty or auld c**t will park on the pavement practically right at the door, when there are loads of spaces nearby.  It's the only shop out of the 3 there without bollards, maybe they need to change that...

Screenshot_20240516_183924_Maps.jpg

Always wondered where Granny Danger did his shopping!

On Wednesday I was behind two women on horses. I slowed to a crawl as there wasn't room to pass. They moved to single file and the older woman started waving her arm about. I thought she was waving me on and crept level, half on the road and verge. Woman then goes apeshite and accuses me of trying to kill her and her horse. I stopped, apologised and tried to explain my misunderstanding. She was having none of it and continued her theme of horsicide and reminding me I was on camera.

She then points out a gateway, which she says I can pass at, but still not listening to my explanation.

Eventually got past with my ears ringing. I know I was in the wrong, but I was still a bit indignant at the rollicking I got. How was I to know how nervous she and her horse were, especially with her dubious hand signals.

1 hour ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

On Wednesday I was behind two women on horses. I slowed to a crawl as there wasn't room to pass. They moved to single file and the older woman started waving her arm about. I thought she was waving me on and crept level, half on the road and verge. Woman then goes apeshite and accuses me of trying to kill her and her horse. I stopped, apologised and tried to explain my misunderstanding. She was having none of it and continued her theme of horsicide and reminding me I was on camera.

She then points out a gateway, which she says I can pass at, but still not listening to my explanation.

Eventually got past with my ears ringing. I know I was in the wrong, but I was still a bit indignant at the rollicking I got. How was I to know how nervous she and her horse were, especially with her dubious hand signals.

Should have given her a dubious hand signal 

8 hours ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

If my vehicle could throw a wobbly and potentially damage or even kill other road users, it would be deemed unsuitable for the public road.

Same with cyclists who insist on swerving in and out “avoiding potholes”, put roadworthy tyres on and stay safe. It’s not everyone else that is putting them in a vulnerable position but they love the entitlement 

6 minutes ago, Spyro said:

If my vehicle could throw a wobbly and potentially damage or even kill other road users, it would be deemed unsuitable for the public road.

Same with cyclists who insist on swerving in and out “avoiding potholes”, put roadworthy tyres on and stay safe. It’s not everyone else that is putting them in a vulnerable position but they love the entitlement 

That's  what I thought. They were on a public, admittedly quiet, narrow road. The first thing I thought was that the horses were in no distress. I couldn't see the passing place ahead and thought it was ok to proceed carefully.

8 minutes ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

That's  what I thought. They were on a public, admittedly quiet, narrow road. The first thing I thought was that the horses were in no distress. I couldn't see the passing place ahead and thought it was ok to proceed carefully.

Yeah, I'll wait for instruction from the rider, I'm happy the horse is settled and if everything looks under control, then I'll pass as quietly as possible. 

There's sometimes I've been waved through, then the horse decides to get nervous... And guarantee it will be my fault if anyone getting hurt. 

11 hours ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

Who are you? What have you done with The Sarge?

2 hours ago, Spyro said:

Aye, cyclists should just launch themselves into potholes and take the hit. What is the point of helmets otherwise?

2 hours ago, Spyro said:

Every vehicle does have that potential though, does it not?

16 minutes ago, scottsdad said:

Aye, cyclists should just launch themselves into potholes and take the hit. What is the point of helmets otherwise?

No, I said they should avoid putting themselves in vulnerable positions by riding a vehicle with tyres that can't take a bump and therefore isn't suitable for the roads...

I don't want to see anyone get hurt on the roads, but some people seem to go out their way to put themselves in danger then all get raging when someone questions there common sense. 

1 minute ago, Spyro said:

No, I said they should avoid putting themselves in vulnerable positions by riding a vehicle with tyres that can't take a bump and therefore isn't suitable for the roads...

I don't want to see anyone get hurt on the roads, but some people seem to go out their way to put themselves in danger then all get raging when someone questions there common sense. 

Quite right.

Cyclists should stay on the pavement and headbut pedestrians out of the way. What is the point of wearing a helmet otherwise?

1 minute ago, scottsdad said:

Quite right.

Cyclists should stay on the pavement and headbut pedestrians out of the way. What is the point of wearing a helmet otherwise?

If that makes you feel better... 

I only advised that having a front wheel that dissolves the second you hit a pothole isn't really a safe mode of transport. Plenty of cyclists manage fine with tyres that can actually take a hit and not cause an accident 

14 hours ago, Spyro said:

Yeah, I'll wait for instruction from the rider, I'm happy the horse is settled and if everything looks under control, then I'll pass as quietly as possible. 

There's sometimes I've been waved through, then the horse decides to get nervous... And guarantee it will be my fault if anyone getting hurt. 

I was in my new car, a Fiat 500, (cut and colour, £50.00). The horse with rider was about the size of a transit van. Only one living being was going to die in any collision. I doubt the horse was capable of much speed if it bolted with the big woman on it.

I’m always dubious of bikes/horse riders/whatever waving people past. You’re putting your life in their hands and for all you know they might be a fucking idiot who’s completely misjudged the situation.

1 hour ago, eez-eh said:

I’m always dubious of bikes/horse riders/whatever waving people past. You’re putting your life in their hands and for all you know they might be a fucking idiot who’s completely misjudged the situation.

Agreed. And actually the worst are (well meaning) car drivers who, when I am out walking the dog and waiting to cross a busy junction, will randomly stop and beckon us across. Nae danger I'm taking them up on the offer, largely because you don't know who else is around and will decide to just go round them but, more importantly, the dog is being/has been (delete as appropriate) taught that cars are not to be messed with. He stays well clear until I decide the road is clear, there is no competing traffic and only then do we venture off the kerb.   

57 minutes ago, alta-pete said:

Agreed. And actually the worst are (well meaning) car drivers who, when I am out walking the dog and waiting to cross a busy junction, will randomly stop and beckon us across. Nae danger I'm taking them up on the offer, largely because you don't know who else is around and will decide to just go round them but, more importantly, the dog is being/has been (delete as appropriate) taught that cars are not to be messed with. He stays well clear until I decide the road is clear, there is no competing traffic and only then do we venture off the kerb.   

This is a pain in the arse now, the highway code changes being better publicised than the majority of the highway code means we've ended up in awkward situations where I'll see people about to cross and think "ah shit I should slow down and let them go" and they're probably either thinking "er ok thanks for that" or the flip side is bellends that just walk out in front of cars at junctions now expecting some 2 tonne car to stop dead. 

Speaking of walking out in front of cars I did so in a car park recently due to some bellend speeding, it was rather enjoyable feeling that glare and rage fixated on me.