Professional Referees in Scotland

• Replies 46
Posted

Referees are no worse here than anywhere else.

They're human they get things wrong in a split second decision.

We  complain about referees more than the average country probably because we've got fcuk all else to talk about most days.

Posted

I think the referees in Scotland are generally too prone to mistakes that cost clubs points. It affects all the clubs, not just the mistakes the referees make but the ones assistants make too.  The quality, and this is subjective I appreciate, has dropped and now we have the position where game after game contains mistakes that shouldn't be made. In England the referees do make mistakes but not anywhere to the same level or rather number of times. The English refs are better at their jobs generally. I can't believe that anyone would really argue with that and for the record I watch both English, (including games I actually go to) and Scottish (including games I actually go to).  

Posted
I think the referees in Scotland are generally too prone to mistakes that cost clubs points. It affects all the clubs, not just the mistakes the referees make but the ones assistants make too.  The quality, and this is subjective I appreciate, has dropped and now we have the position where game after game contains mistakes that shouldn't be made. In England the referees do make mistakes but not anywhere to the same level or rather number of times. The English refs are better at their jobs generally. I can't believe that anyone would really argue with that and for the record I watch both English, (including games I actually go to) and Scottish (including games I actually go to).  

I’d argue for every time you’ve got Michael Stewart/ Steven Thomson highlighting mistakes made by our officials, you’ve got c***s like Shearer/Dixon absolutely slating theirs.

Posted
14 minutes ago, topsider said:

I’d argue for every time you’ve got Michael Stewart/ Steven Thomson highlighting mistakes made by our officials, you’ve got c***s like Shearer/Dixon absolutely slating theirs.

I don't think so. Sometimes they do dispute mistakes but the level and consistency of mistakes in Scotland are a lot higher, hence the managers going bonkers week after week.

Posted

I've watched plenty games this season where players weren't booked for kicking the ball away at a free kick to stop opposing teams taking a quick 1.

I'd started to ask when the rule got changed but nobody seemed to know. 

A few months ago I watched Craig Thompson book a player for doing this and to make things more inconsistent he had ignored many other players doing it.

Referees just seem to do as they please where I thought they were there to uphold the laws of the game.

Book players in the 1st minute who boot the ball away and block quick free kicks. Watch as the rest know they won't get away with it.

Don't just do it as a token gesture late on when it's too late to make a difference.

Posted
I don't think so. Sometimes they do dispute mistakes but the level and consistency of mistakes in Scotland are a lot higher, hence the managers going bonkers week after week.

Exactly what you just said could be levelled at players too.

For what it’s worth I do agree that refs down south are probably better all round. But not by much. They are full time professionals though. They should be better.

Which brings us back on topic. I think our refs should be full time. Right now these guys work a 9-5 job then try and fit a couple of gym sessions in during the week. The refs have one training session per week (not mandatory). How can we expect them to keep pace with players who nowadays are 24/7 athletes?

I know a lot of refs have decent jobs with decent pay, teachers, policemen, solicitors. But if we are ever in a position to get them full time I’d say take it or leave it. The ones who want to remain part time can referee the part time teams.

Posted
40 minutes ago, topsider said:

Exactly what you just said could be levelled at players too.

For what it’s worth I do agree that refs down south are probably better all round. But not by much. They are full time professionals though. They should be better.

Which brings us back on topic. I think our refs should be full time. Right now these guys work a 9-5 job then try and fit a couple of gym sessions in during the week. The refs have one training session per week (not mandatory). How can we expect them to keep pace with players who nowadays are 24/7 athletes?

I know a lot of refs have decent jobs with decent pay, teachers, policemen, solicitors. But if we are ever in a position to get them full time I’d say take it or leave it. The ones who want to remain part time can referee the part time teams.

Who is going to cover the cost of a pool of say 30 full time officials.

Posted
Who is going to cover the cost of a pool of say 30 full time officials.

It’s actually not that far fetched to be honest. As it has been stated before on this thread, refs already make quite a good living on a pay-per-game basis. The top officials probably earn £25k+ per season. How much would they want to go full time who knows.

If Scotland qualified for a tournament once in a while the SFA wouldn’t be as skint as it is.

Posted

I have been watching the Spurs game tonight and I have to say that even VAR has its issues, been a bit of a farce tonight. Not that our wee footballing backwater will get it anyway.

Posted

Complete pish.
Posted
8 hours ago, topsider said:

It’s actually not that far fetched to be honest. As it has been stated before on this thread, refs already make quite a good living on a pay-per-game basis. The top officials probably earn £25k+ per season. How much would they want to go full time who knows.

If Scotland qualified for a tournament once in a while the SFA wouldn’t be as skint as it is.

What relevance has your last statement got with covering full time officials salaries ?

Posted

I love it when a ref messes up and it advantages my team.  I'm a seething mess (until the end of the game) when it goes the other way.

All part of the game, and its imperfections are what makes the sport close to being perfect.  

Leave as is.  Mon the shit decisions.  Cos I don't want to live in a world where we clap referees.  

Posted
11 minutes ago, Nutz_the_Squirrel said:

I love it when a ref messes up and it advantages my team.  I'm a seething mess (until the end of the game) when it goes the other way.

All part of the game, and its imperfections are what makes the sport close to being perfect.  

Leave as is.  Mon the shit decisions.  Cos I don't want to live in a world where we clap referees.  

Yeah – poor decisions are a part of football. Great when they go your way, and a way to excuse a gubbing when they don't.

I don't think Dallas and Collum will be any better full-time. The very idea gives me the shivers.

Posted
16 hours ago, topsider said:

Our referees aren’t very good compared to who?

English refs? Nope, they get just as much wrong.

Spanish/Italian refs? Not for me. They infuriate me with giving fouls for every single slightest contact. More stoppages than sodding rugby!

Or French? Like the daft c*** who karate kicks players?

Maybe we think our refs aren’t very good because their jobs are f***ing impossible

This

Posted
What relevance has your last statement got with covering full time officials salaries ?

What’s hard to understand?

The more tournaments Scotland qualify for, the more money the SFA have. The more money the SFA have . . . Are you following ?
Posted
5 hours ago, topsider said:

What’s hard to understand?

The more tournaments Scotland qualify for, the more money the SFA have. The more money the SFA have . . . Are you following ?

The SFA don't pay the referees salaries, this is attained from the clubs do you follow ?

Posted
The SFA don't pay the referees salaries, this is attained from the clubs do you follow ?

Referees are employed by the SFA. The SFA pay the wages. When a referee checks his bank statements the payments say ‘SFA’.

It’s not bairns football where both teams give the ref 20 quid.

On topic, if officials were to go full time, the SFA would need to find the money. Not the clubs
Posted
4 minutes ago, topsider said:

Referees are employed by the SFA. The SFA pay the wages. When a referee checks his bank statements the payments say ‘SFA’.

It’s not bairns football where both teams give the ref 20 quid.

On topic, if officials were to go full time, the SFA would need to find the money. Not the clubs

The SFA invoice the clubs for duties rendered by SFA match officials , therefore it is actually the club's and not the SFA who pay their salaries, the SFA in this instance are merely the paymasters.

Posted
21 hours ago, printer said:

Complete pish.

Jesus, I think your argument falls down a little. How about the next time you use English and join the words, that way you'll not come across as a complete bellend! :thumsup2