The Ultimate Super Ayr Thread

9 hours ago, Coollestersmoothe said:

What’s Raiths secret this season? They seemed pretty run of the mill whenever I saw them last year. Looked a very good outfit tonight. 

From what I saw of Rovers last season they had a pretty good team and played nice stuff , but they had no punch up front . They have sorted that out in the summer and brought in some good player . Players that we couldn't get i.e Mullen . Not that I'm complaining on that one as Murphy is just as good . Ian Murray has been a good appointment but was sacked at St Mirren and couldn't get Airdrie up . So very much a chipped cup as they say, but it worked . Ayr fans should bear that in mind the next time we're looking for a new manager . Sometimes guys are just a perfect fit regardless of their CV's .

We haven't god all our shit in a pile yet as everyone knows but for sure its coming . Every month something  is done on the infrastructure front ,all of which will bring in sustainable revenue . Eventually the perfect storm will occur . Sometimes you just have to wait .

Always nice to see supporters of other clubs look on at yours enviously. Apologies this is probably a bit of a ramble.

There's been massive changes at Raith both on the pitch and off. It would be easy to say the new owners have just  chucked money at it but it simply isn't true and I'd be surprised if the budget is that far ahead of Ayr's and Partick's. This summer we've seen Brad Spencer, Jamie MacDonald and Tom Lang all leave who were on the now infamous McGlynn contracts with massive rises year on year. The board have also said that shifting out Ethan Ross on loan has balanced the books. It seems like McGlynn was given free reign under the previous regime to spend what he wanted and was a major concern when the new ownership took over. Even last year the budget was probably higher when you include the likes of Berra in the mix. Last summer Benedictus moved to Dunfermline for what the man himself said was life changing money. We've lost out on a few targets as well this year due to not being able to/not wanting to match wages such as Stanger who ended up at Ayr. 

There's also been a whole revamp of the club behind the scenes as has been alluded. We've got people who know what they're doing in the right roles. Our commercial revenue has gone up and if rumours are to be believed, we've already surpassed last seasons total on that side of things. Our social media output is getting record levels of engagement and is a level above most others, if not all in the division. They are providing outreach to the community which has been lacking for years - the free under 12 tickets a massive win. Even on the pitch, a lot of players have insisted that John Potter was a big factor in them signing and his role allows Murray to purely focus with on the pitch affairs (which won't suit every manager).

I don't think Ayr are a million miles away from being able to do what the Raith board are doing as you've got a passionate supporter as chairman who has already realised some of his deficiencies by hiring Mathie, it would probably just take a few more astute hires off the field. You'd imagine that side of things will be a priority once the stand is built. Obviously winning more games is an easy win to bring in a feelgood factor mind.

Tl;dr: there's been a load of changes at Raith on and off the field. Don't see why Ayr can't do the same.

50 minutes ago, Ex Machina said:

Always nice to see supporters of other clubs look on at yours enviously. Apologies this is probably a bit of a ramble.

There's been massive changes at Raith both on the pitch and off. It would be easy to say the new owners have just  chucked money at it but it simply isn't true and I'd be surprised if the budget is that far ahead of Ayr's and Partick's. This summer we've seen Brad Spencer, Jamie MacDonald and Tom Lang all leave who were on the now infamous McGlynn contracts with massive rises year on year. The board have also said that shifting out Ethan Ross on loan has balanced the books. It seems like McGlynn was given free reign under the previous regime to spend what he wanted and was a major concern when the new ownership took over. Even last year the budget was probably higher when you include the likes of Berra in the mix. Last summer Benedictus moved to Dunfermline for what the man himself said was life changing money. We've lost out on a few targets as well this year due to not being able to/not wanting to match wages such as Stanger who ended up at Ayr. 

There's also been a whole revamp of the club behind the scenes as has been alluded. We've got people who know what they're doing in the right roles. Our commercial revenue has gone up and if rumours are to be believed, we've already surpassed last seasons total on that side of things. Our social media output is getting record levels of engagement and is a level above most others, if not all in the division. They are providing outreach to the community which has been lacking for years - the free under 12 tickets a massive win. Even on the pitch, a lot of players have insisted that John Potter was a big factor in them signing and his role allows Murray to purely focus with on the pitch affairs (which won't suit every manager).

I don't think Ayr are a million miles away from being able to do what the Raith board are doing as you've got a passionate supporter as chairman who has already realised some of his deficiencies by hiring Mathie, it would probably just take a few more astute hires off the field. You'd imagine that side of things will be a priority once the stand is built. Obviously winning more games is an easy win to bring in a feelgood factor mind.

Tl;dr: there's been a load of changes at Raith on and off the field. Don't see why Ayr can't do the same.

Ayr United isn't the basket case some on Pie and Bovril would have you believe , our new £1 million plus stand will be ready for next season , plans  have been approved by the council for another building , on the stand/away end corner , housing a gym and community rooms for the local area to use , the car park has been done and the Hub has been up and running for a while now ,pouring its profits into the club coffers . The new stand will quadruple our hospitality income , it will also earn non Saturday monies doing business meetings , 21' birthdays etc etc . Rumours abound that the club will be buying the land behind the ground when the price is right and putting in training pitches and a home for the reserves and ladies team . On top of that we sold a player in the summer for a reported fee of £300,000 ,which has to be part of our business model . On the community side we have done outreach to the local schools etc ,open training sessions ,fun days and all that good stuff . So really not in a bad place off the pitch . On the pitch though is where things are not in the perfect fit category at this point , a young and fragile team is what we have at the moment . However I am confident we'll still be in the Championship next season  . So in the summer the whole playing operation will come under severe scrutiny , the amount of changes made will be a pointer to our direction of travel for the 24/25 season . We'll just have to wait an see . 

17 minutes ago, Dauntless said:

On the pitch though is where things are not in the perfect fit category at this point , a young and fragile team is what we have at the moment . However I am confident we'll still be in the Championship next season  . So in the summer the whole playing operation will come under severe scrutiny , the amount of changes made will be a pointer to our direction of travel for the 24/25 season . We'll just have to wait an see . 

What's it like having no short, medium or long-term memory?

20 minutes ago, Dauntless said:

Ayr United isn't the basket case some on Pie and Bovril would have you believe , our new £1 million plus stand will be ready for next season , plans  have been approved by the council for another building , on the stand/away end corner , housing a gym and community rooms for the local area to use , the car park has been done and the Hub has been up and running for a while now ,pouring its profits into the club coffers . The new stand will quadruple our hospitality income , it will also earn non Saturday monies doing business meetings , 21' birthdays etc etc . Rumours abound that the club will be buying the land behind the ground when the price is right and putting in training pitches and a home for the reserves and ladies team . On top of that we sold a player in the summer for a reported fee of £300,000 ,which has to be part of our business model . On the community side we have done outreach to the local schools etc ,open training sessions ,fun days and all that good stuff . So really not in a bad place off the pitch . On the pitch though is where things are not in the perfect fit category at this point , a young and fragile team is what we have at the moment . However I am confident we'll still be in the Championship next season  . So in the summer the whole playing operation will come under severe scrutiny , the amount of changes made will be a pointer to our direction of travel for the 24/25 season . We'll just have to wait an see . 

Absolutely no one has said we are a “basket case” off the park. That clearly isn’t the case, there are however improvements to be made in some areas - similar to what Raith have done. 

For example, as I’ve said on here before - our ticketing for children and young people is appalling. 

4 minutes ago, No_Problemo said:

Absolutely no one has said we are a “basket case” off the park. That clearly isn’t the case, there are however improvements to be made in some areas - similar to what Raith have done. 

For example, as I’ve said on here before - our ticketing for children and young people is appalling. 

There are various things that have been brushed over. A complete inability to offer a website / shop / highlights package which would be fit for the league below has been one. Staff turnover. The still far too precarious aspect of many of the club amenities being directly owned by the chairman, which is always fine at every club until the minute it isn't. A lottery in need of some WD-40 for the tombola so it stops churning out such perfectly random sequences as 1-2-3-4.

That said, all of those things are basically operational issues. FInancially the club is on fine footing and revenue will steeply increase when the new stand is open. The problem is that of the various ways that a well-run club becomes financially unsound, one is allowing the idiot manager to continue to accumulate pish players on high wages.

13 hours ago, Coollestersmoothe said:

What’s Raiths secret this season? They seemed pretty run of the mill whenever I saw them last year. Looked a very good outfit tonight. 

Raith were the best footballing side I saw last season.  The only snag was that they had no goal threat.  They’ve fixed that and seem to have got Vaughan back to a decent level of fitness as well.  They seem to have targeted quality in areas where they were deficient, which contrasts heavily with our absolute scattergun approach to recruitment.  

I don't see why we should have a inferitare complex with the likes of raith rovers,just like last season with us or with arbroath the season previous the team who is the big R fae the spl are always favourites to go back up which makes the the other 9 playing for the top 3 spots in the lge,if we could just get the home results right we will be ok.

Nobody would care about the off-the-park stuff if the team on the park was any good. Unfortunately, we are flirting with relegation and churning out eye-bleeding football so all of the off-field stuff is under a magnifying glass. 

Ultimately in fans eyes the most important thing in a football club is the results on the park. If things are going well on the park then club wouldn’t be criticised for things off the park which are happening. 

ETA: Beaten to it by @Shibuya

Edited by ayrunitedfw

1 hour ago, Shibuya said:

Nobody would care about the off-the-park stuff if the team on the park was any good. Unfortunately, we are flirting with relegation and churning out eye-bleeding football so all of the off-field stuff is under a magnifying glass. 

Aye we were a far bigger shambles off the park during the McCall era but people can forgive that when the team is winning games. 

Both sides are equally important but fans are well within their rights to focus more on what they see on a Saturday. 

4 minutes ago, muZZa__44 said:

My assumption it’s a 4-2-3-1 with McGeady playing the CAM role behind Dowds

Albinson

McAllister Musonda McGinty Reading

McGeady Syla Dempsey Murphy

Amartey Dowds

Most likely this