Theunchosen1 Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 So 5/6 games in and we have the early pace setters.. Bonnyton and Stranraer reserves tied at the top with 100% records and equal goal difference. Anyone fancy them to stay up there for the rest of the season? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr Kirkcudbright Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 Stranraer will run away wae it at a canter is that what ye want tae here you being a fan cos that’s the only reason you put the post up yer posts on the Stranraer site are class anaw aye yer up there enjoy it there a decent team but they’ve had a nice fixture start it will get harder, gid 11 no much after that Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FairWeatherFan Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 Bonnyton seemed to have a bright start last year in their debut season. With a year's experience under their belts I wonder if they will drop off or are better prepared to mount a title challenge. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Billy XBoswell Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 Although I follow Bonnyton I don’t think we can take anything for granted because if you remember Lochar Thistle also got off to a flyer beginning of last season and fell away I was talking to a couple of Lochmaben guys today & we agreed that it will be interesting to see where teams are after Xmas I'm being a wee bit naive here but (Looking forward) can Stranraer bring in some “Big Guns” for certain fixtures or are they limited to what they have played/listed? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DG.Roma Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 Unless there's been a change Stranraer and Annan can use 1st team players, but they don't tend to. Their 1st team squads are pretty thin so I can't imagine they would send players down for "big" South League games. You might see some guys coming back from injury though. A difference with Stranraer this season is that they don't have a team in the U20s Development/Reserve leagues like they did last season. That team seemed to house most of their central belt based fringe players and played their home games in Renfrew & Ayrshire. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Billy XBoswell Posted September 9, 2018 Share Posted September 9, 2018 October will be an interesting month as Bonnyton play: Threave away Uppers away Stranraer home Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theunchosen1 Posted September 9, 2018 Author Share Posted September 9, 2018 15 hours ago, Mr Kirkcudbright said: Stranraer will run away wae it at a canter is that what ye want tae here you being a fan cos that’s the only reason you put the post up yer posts on the Stranraer site are class anaw aye yer up there enjoy it there a decent team but they’ve had a nice fixture start it will get harder, gid 11 no much after that I’ve only seen one of their games this season (v saints) and thought they looked better than last year. Stranraer v Bonnyton at the end of October should be interesting. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reserves Posted September 10, 2018 Share Posted September 10, 2018 Stranraer team has no first team players won’t have any first team players. They also don’t have any boys from the “glasgow Team” from last season. 2 boys have signed 1 from hurlford and 1 from Creetown. Apart from that exact same team as last season Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superbigal Posted September 15, 2018 Share Posted September 15, 2018 Teams done well against the eos and ll 8 defeats combined scores of 53-5 but I really need a calculator. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeredbook Posted September 15, 2018 Share Posted September 15, 2018 15 minutes ago, superbigal said: Teams done well against the eos and ll 8 defeats combined scores of 53-5 but I really need a calculator. And you are surprised ? . Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HibeeJibee Posted September 16, 2018 Share Posted September 16, 2018 League leaders Bonnyton losing at home to Preston and Mid Annandale getting thumped at Edinburgh Utd surprised me, tbf. Otherwise the victors and losers weren't unexpected - indeed Newton Stewart lost to Coldstream only a few weeks ago in Scottish Cup - albeit some of the margins were eye-watering. In a similar vein it wasn't shocking to see Sauchie beat Dalbeattie, Musselburgh beat Gala or Jeanfield beat Vale of Leithen. LTHV defeating Spartans was surprising, though. Threave alone proceed into Last 32. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Billy XBoswell Posted September 16, 2018 Share Posted September 16, 2018 To be honest the Preston result flattered them as we were the better team by far but unfortunately it is the full time result that counts 2nd goal was a very soft penalty... player conned the young ref 3rd was miles offside but yet we had no linesmen allocated for our game yet again (none allocated so far for any of our home games!!!) We hit crossbar twice plus Preston Goalie also made two magnificent saves But hey ho, on to the next game & all the best to Preston Athletic in next round Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...