Jump to content

You are the ref.


superbigal

Recommended Posts

So if a defender stops a net bound shot from entering the goal he is red carded and a penalty is awarded.

I do not believe the rule has any amendments. Ie if said defender could have saved the ball easily by heading it instead of saving with his hands.

 

So what happens if the goalkeeper stops a passback that is moving directly towards the goal with his hands ?

Is he not also denying an obvious goalscoring opportunity (albeit own goal) ?

Does he get a red card and a penalty awarded ?

Or is it just a free kick for handling a passback?

Does it matter if its such a poor passback that he actually has to tip it over the bar with a flying save ?

As against being an idiot and picking up a long passback on the edge of the penalty box (where with no intervention the ball would still enter the goal for an og) ?

 

Anyone know of any actual incidents ?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 10/09/2018 at 07:44, superbigal said:

 

So if a defender stops a net bound shot from entering the goal he is red carded and a penalty is awarded.

I do not believe the rule has any amendments. Ie if said defender could have saved the ball easily by heading it instead of saving with his hands.

 

So what happens if the goalkeeper stops a passback that is moving directly towards the goal with his hands ?

Is he not also denying an obvious goalscoring opportunity (albeit own goal) ?

Does he get a red card and a penalty awarded ?

Or is it just a free kick for handling a passback?

Does it matter if its such a poor passback that he actually has to tip it over the bar with a flying save ?

As against being an idiot and picking up a long passback on the edge of the penalty box (where with no intervention the ball would still enter the goal for an og) ?

 

Anyone know of any actual incidents ?

 

Scenarios like that get discussed when you are going through your ref's course these days.

I think, and I might not be remembering it fully right, but a goalie can only be penalised for handball in the box with an indirect free kick. And it should only be a booking.

There was some interesting questions when I did mine:

1. If a GK kicks the ball from a Goal Kick directly into his own goal, what is your decision?

2. Defender stops a pass from the opposite team dead with his foot inside his own box. His GK runs out and picks up the ball. Is it a passback?

3. What is your Orange Lodge Membership number Brother?

4. If Iain Brines is refereeing a Celtic v Rangers game, how angry will he be when he realises he can't send off all 22 players?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1.Denying a goalscoring opportunity is only an offence if it's deliberate handball or does not involve attempting to play the ball, neither of which the goalkeeper is doing. Indirect free-kick

2. Re-take goal kick

3. No pass to the goalkeeper is involved- play on.

4. I don't disclose that without the proper handshake.

5. Hopefully angry enough to start a riot.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...