Slovakia v Scotland - 15/11

TheScarf

No
For qualifying, 10 group winners go through. 10 runners up go into the play-offs. 2 best Nations League finishers not in the 10/10 also go into the play offs.
There's a good chance we will but the scenario that sees us not is:
Say we're ranked 20th in NL. Two teams ranked lower than 20th finish top 2 in their group. 2 teams ranked higher than 20th in NL don't. Those two teams would then get the extra play-off spots.

If we were to get promoted then surely we CANNOT be ranked 20th? As there are only 16 teams in the top league.

14 minutes ago, Gordon EF said:

The trick to getting a Nations League based play-offs is either be in League D with the diddies (for the Euros) or failing that just be as highly ranked as fucking possible, basically.

South Ireland going for that tactic IMO.

The trick to getting a Nations League based play-offs is either be in League D with the diddies (for the Euros) or failing that just be as highly ranked as fucking possible, basically.

With league D being cut to 7 teams, I reckon the league D spot will be binned next time to make way for an automatic hosts qualifying spot. NAP that euro 2024 qualification will be 20 from the groups, league A-C playoff winners and one host

7 minutes ago, Donathan said:

With league D being cut to 7 teams, I reckon the league D spot will be binned next time to make way for an automatic hosts qualifying spot. NAP that euro 2024 qualification will be 20 from the groups, league A-C playoff winners and one host

Aye, good point.

I loved that proper wee minnows were given something to play for this time. It'd be a shame to see that go.

Marshall

Palmer Cooper Mckenna Considine Taylor

McLean Jack 

Armstrong Griffiths Mcginn

Sub McGinn at halftime.

I think he'll change it big style and get the big sexy hero hitters back in for Israel. We'll draw 0-0. Israel will get pumped. Theyre due a pumping by us.

No
For qualifying, 10 group winners go through. 10 runners up go into the play-offs. 2 best Nations League finishers not in the 10/10 also go into the play offs.
There's a good chance we will but the scenario that sees us not is:
Say we're ranked 20th in NL. Two teams ranked lower than 20th finish top 2 in their group. 2 teams ranked higher than 20th in NL don't. Those two teams would then get the extra play-off spots.

It's the two best Nations League group WINNERS, not just the two best ranked sides.

1 hour ago, Gordon EF said:

Aye, good point.

I loved that proper wee minnows were given something to play for this time. It'd be a shame to see that go.

They'd rather listen to the knicker-wetters that would rather watch two of the bigger sides pass endlessly between each other and finish 0-0 than a diddy madly swinging at anything that moves.  It'll be a big shame if they drop that spot.

This is confusing. Here's what it says on wiki:

The Nations League will be partially linked with European qualification for the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar, with the format confirmed by the UEFA Executive Committee during their meeting in Nyon, Switzerland on 4 December 2019.[7][8] The qualifying structure will depend on results from the Nations League, although to a lesser degree than the UEFA Euro 2020 qualifying play-offs. The ten group winners after the first round (group stage) will qualify directly for the World Cup. Then, the second round (play-offs) will be contested by the ten group runners-up, along with the best two Nations League group winners, based on the Nations League overall ranking, that finished outside the top two of their qualifying group.[9] The play-offs will be split into three play-off paths, played in two single-match knockout rounds (semi-finals and finals, with the home teams to be drawn), from which an additional three teams will also qualify.[2]

So I think we would have to win the group to get into the playoffs, but the trade-off is a better shot at Pot 2 seeding for the WC qualifiers if we get promoted?

These two matches could have quite a big bearing on the next 4 years for Scotland.

We need to win the group for it to be any use for World Cup play-offs, but we also want to be the best group winner in League B. If we are, then as long as at least three of the four group winners in League A qualify as normal for the World Cup, we'll get one of the two play-off places. 

So as much fun as it would be to treat this game as a warm-down, winning it might be the difference between making the World Cup play-offs and not. We need to aim for two wins.

Getting into League A doesn't mean anything for the World Cup, but it means a lot for Euro 2024 play-offs. It also gives us a few bigger ties that will fill Hampden and bring in more of the TV money. And even after that, the lowest we could fall to would be League B, giving us more opportunities for play offs.

Most of the football media had no idea how important the Nations League could be, but they should bloody well know now!

IMG_9991.jpg

This from Wikipedia probably explains it best. The highest placed Nations League group winners who do not finish in the top two of their World Cup qualifying group, will take the two play-off spots available to NL group winners.

So first and foremost we need to win our group. The four winners from League A get first dibs but you’d expect them all to at least finish top 2 in their qualifying groups (currently Poland, Belgium, Spain, Portugal).

So it goes onto League B, where we are. Assuming we do win the group, it really is in our interest to win it as well as possible as we compete with the other League B winners. Here’s the current order.

IMG_9992.jpg

Assuming all in League A finish in the top two of Qualifying, we currently have first dibs on a play-off spot, leading Wales on goals scored. Wales, Austria and Russia are all pot 2 for the qualifiers and thus may expect to finish top two in their group, in any case.

Where it could get dicey however is the teams currently in second position in their groups. Norway (pot 3) and Finland (pot 4) would, draw dependent, maybe not expect to finish top 2 in qualifying. If they won their groups, and won them with more points than us, they might get the first dibs.

So, firstly we have to win the group for this to be relevant. And ideally win it well - two draws would definitely win the group, but might see us third or fourth in the queue for a WC play-off. If it’s Russia and Wales ahead of us, it might work out fine. Norway and Finland? Maybe less so. So important to keep an eye on all League B results over the next week or so.

32 minutes ago, John Lambies Doos said:
36 minutes ago, Donathan said:

Does that not mean promotion is bad for our chances then?

Nope, because I'd imagine most teams in Group A will qualify automatically or make qualification play offs. If we had to rely on nations league as a route we would no doubt be playing a play off against lower rank teams.

It is not difficult, wherever we finish we will play Israel.