Arthur Orton Posted December 10, 2020 Share Posted December 10, 2020 Good afternoon, I'm just sitting here having a bool of soup and considering how much I enjoy soup. So much variery, so many flavours. I'm currently having a Baxters Lentil & Bacon which is sublime and I've gradually departed Heinz as I indulge in more Baxters. My favourite though still has to be a bowl of my mums home made soup, nothing can beat it. There are few few flavours I don't like though mushroom can get in the sea as can French Onion. Anytime I'm out I will always indulge in a bowl of soup for my starter. My favourites would be the old classics, broth, lentil, chicken but I so enjoy the chinese and thai ones, the hotter the better. I mind returning from India and my first meal back at my local Indian asking the waiter what soups they had, expecting a hearty mix of Asian delight only to be hit with Tomato, Oxtail, Chicken etc. Marvellous. Anyway what do you all think about soup, what's your favourite, what don't you like about it etc etc 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bairnardo Posted December 10, 2020 Share Posted December 10, 2020 Ramen etc are fucking great but they walk the line between soup, and full blown meal that's a bit wet.... Home made soup is the absolute tatties though. Like you I dont particularly like Mushroom soup, and there are some that taste good but somewhat defeat the purpose of being hearty but also healthy, like French onion, or cream of chicken. For me, soup should be a delivery system for an ungodly volume of nutricion/vitamins etc. The type that gives your body a fright if consumed when at a low ebb. 7 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Granny Danger Posted December 10, 2020 Share Posted December 10, 2020 Mrs Granny does a lovely lentil soup with tatties and beef. -1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
invergowrie arab Posted December 10, 2020 Share Posted December 10, 2020 I make all my own soup. Usually just simple lentil and veg or leek and potato. For a tinned soup a Heinz chicken or tomato with a squirt of siracha is outstanding 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smpar Posted December 10, 2020 Share Posted December 10, 2020 (edited) Soup and a sandwich (not just slices of bread) is a delightful combination. Just a shame that a lot of middle class garden centre-type places tend to charge £24.80 for the privilege. Edited December 10, 2020 by smpar 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rizzo Posted December 10, 2020 Share Posted December 10, 2020 I quite like making my own soups so my go-to's are vegetable broth, leek and tattie and spicy tomato. I try to include a ton of fresh veg in an attempt to atone for all the other crap I eat. 5 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tight minge Posted December 10, 2020 Share Posted December 10, 2020 (edited) Always loved thick vegetable soups and lentil when I lived at home. A good mushroom soup is fantastic. Borscht is probably the best some to come from Europe. For Thai, most variations of Tom Yam are good, but Tom Yam Kathi is by far the best. Pho Ba from Vietnam is great and Indonesian Bakso a little behind. The best soup by far is Indonesian Sayur Asam. Generally Chinese soups are watery pish. ETA: How could I forget pumpkin soup. Soup is the business Edited December 10, 2020 by Tight minge 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thereisalight.. Posted December 10, 2020 Share Posted December 10, 2020 I used to enjoy soup and crusty bread as an evening meal every week! Now I only tend to have it as a takeaway from cafes. Can’t be done with tinned soups as I find them to be too watery. Faves would be cream of mushroom, cream of tomato, leek and potato, cream of leek, carrot and coriander, spicy lentil, cream of broccoli, broccoli and Stilton 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
velo army Posted December 10, 2020 Share Posted December 10, 2020 Like my Arab chum a few posts up I only ever make my own soup from scratch. A huge pot of lentil soup with spices (and loads of carrots and the occasional tattie) does me for days. I can't recommend that enough tbh, just freeze the rest and microwave when required. It takes very little time too. Just chopping the veg, frying it up a bit, adding lentils and stock and boil for about 30mins. Nae bother. A wee blended soupie with parsnip and ginger is an utter treat too (although I have a decent harvest of celeriac that I could sub for that ). For a hearty b*****d you cannae beat Cullen Skink though. Ooft. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scotty Tunbridge Posted December 10, 2020 Share Posted December 10, 2020 Baxter’s soup is very watery IMOI had a bowl of chicken soup recently and realised it is quite stinking when I actually enjoy it as a child. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bairnardo Posted December 10, 2020 Share Posted December 10, 2020 Blended or chunky? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moomintroll Posted December 10, 2020 Share Posted December 10, 2020 Not a major soup person but butternut squash & ginger is excellent. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melanius Mullarkey Posted December 10, 2020 Share Posted December 10, 2020 Tinned soup, on the whole, is generally shite compared to what you can do at home. My lentil soup is head and shoulder (yes thats the secret ingredient) above any tinned shite. As is my hen broth, cream of leek and other family favourites. Tattie soup (made with brisket) with a decent oatcake (Stockans btw) will put the proverbial hairs on your chest on days like today. Fin. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
johnnydun Posted December 10, 2020 Share Posted December 10, 2020 Mrs Johnnydun does a fantastic Carrot and Coriander and a superb Stilton and Broccoli soup. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacksgranda Posted December 10, 2020 Share Posted December 10, 2020 (edited) I like soup, too, although I don't have it as a starter when eating out anymore as it tends to fill me up and I have no room for pudding. My mum made great soup which was nearly a meal in itself, along with bannocks it was great. I could eat most tinned soups, Baxters are good but we usually end up with Heinz. (It's my own fault as I usually did the shopping pre COVID, Heinz must have been strategically placed on the shelves). Some tinned soups can be a bit watery, minestrone, onion soup for example, but Heinz tomato soup wouldn't be in that category. Edited December 10, 2020 by Jacksgranda Sleppnig 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
paranoid android Posted December 10, 2020 Share Posted December 10, 2020 Home-made lentil soup is the boy. Seems you can NEVER get decent lentil soup in a can. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hedgecutter Posted December 10, 2020 Share Posted December 10, 2020 (edited) Best: The Glebe Park home-made soup. F*** knows what it's made from (it's just "soup" on the menu), and I don't really care tbh. Bound to be lentil-based, perhaps some carrot in there. Eta: Baxter's spicy parsnip needs an honourable mention. Edited December 10, 2020 by Hedgecutter 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miguel Sanchez Posted December 10, 2020 Share Posted December 10, 2020 I have recently discovered that this still exists: 50p a can in Asda and it's so thick that with even half a can of water added it's basically a stew. Outstanding stuff. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gus Setsniffer Posted December 10, 2020 Share Posted December 10, 2020 1 hour ago, Tynierose said: Good afternoon, I'm just sitting here having a bool of soup and considering how much I enjoy soup. So much variery, so many flavours. I'm currently having a Baxters Lentil & Bacon which is sublime and I've gradually departed Heinz as I indulge in more Baxters. My favourite though still has to be a bowl of my mums home made soup, nothing can beat it. There are few few flavours I don't like though mushroom can get in the sea as can French Onion. Anytime I'm out I will always indulge in a bowl of soup for my starter. My favourites would be the old classics, broth, lentil, chicken but I so enjoy the chinese and thai ones, the hotter the better. I mind returning from India and my first meal back at my local Indian asking the waiter what soups they had, expecting a hearty mix of Asian delight only to be hit with Tomato, Oxtail, Chicken etc. Marvellous. Anyway what do you all think about soup, what's your favourite, what don't you like about it etc etc i used to like Baxters Scotch Broth, recently though, it just doesn't taste the same. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arch Stanton Posted December 10, 2020 Share Posted December 10, 2020 2 minutes ago, Gus Setsniffer said: i used to like Baxters Scotch Broth, recently though, it just doesn't taste the same. How's your sense of smell? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...