G'Day! Ange's Gap Year Celtic Euro Backpacking Tour 2021/22.

16 minutes ago, kingjoey said:

Of the twelve players used in the ECWC Cup Final, three were signed from other clubs. Gordon Strachan, signed by Billy McNeill, Mark McGhee, signed for free by Alex Ferguson and Peter Weir, signed by Alex Ferguson for £300,000 plus Ian Scanlan. Of the unused subs, Stuart Kennedy was signed by Ally McLeod for £30,000.

But Dundee Utd were a better team to watch.

34 minutes ago, kingjoey said:

Of the twelve players used in the ECWC Cup Final, three were signed from other clubs. Gordon Strachan, signed by Billy McNeill, Mark McGhee, signed for free by Alex Ferguson and Peter Weir, signed by Alex Ferguson for £300,000 plus Ian Scanlan. Of the unused subs, Stuart Kennedy was signed by Ally McLeod for £30,000.

Thank you. The point I’m making is the outlay on those players was much less than what Archibald was sold to Spurs for. 

1 minute ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

This thread has taken a strange turn.

I’ve just caught up with the extended match highlights and I have to say the performance of Celtic’s full back Johnston is one of the worst defensive performances I’ve ever seen at this level.

I'm glad Lino didn't have too many minutes in the two games it could've been worse for Johnston,one good night one very bad night maybe even ugly.

11 minutes ago, willywastecoat said:

I'm glad Lino didn't have too many minutes in the two games it could've been worse for Johnston,one good night one very bad night maybe even ugly.

Thundering into tackles vs Rangers and hopping about in a moon-boot will certainly endear him to the Celtic fans but that performance was more in line with what I remember from him at the 2022 World Cup.

13 minutes ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

Thundering into tackles vs Rangers and hopping about in a moon-boot will certainly endear him to the Celtic fans but that performance was more in line with what I remember from him at the 2022 World Cup.

It's been a very strange start to the season Hatate is mince and Johnston hasn't kicked on saying it's disappointing is an understatement wee man.

8 minutes ago, willywastecoat said:

It's been a very strange start to the season Hatate is mince and Johnston hasn't kicked on saying it's disappointing is an understatement wee man.

Is Hatate not injured and at the start of the season BR favoured Turnbull in that position. Bit harsh to say he’s mince imo.

Perhaps Postecoglu was able to squeeze a bit more out of Johnstone due to his reputed brilliant man management skills and now that you don’t have a manager with that level of ability he’s reverted to type ?

2 minutes ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

Is Hatate not injured and at the start of the season BR favoured Turnbull in that position. Bit harsh to say he’s mince imo.

Perhaps Postecoglu was able to squeeze a bit more out of Johnstone due to his reputed brilliant man management skills and now that you don’t have a manager with that level of ability he’s reverted to type ?

Ange is a better manager than St Brendan imo but the player has to step up tae wee man,Hatate hasn't started the season yet it's fecking November.
I don't like giving players excuses but Johnston didn't have a pre-season which maybe has halted his progress... but it's fecking November.

42 minutes ago, willywastecoat said:

Ange is a better manager than St Brendan imo but the player has to step up tae wee man,Hatate hasn't started the season yet it's fecking November.
I don't like giving players excuses but Johnston didn't have a pre-season which maybe has halted his progress... but it's fecking November.

Postecoglu stood up to Lawell Junior and Senior and brought in players who he wanted at Celtic. He was effectively running the whole football department.

Lawell has brought in a manager who’s effectively a patsy and is working with players that Lawell Jnr has identified and signed. It’s no co-incidence that after 3 strong transfer windows, there’s not 1 player in the last one that can be called a success.

24 minutes ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

Postecoglu stood up to Lawell Junior and Senior and brought in players who he wanted at Celtic. He was effectively running the whole football department.

Lawell has brought in a manager who’s effectively a patsy and is working with players that Lawell Jnr has identified and signed. It’s no co-incidence that after 3 strong transfer windows, there’s not 1 player in the last one that can be called a success.

I said at the start of the season Celtic were in a regressing cyclical,your in the know workings are nonsense wee man,first Palma is and has been a success.
Personally i couldn't careless about the people that are off the park plus I don't care about how much dosh is in the bank.
The market is inflated with no value on offer so I understand the signing policy of Celtic.
For me Celtic should be pushing the next gen into the team but we have a manager that won't do that plus we have a support that won't accept it.
The glass ceiling has been hit and it's obvious to me where we are going, i don't play the blame game or point the finger at an individual,the club has a choice.

2 hours ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

This thread has taken a strange turn.

I’ve just caught up with the extended match highlights and I have to say the performance of Celtic’s full back Johnston is one of the worst defensive performances I’ve ever seen at this level.

2 hours ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

I thought he was decent at the world cup considering but he hasn't been the same player yet since coming back from injury. Both are first choice full backs have been pretty rotten compared to last season

55 minutes ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

Lawwell  Senior was away as ceo by the time Postecoglu turned up iirc. I don't think the likes of McCarthy, Scales etc were Postecoglu signings but his initial ones especially from the Asian market allowed them to trust his judgement more. The last transfer window was strange, we spent a fair bit of cash but other than maybe Nawrocki replacing Starfelt none of the ones we had signed were really seen as being first team picks and more to compete and strengthen the squad.

Edited by gannonball

30 minutes ago, willywastecoat said:

I said at the start of the season Celtic were in a regressing cyclical,your in the know workings are nonsense wee man,first Palma is and has been a success.
Personally i couldn't careless about the people that are off the park plus I don't care about how much dosh is in the bank.
The market is inflated with no value on offer so I understand the signing policy of Celtic.
For me Celtic should be pushing the next gen into the team but we have a manager that won't do that plus we have a support that won't accept it.
The glass ceiling has been hit and it's obvious to me where we are going, i don't play the blame game or point the finger at an individual,the club has a choice.

I worded parts of that badly. Palma has looked ok but I think he’s a downgrade on Jota.

6 minutes ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

I worded parts of that badly. Palma has looked ok but I think he’s a downgrade on Jota.

Jota who,Palma's goal against Atletico was brilliant,when you say downgrade what do you judge that on,you have a bigger sample size of Jota's time at Celtic to choose from you can only say that or compare that when Palma is done at Celtic.

Just now, willywastecoat said:

Jota who,Palma's goal against Atletico was brilliant,when you say downgrade what do you judge that on,you have a bigger sample size of Jota's time at Celtic to choose from you can only say that or compare that when Palma is done at Celtic.

I said ‘I think’ - it’s my opinion that’s all.  Have a good Saturday.