Darvel FC Thread

2 hours ago, glensmad said:

That's a surprise, as they have the facility for a radio mic to be used at pitchside, I do it for the WoSFL finals.

For the South Challenge Cup Final there were announcements made from the control room at the top of the stand.

It's not as big an issue for myself compared to others as I know exactly who's out there on the pitch having watched these guys up close and personal for years against my team but for guys just heading to watch a game of football at random then the least they could have done was tannoy the team lineups and announced goalscorers , both darvel goals went in at what would be " the North stand ' end if there was one and I never had a clue who scored both darvels goals and had to actually look at twitter to find out as the goals were too far away from me In my seat in the south stand .

3 hours ago, Spyro said:

It always plays slow when it's dry. You would think someone would hose it down before games (and at half time) to liven it up a bit as its not a bad surface

It's a pity that there was no Clydebank fans at the game. Their tears would have kept it well watered.

2 hours ago, Eadie is God said:

There was even some diddy walking around with a chain round his neck like a lord provost 😂

That'll be the chain of office that your Matt Bampot strutted around with before he stabbed the Juniors in the front.

4 hours ago, Thejackdaw said:

Totally get pitch maintenance etc but if there was ever a ground ideal for the Scottish cup final it would be st mirren Park, lovely grass surface   , 4 stands for segregation and St James train station a goalie kick away from the ground. 

St Mirren Park would be ideal for majority of West teams that are likely to contest the final unless a East team gets to the final then Cumbernauld / Falkirk would be fairer.

5 hours ago, clansman said:

Given the pyrotechnics that got into Hampden for the cup final and someone cuffing themselves to the goals at the international, the police and the security firms for all stadia need to getting spoken to. Clearly if you can get this stuff in more dangerous stuff could get in as well.

The circumstances of the Hampden goals will come out but its absolutely ridiculous to blame the police for it and you’ll understand that when it does and becomes apparent where the fault lies. 
As for pyro at Hampden, again searches at the turnstiles are supposed to be the role of the security staff. The only way pyro/sectarian singing and stuff like that stops in Scotland is a strict liability act which closes stands etc if disorder occurs and allows law abiding clubs to sell lager etc. 

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Shannon said:

St Mirren Park would be ideal for majority of West teams that are likely to contest the final unless a East team gets to the final then Cumbernauld / Falkirk would be fairer.

Think the schedule for relaying / doing work on grass surfaces is quite tight now. That probably rules most out nowadays. Most finals end up at Broadwood, New Douglas, Rugby Park, Livingston, Falkirk and Shiteberry for a good reason these days. 

Edited by BANKIEBILL

5 hours ago, Casper Wilson said:

That'll be the chain of office that your Matt Bampot strutted around with before he stabbed the Juniors in the front.

Resigned his position because he understood there was a conflict of interest.

3 hours ago, BANKIEBILL said:

Think the schedule for relaying / doing work on grass surfaces is quite tight now. That probably rules most out nowadays. Most finals end up at Broadwood, New Douglas, Rugby Park, Livingston, Falkirk and Shiteberry for a good reason these days. 

Shiteberry? That's a shocker from a man in your so called position  . You should be showing far more class than that and rising above surely?

Hardly likely given we’re not in it along with the East of Scotland.

So start it up again,simple.

1 hour ago, Eadie is God said:

Matt Bamford stabbed the Juniors in the front 😂

Piss off back then.

Oh the tears are flowing.

17 hours ago, Casper Wilson said:

3,500 made it.

Beaten by two Women's finals this season and that's allowing for Scottish Women's fitba being run by fellow morons. Who sends two teams from Glasgow to play a League Cup Final in Edinburgh.

What the e*f is it with Scottish Blazers.

2 hours ago, PossilYM said:

Beaten by two Women's finals this season and that's allowing for Scottish Women's fitba being run by fellow morons. Who sends two teams from Glasgow to play a League Cup Final in Edinburgh.

What the e*f is it with Scottish Blazers.

They pick stadia which lay on a decent purvey.

17 hours ago, FairWeatherFan said:

Resigned his position because he understood there was a conflict of interest.

It's not a big surprise that he'd put that spin on it. Even less of a surprise that you lot would fall for it.