Redgold Posted April 30, 2022 Share Posted April 30, 2022 Who has ever been to Vietnam? Especially to Hanoi. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hard Graft Posted April 30, 2022 Share Posted April 30, 2022 Did a tour a good few years ago. Several nights in Hanoi, couple of nights in Ha Long Bay and then down to Ho Chi Ming City. Absolutely fabulous country, great food and people very friendly. Have revisited the country several times. Hanoi is or was quite communist feeling compared to the south. Much to see and a fascinating culture. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redgold Posted April 30, 2022 Author Share Posted April 30, 2022 1 hour ago, Hard Graft said: Did a tour a good few years ago. Several nights in Hanoi, couple of nights in Ha Long Bay Same here - but I was not to Saigon. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tight minge Posted April 30, 2022 Share Posted April 30, 2022 Used to live in Vietnam, all be it 12 years ago. Fantastic country, with great food, weather, beaches and people. Q1 in Ho Chi Minh is pretty much over commercialised now, the centre of Hanoi getting a bit the same, but still some great spots. Always worthwhile renting a motorbike and getting out and about and finding some great spots. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
paul-r-cfc Posted May 26, 2022 Share Posted May 26, 2022 Favourite country I've ever been to.Much preferred Hanoi to HCM. Not quite as full on commercial and a bit more authentic. Hoi An was probably the highlight though. Lovely wee place.First thing you need to do on arrival is very quickly learn the technique for crossing roads as nobody is stopping for you! 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Halbeath Raith Rover Posted June 23, 2022 Share Posted June 23, 2022 I was there in 2014 myself for 10 nights. Hanoi was superb, had an old school feel to it. Got speaking to a student wanting to practice their english, ended up going on a local service bus out to some nearby villages. Good food and drink options in Hanoi. Hoi An was superb. Great beach and really chilled. Nha Trang was a really commercial beachy place with much less charm. Ho Chi Minh is ugly and bustling, but I really liked it. The War Museum and Independence Palace were both good. Beer is cheap, weather is great, people pretgy friendly, currency is dong.. great place overall 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richey Edwards Posted June 24, 2022 Share Posted June 24, 2022 On 30/04/2022 at 10:32, Redgold said: Who has ever been to Vietnam? John McCain. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redgold Posted June 24, 2022 Author Share Posted June 24, 2022 I loved the Pho soup! 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazy Days Posted June 24, 2022 Share Posted June 24, 2022 7 hours ago, Richey Edwards said: John McCain. His flight suit is on display in the jail known as the Hanoi Hilton. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kmc dafc Posted June 25, 2022 Share Posted June 25, 2022 13 hours ago, Redgold said: I loved the Pho soup! Bún chả is far superior to phở. Chả cá is another great dish worth trying. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theroadlesstravelled Posted July 25, 2022 Share Posted July 25, 2022 (edited) I’ll give it a pass thanks. Edited July 25, 2022 by Theroadlesstravelled 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
throbber Posted July 26, 2022 Share Posted July 26, 2022 The word hoaching was actually derived from a Scottish persons experiences in the city of Ho Chi Minh*. I remember me and the Mrs went for a walk there on our first day after spending over a year in Australia. We only travelled about 200 yards from our hotel, before turning back as was so overwhelmed by people trying to sell us stuff and the general pace of it all. We tried to cross a road and got stranded only to be rescued by a withered 90 year old. Hoi an was like some sort of mythical town that you get lost in like a maze. One of the coolest places i have visited. Hannoi is a nice big city that doesn’t have the chaos of HCM and Is pretty accessible to Ha Long bay which is also a must for visiting Nam. The only place I didn’t like was Nha Trang which seemed like the Faliraki of Vietnam. Overall it’s an amazing place to visit and much better than Thailand IMO. * May or may not be true. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hk blues Posted July 27, 2022 Share Posted July 27, 2022 15 hours ago, throbber said: The word hoaching was actually derived from a Scottish persons experiences in the city of Ho Chi Minh*. Facts you made up thread for this pish. I've been 3 times to HCM and loved it. It reminded me of how Bangkok used to be before it became so developed. As for the traffic, there is an art to it and once you get accustomed to drifting amongst the mayhem it's not so difficult. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
throbber Posted July 27, 2022 Share Posted July 27, 2022 1 hour ago, hk blues said: Facts you made up thread for this pish. I've been 3 times to HCM and loved it. It reminded me of how Bangkok used to be before it became so developed. As for the traffic, there is an art to it and once you get accustomed to drifting amongst the mayhem it's not so difficult. Don’t get me wrong I enjoyed it there - just a fairly overwhelming place to visit if it’s your first time in Asia. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SlipperyP Posted July 28, 2022 Share Posted July 28, 2022 Been about 5 times. Really liked it, why I went back. Can't speak a word of their language which always put a downer on visiting a country. I'm not a city or beach person (tourist), I go out, then out again. I stayed (welcomed) to place called Phuoc Long, next to big lake. I stayed for 5 days (on my first visit), fishing for food for the day. Then set up a wee project for the villagers (Ning) still takes care. On my first visit, always tell them your not from USA. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bairn in Exile Posted July 28, 2022 Share Posted July 28, 2022 I have lived in Vietnam for the last 13 years, a brilliant place! The people are genuinely very friendly, not like some other Asian countries (personal experience). The women are absolutely stunning, you'll think that you have died and gone to heaven. The food is great, nice and light, not heavy and stodgy like Cambodian cuisine. Not a big fan of pho but really like bun cha, bun thit nuong, nem nuong, bot chien, bo la lot and bo kho. The Vietnamese do tend to smother everything with chilli sauce though. I live near Ho Chi Minh City and my favourite places visited are Hoi An, Phu Quoc Island, Da Lat, Ha Noi and Mui Ne with Hoi An probably just shading it as the best. I can't imagine anybody visiting Vietnam and being disappointed. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hk blues Posted July 28, 2022 Share Posted July 28, 2022 5 hours ago, SlipperyP said: On my first visit, always tell them your not from USA. I never have to! 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hk blues Posted July 28, 2022 Share Posted July 28, 2022 3 hours ago, Bairn in Exile said: I have lived in Vietnam for the last 13 years, a brilliant place! The people are genuinely very friendly, not like some other Asian countries (personal experience). The women are absolutely stunning, you'll think that you have died and gone to heaven. The food is great, nice and light, not heavy and stodgy like Cambodian cuisine. Not a big fan of pho but really like bun cha, bun thit nuong, nem nuong, bot chien, bo la lot and bo kho. The Vietnamese do tend to smother everything with chilli sauce though. I live near Ho Chi Minh City and my favourite places visited are Hoi An, Phu Quoc Island, Da Lat, Ha Noi and Mui Ne with Hoi An probably just shading it as the best. I can't imagine anybody visiting Vietnam and being disappointed. It would probably be my 2nd choice of places to live after Bangkok. My 1st visit to HCM was about 15 years ago and it was pretty laid back then with few high rises. Great city. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazy Days Posted July 28, 2022 Share Posted July 28, 2022 Absolutely love Viet Nam, really great people. In Hanoi asked someone how to get to the Hanoi Hilton jail and this man walked us about a kilometre to it, going onto the road to stop traffic so we could cross and when we got there shook hands and went about his business. Love the culture and love the food. For me, along with Alaska, it is my favourite place to visit. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theroadlesstravelled Posted June 9 Share Posted June 9 (edited) On 27/07/2022 at 20:41, Bairn in Exile said: I have lived in Vietnam for the last 13 years, a brilliant place! The people are genuinely very friendly, not like some other Asian countries (personal experience). The women are absolutely stunning, you'll think that you have died and gone to heaven. The food is great, nice and light, not heavy and stodgy like Cambodian cuisine. Not a big fan of pho but really like bun cha, bun thit nuong, nem nuong, bot chien, bo la lot and bo kho. The Vietnamese do tend to smother everything with chilli sauce though. I live near Ho Chi Minh City and my favourite places visited are Hoi An, Phu Quoc Island, Da Lat, Ha Noi and Mui Ne with Hoi An probably just shading it as the best. I can't imagine anybody visiting Vietnam and being disappointed. Interesting. Have you been to the Foxconn manufacturing facility in Hanoi? Edited June 9 by Theroadlesstravelled 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...