The Big Queen's Park FC Thread

26 minutes ago, an86 said:

Hoping we can take a decent support up for what’s arguably the best away day in the country.

Unless I'm misreading the ticket information away fans aren't going to be allowed in the terrace on Saturday? If that's the case then a lot of the appeal of Arbroath away is out the window straight away.

Just now, Zanetti said:

Unless I'm misreading the ticket information away fans aren't going to be allowed in the terrace on Saturday? If that's the case then a lot of the appeal of Arbroath away is out the window straight away.

Possibly a bit of politics behind that one, but don’t know. Maybe they weren’t happy with the Lesser allocation. Disappointing, right enough. Surely it’d be easy enough to use the bit to the right of the stand, though?

1 hour ago, an86 said:

Possibly a bit of politics behind that one, but don’t know. Maybe they weren’t happy with the Lesser allocation. Disappointing, right enough. Surely it’d be easy enough to use the bit to the right of the stand, though?

Trust this is true and they are not being petty

2 hours ago, Zanetti said:

That's really disappointing. The terrace at Garfield is great (ok, not always, eg, when the weather is unkind).

1 hour ago, Stuntiethumper said:

Members might. Doubt mere ST holders like us will!😀

Aye, sounds about right. 

Excellent chance for some much needed good PR for the admin. 

Surely it'll be communicated before 16th Sept. 

Edited by GloriousHoops

1 minute ago, spiders4ever said:

When we used to play at Hampden the padded seats were for members and season ticket holders. 

Not so. Season Ticket holders were prohibited from entering Centre Stand and padded seats were cordoned off elsewhere. I had many an argument with the jobsworths on that point.

Why would any club stop fans from watching from the best seats available…when paying the top price for tickets ….never understood it . My pal was always taking down the tape that covered the comfy seats ..we should still do this . 

7 hours ago, GloriousHoops said:

I've a feeling I already know the answer to this one but..... do we think STs will get the comfy seats?

Previously, members and the free ticket mob were in the comfy seats; season ticket holders were in the "side" stand.

1 hour ago, williebraveheart said:

Not so. Season Ticket holders were prohibited from entering Centre Stand and padded seats were cordoned off elsewhere. I had many an argument with the jobsworths on that point.

Nope, that's not accurate mate. 

STs did use to get the comfy seats.

Obviously I'm not doubting your recollection, I can only say that for years and years I used to get the exact same comfy seat with my ST. 

Edited by GloriousHoops

5 minutes ago, GloriousHoops said:

Nope, that's not accurate mate. 

STs did use to get the comfy seats.

Obviously I'm not doubting your recollection, I can only say that for years and years I used to get the exact same comfy seat with my ST. 

Yep, I bought my first season ticket around 2004 and ST holders could definitely use the comfy seats. I'm sure it was stated explicitly when the club sent out notification to renew. In fact as a season ticket holder I would occasionally buy comfy seat tickets for a couple of friends in one of the rooms off to the side of the centre stand reception area . I kept using the centre stand right up to 2020 and usually sat in the same seat with much the same people round about me. Except for the time I arrived to find Mixu Paatelainen in my usual seat!

5 minutes ago, Spidersmad said:

Yep, I bought my first season ticket around 2004 and ST holders could definitely use the comfy seats. I'm sure it was stated explicitly when the club sent out notification to renew. In fact as a season ticket holder I would occasionally buy comfy seat tickets for a couple of friends in one of the rooms off to the side of the centre stand reception area . I kept using the centre stand right up to 2020 and usually sat in the same seat with much the same people round about me. Except for the time I arrived to find Mixu Paatelainen in my usual seat!

When I first started attending occaisional games (pay at the gate) the group I went with all sat in the comfy seats. They were all ST holders, and not members. We never had any problems sitting there. The stewards checked you had a season ticket, but not a membership, and I just said I was with them and there were no issues.

In fact if you entered via the main entrance (rather than the turnstiles) and bought a ticket at the wee table in reception, that ticket got you into the comfy seats too.

However, it could well be different this time round. At the two games we played last December I don't believe the comfy seats were available. I seem to remember that the question was asked about this, and the tea room, at the members meeting a month or so ago,  and at that point they didn't know what the setup would be, but suggested it may be similair to the December games.

7 hours ago, Zanetti said:

The article about Arbroath tickets on the QP website says the following, so hopefully we will sell enough tickets in advance to get part of the terracing.

Queen’s Park fans will be housed in sections A and B of the Main (Coel Brew) Stand with the option of adding tickets in Section C if A&B sell out..  If all stand tickets are sold there will be an option of terracing tickets being made available.

13 minutes ago, Ben Reilly said:

When I first started attending occaisional games (pay at the gate) the group I went with all sat in the comfy seats. They were all ST holders, and not members. We never had any problems sitting there. The stewards checked you had a season ticket, but not a membership, and I just said I was with them and there were no issues.

In fact if you entered via the main entrance (rather than the turnstiles) and bought a ticket at the wee table in reception, that ticket got you into the comfy seats too.

However, it could well be different this time round. At the two games we played last December I don't believe the comfy seats were available. I seem to remember that the question was asked about this, and the tea room, at the members meeting a month or so ago,  and at that point they didn't know what the setup would be, but suggested it may be similair to the December games.

There is no acceptable reason whatsoever that STs should not have access to the comfy seats.

That'll be it then, nae chance 😩

9 minutes ago, Ben Reilly said:

The article about Arbroath tickets on the QP website says the following, so hopefully we will sell enough tickets in advance to get part of the terracing.

Queen’s Park fans will be housed in sections A and B of the Main (Coel Brew) Stand with the option of adding tickets in Section C if A&B sell out..  If all stand tickets are sold there will be an option of terracing tickets being made available.

Strangely, the article was updated shortly after being published to say that, beforehand it just said sections A and B.

Still, those plus C must be 300+ seats so that seems unlikely sadly.

3 minutes ago, GloriousHoops said:

There is no acceptable reason whatsoever that STs should not have access to the comfy seats.

That'll be it then, nae chance 😩

The impression I got from the meeting was that we won't get much say in it. It will depend on what the SFA allow us to use.

It may also be that they reserve the comfy seats for folk in hospitality etc.

3 minutes ago, Zanetti said:

Strangely, the article was updated shortly after being published to say that, beforehand it just said sections A and B.

Still, those plus C must be 300+ seats so that seems unlikely sadly.

Yeah, 300 does seem unlikley, so we'll probably not get any terracing after all.