BillyAnchor Posted May 25 Share Posted May 25 She can stop being bothered by the rain 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raidernation Posted May 25 Share Posted May 25 Steamy windows in the crem when she's toasted? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hk blues Posted May 26 Share Posted May 26 No longer One of the Living 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fullerene Posted May 26 Share Posted May 26 On 24/05/2023 at 19:58, scottsdad said: She'll be Turner in her grave at some of these puns Maybe but only a Tina amount. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
peasy23 Posted May 27 Share Posted May 27 ITN journalist Emily Morgan passes away due to lung cancer, aged 45. https://twitter.com/itn/status/1662489729957232640?t=0_R1djWG4IarjbpHDu8Dxg&s=19 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
UltimateDAFC Posted May 28 Share Posted May 28 4 hours ago, peasy23 said: ITN journalist Emily Morgan passes away due to lung cancer, aged 45. https://twitter.com/itn/status/1662489729957232640?t=0_R1djWG4IarjbpHDu8Dxg&s=19 Unavailable for comment. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miguel Sanchez Posted May 28 Author Share Posted May 28 (edited) Week 21 update Three deaths. First is a bit of housekeeping - @Suspect Device's pick Lester Sterling died. No obituary. Go obscure, don't go that obscure. ========= Up next, Tina Turner: Tina Turner obituary | Pop and rock | The Guardian There's no way I'm going to be able to sum up her life in the handful of lines I usually quote. That said, I did find this amusing: Quote The album Foreign Affair (1989) sold 6m copies and generated another trademark anthem, The Best, which was subsequently used to add oomph to numerous TV commercials and adopted both by the tennis ace Martina Navratilova and the racing driver Ayrton Senna. As we all know, these are the only sporting contexts where this song was ever played. While I'm here, I'm listening to River Deep Mountain High. I've never heard it before. It's alright. Tina died at 83, so she's worth 42 Base Points for @blackislekillie, @DeeTillEhDeh, @Jimmy Baker and @Marlo Stanfield. ========= Finally this week, a death that apparently happened on the 10th, Rolf Harris: Rolf Harris obituary | Television & radio | The Guardian Quote “I arrived in the UK on a boat in 1952 at the age of 22, with nothing but a load of self confidence,” he wrote in his 2001 autobiography, Can You Tell What It Is Yet? “As a musician, singer and songwriter, I have had No 1 hits and taken pop festivals by storm; as a television presenter, I have been awarded the MBE and voted TV personality of the year; and as an artist I have had pictures exhibited by the Royal Academy. People who are now parents and grandparents grew up watching me on TV singing Jake the Peg, doing vast drawings with a fat felt-tip pen, blowing the didgeridoo and wobbling a piece of hardboard. Children today know me as the man who worries about cats with broken legs, and ferrets with flu, on the BBC’s Animal Hospital. Touching so many people’s lives has been a huge thrill.” Lots to say about him, but it's interesting to see how people sum themselves up. Harris died at 93, so he's worth 32 Base Points. 28 people picked him, spread out as follows: Base Points (32): @10menwent2mow, @Arbroathlegend36-0, @Bert Raccoon, @blackislekillie, @buddiepaul, @dagane, @dee_62, @D.V.T. @Enigma, @HTG, @Lofarl, @Ludo*1, @Michael W, @microdave, @Oystercatcher, @parxyz, @pub car king, @qos_75, @Scorge, @scottsdad, @senorsoupe, @superwell87, @The_Craig, @throbber and @weirdcal Vice-Captain (48): @Empty It, @The Hologram Captain (64): @Moomintroll As a result, the standings look like this: 1. JustOneCornetto 309 2. Arbroathlegend36-0 230 3. buddiepaul 226 4. The Naitch 208 5. LoonsYouthTeam 187 6. psv_killie 185 7. microdave, qos_75, throbber, weirdcal 166 11. peasy23 165 12. D.V.T. 164 13. The DA 153 14. Desp, Ned Nederlander 151 16. Karpaty Lviv 145 17. Sweaty Morph 140 18. get_the_subbies_on 138 19. Arabdownunder, Bully Wee Villa, cdhafc1874, Frosty, HK Hibee, Mark Connolly 134 25. Ludo*1 133 26. Donathan 121 27. tamthebam 111 28. Arch Stanton, mozam76 101 30. Lofarl, Michael W, pub car king, The_Craig 99 34. Aim Here, Oystercatcher, weemac 97 37. Ray Patterson 96 38. Moomintroll 93 39. Miguel Sanchez 87 40. ParsJake 86 41. alta-pete, Billy Jean King, Indale Winton, sparky88 84 45. blackislekillie, Marlo Stanfield 74 47. ICTJohnboy 69 48. paulathame 68 49. atfccfc, chomp my root, DG.Roma, Fuctifano, gkneil, HI HAT, lichtgilphead, lolls, thistledo 67 58. HTG 66 59. sleazy 55 60. Savage Henry 54 61. Empty It, The Hologram 48 63. DeeTillEhDeh, Jimmy Baker 42 65. 10menwent2mow, Bert Raccoon, dagane, dee_62, Enigma, Melanius Mullarkay, parxyz, Scorge, scottsdad, senorsoupe, superwell87, Suspect Device 32 77. amnarab, choirbairn, Derry Alli, expatowner, stanton 31 82. BillyAnchor, German Jag, superbigal 29 85. Everyone else 0 The spreadsheet has also been updated with these scores: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1RxCIfczRUmrRrW79tUQ0vJ5KaHZpYENsTKmDqW4X3W4/edit?usp=sharing My mouse is sort of useless but I think I've got everyone on the list. Edited May 29 by Miguel Sanchez 8 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wile E Coyote Posted May 28 Share Posted May 28 At least Senna and Navratilovo had a legitimate claim to actually be the best when they used Tina's song 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Suspect Device Posted May 28 Share Posted May 28 Didn't think The Skatalites were that obscure. I was wrong. Lesson learned for next year. On the plus side, @Sergeant Wilson owes me a pound. If I'd taken his bet. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
chomp my root Posted May 28 Share Posted May 28 1 hour ago, Suspect Device said: Didn't think The Skatalites were that obscure. I was wrong. Lesson learned for next year. On the plus side, @Sergeant Wilson owes me a pound. If I'd taken his bet. I'm a bit surprised too mate. I'd have bet my right bollock that Julie Strain would have got a qualifying obit a couple years back. Its a funny old game and all that. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TxRover Posted May 28 Share Posted May 28 5 hours ago, Suspect Device said: Didn't think The Skatalites were that obscure. I was wrong. Lesson learned for next year. On the plus side, @Sergeant Wilson owes me a pound. If I'd taken his bet. They weren’t…the BBC did an obit in 2012 for Lloyd Brevett, but none now… 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sergeant Wilson Posted May 28 Share Posted May 28 8 hours ago, Suspect Device said: Didn't think The Skatalites were that obscure. I was wrong. Lesson learned for next year. On the plus side, @Sergeant Wilson owes me a pound. If I'd taken his bet. Aye, next time I see you. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dagane Posted May 28 Share Posted May 28 9 hours ago, Miguel Sanchez said: Week 21 update Three deaths. First is a bit of housekeeping - @Suspect Device's pick Lester Sterling died. No obituary. Go obscure, don't go that obscure. ========= Up next, Tina Turner: Tina Turner obituary | Pop and rock | The Guardian There's no way I'm going to be able to sum up her life in the handful of lines I usually quote. That said, I did find this amusing: As we all know, these are the only sporting contexts where this song was ever played. While I'm here, I'm listening to River Deep Mountain High. I've never heard it before. It's alright. Tina died at 83, so she's worth 42 Base Points for @blackislekillie, @DeeTillEhDeh, @Jimmy Baker and @Marlo Stanfield. ========= Finally this week, a death that apparently happened on the 10th, Rolf Harris: Rolf Harris obituary | Television & radio | The Guardian Lots to say about him, but it's interesting to see how people sum themselves up. Harris died at 93, so he's worth 32 Base Points. 28 people picked him, spread out as follows: Base Points (32): @10menwent2mow, @Arbroathlegend36-0, @Bert Raccoon, @blackislekillie, @buddiepaul, @dee_62, @D.V.T. @Enigma, @HTG, @Lofarl, @Ludo*1, @Michael W, @microdave, @Oystercatcher, @parxyz, @pub car king, @qos_75, @Scorge, @scottsdad, @senorsoupe, @superwell87, @The_Craig, @throbber and @weirdcal Vice-Captain (48): @Empty It, @The Hologram Captain (64): @Moomintroll As a result, the standings look like this: 1. JustOneCornetto 309 2. Arbroathlegend36-0 230 3. buddiepaul 226 4. The Naitch 208 5. LoonsYouthTeam 187 6. psv_killie 185 7. microdave, qos_75, throbber, weirdcal 166 11. peasy23 165 12. D.V.T. 164 13. The DA 153 14. Desp, Ned Nederlander 151 16. Karpaty Lviv 145 17. Sweaty Morph 140 18. get_the_subbies_on 138 19. Arabdownunder, Bully Wee Villa, cdhafc1874, Frosty, HK Hibee, Mark Connolly 134 25. Ludo*1 133 26. Donathan 121 27. tamthebam 111 28. Arch Stanton, mozam76 101 30. Lofarl, Michael W, pub car king, The_Craig 99 34. Aim Here, Oystercatcher, weemac 97 37. Ray Patterson 96 38. Moomintroll 93 39. Miguel Sanchez 87 40. ParsJake 86 41. alta-pete, Billy Jean King, Indale Winton, sparky88 84 45. blackislekillie, Marlo Stanfield 74 47. ICTJohnboy 69 48. paulathame 68 49. atfccfc, chomp my root, DG.Roma, Fuctifano, gkneil, HI HAT, lichtgilphead, lolls, thistledo 67 58. HTG 66 59. sleazy 55 60. Savage Henry 54 61. Empty It, The Hologram 48 63. DeeTillEhDeh, Jimmy Baker 42 65. 10menwent2mow, Bert Raccoon, dagane, dee_62, Enigma, Melanius Mullarkay, parxyz, Scorge, scottsdad, senorsoupe, superwell87, Suspect Device 32 77. amnarab, choirbairn, Derry Alli, expatowner, stanton 31 82. BillyAnchor, German Jag, superbigal 29 85. Everyone else 0 The spreadsheet has also been updated with these scores: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1RxCIfczRUmrRrW79tUQ0vJ5KaHZpYENsTKmDqW4X3W4/edit?usp=sharing My mouse is sort of useless but I think I've got everyone on the list. Dammit ,you forgot me ,this is the earliest I've ever had points hanx to this aul ragamuffin 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miguel Sanchez Posted May 29 Author Share Posted May 29 16 hours ago, dagane said: Dammit ,you forgot me ,this is the earliest I've ever had points hanx to this aul ragamuffin I actually managed to include you in the scoring, just not in the tags. It was just a test to make sure you were paying attention. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ParsJake Posted May 30 Share Posted May 30 (edited) On 23/05/2023 at 09:20, Arch Stanton said: Alastair "Algy" Ward, former bass player with The Damned gone at 63. Very sad news. Was reading up on him last week and was shocked to find he'd died a few days beforehand. Time to pick up the Tank back catalogue. My joint favourite Damned song, along with "Nasty", which sent me on a lifelong journey down the rabbit hole of punk/HC after seeing it on The Young Ones.. Algy absolutely steals the show here with his facial expressions. Edited May 30 by ParsJake 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sergeant Wilson Posted May 30 Share Posted May 30 28 minutes ago, ParsJake said: Very sad news. Was reading up on him last week and was shocked to find he'd died a few days beforehand. Time to pick up the Tank back catalogue. My joint favourite Damned song, along with "Nasty", which sent me on a lifelong journey down the rabbit hole of punk/HC after seeing it on The Young Ones.. Algy absolutely steals the show here with his facial expressions. That's a shame I seen them in one of his first gigs in Nottingham Sandpiper club in 1979. Which reminds me my first ever gig anniversary was last week. The Stranglers at the Apollo 26 May 1978. Support band was The Skids a fair number of that bill are deid as well. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tamthebam Posted May 30 Share Posted May 30 16 minutes ago, Sergeant Wilson said: That's a shame I seen them in one of his first gigs in Nottingham Sandpiper club in 1979. Which reminds me my first ever gig anniversary was last week. The Stranglers at the Apollo 26 May 1978. Support band was The Skids a fair number of that bill are deid as well. ^^^ first ever gig was actually Showaddywaddy but trying to gain street cred 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sergeant Wilson Posted May 30 Share Posted May 30 (edited) 5 minutes ago, tamthebam said: ^^^ first ever gig was actually Showaddywaddy but trying to gain street cred I wish it had been! ETA. they must be downto a duo by now. Edited May 30 by Sergeant Wilson 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
peasy23 Posted May 30 Share Posted May 30 1 hour ago, tamthebam said: ^^^ first ever gig was actually Showaddywaddy but trying to gain street cred I have a workmate who is a diehard punk who is now in his early 60s. He is quite proud of the fact that his first gig was Showaddywaddy at Leicester's De Montfort Hall. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superbigal Posted May 30 Share Posted May 30 Robin Page of One man and his dug fame. Has been condemned to the slaughterhouse. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...