Otis Blue Posted February 8, 2023 Author Share Posted February 8, 2023 8 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said: Footballers are often human beings too. Of course and good man managers know when to gently coax and when a rocket is required depending on the individual. However, as I've said earlier, managers are at the sharp end of professional sport and they don't have much time to get things right. They might have the players on the training pitch all week but come match day they only have 90 minutes to get a result so if they see it isn't working they've got decisions to make and they don't have time to piss about. It might not be nice but that's the game. What would Alex Ferguson have done if he saw it wasn't working? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
19QOS19 Posted February 8, 2023 Share Posted February 8, 2023 24 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said: I know that football is obviously a unique environment, so I'm not claiming it's like for like. However, many of us wouldn't respond best to that kind of motivation. Footballers are often human beings too. They are. But footballers greetin about being subbed is like a policeman greetin about someone verbally abusing him. It comes with the job, if you don't like it, change careers. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Monkey Tennis Posted February 8, 2023 Share Posted February 8, 2023 3 minutes ago, 19QOS19 said: They are. But footballers greetin about being subbed is like a policeman greetin about someone verbally abusing him. It comes with the job, if you don't like it, change careers. I don't think anyone is suggesting that anyone else was greetin' about anything were they? I just don't automatically share the fondness there seems to be for a pretty brutal approach to man management. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slipmat Posted February 8, 2023 Share Posted February 8, 2023 12 hours ago, 19QOS19 said: If you're not doing as the manager asks then expect to be hooked regardless of the time. As I said at the time, I'm all for it. If he can't meet the standards set by Bartley then he only has a few months left of his contract before he can find someone else. 10 hours ago, Otis Blue said: Managers don't last long in football. They know that they'll either move on to better things or be sacked. So they can't afford to mess about and I like that Bartley is a decision maker and is proactive during a game. If the players aren't doing what he wants they get hooked, simples. What's not to like? The players know where they stand, Bartley calls the shots, end of. I tend to agree with both of you. The flaw in the argument is, however, that going by this logic Murray's instructions must be to go out and do f**k all for 90% of his time on the pitch otherwise he'd be hooked 10 minutes after he appears in a match. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
19QOS19 Posted February 8, 2023 Share Posted February 8, 2023 10 minutes ago, Slipmat said: I tend to agree with both of you. The flaw in the argument is, however, that going by this logic Murray's instructions must be to go out and do f**k all for 90% of his time on the pitch otherwise he'd be hooked 10 minutes after he appears in a match. Aye worryingly he seemed to last longer than I'd have liked (well, he started for one). But he was obviously doing what was asked of him and Ruth wasn't. FWIW I didn't think Ruth was particularly terrible but I'm not the one giving him instructions. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fae_the_'briggs Posted February 8, 2023 Share Posted February 8, 2023 Another way to look at this Ruth issue is, the Manager should have an idea of Ruth's capabilities, maybe asking him to do something he's not capable of or comfortable with and then being disappointed or surprised when he doesn't do it kind of puts some of the blame at the Manager's door. Fwiw I don't think the half would have finished any differently if he'd left the substitution til the break. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Otis Blue Posted February 8, 2023 Author Share Posted February 8, 2023 43 minutes ago, Slipmat said: I tend to agree with both of you. The flaw in the argument is, however, that going by this logic Murray's instructions must be to go out and do f**k all for 90% of his time on the pitch otherwise he'd be hooked 10 minutes after he appears in a match. Aye, you've a point there tbf. Mind you he was hooked eventually, as Bartley could see he was delivering the square root of SFA. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Monkey Tennis Posted February 8, 2023 Share Posted February 8, 2023 39 minutes ago, 19QOS19 said: he was obviously doing what was asked of him and Ruth wasn't. FWIW I didn't think Ruth was particularly terrible but I'm not the one giving him instructions. Jeez, Napoleon is always right. I like the look of Bartley so far too, but let's see how it goes. I don't think we've see enough yet to assume his every call must be drenched in a wisdom we mortals can't fathom. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
19QOS19 Posted February 8, 2023 Share Posted February 8, 2023 52 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said: Jeez, Napoleon is always right. I like the look of Bartley so far too, but let's see how it goes. I don't think we've see enough yet to assume his every call must be drenched in a wisdom we mortals can't fathom. I don't think he'll get it right all the time either. And I've not said he taking Ruth off was the right decision tactically either. My point is I'm happy to have a manager who will hook someone if they feel the player isn't doing what's asked/required. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skyline Drifter Posted February 9, 2023 Share Posted February 9, 2023 14 hours ago, Monkey Tennis said: Bit harsh. I'm no great fan of the player, but making the change a few minutes before half time strikes me as unnecessarily humiliating. I'm not remotely bothered whether he makes a change 5 minutes before half time in terms of the player, that's on him to manage. On a practical basis though I did think it was unnecessary as doing so cost us a 2nd half substitution opportunity. You are allowed 5 subs during the 90 mins but only 3 play stoppages. If he'd done it at half time we'd have had 3 changes in the 2nd half. Because he did it before half time we only had two. We did put three players on in two second half stoppages but late on we had players going down with cramp, an available change on the bench but couldn't put a sub on after the 78th minute when McKenna had to come on for the injured Muir. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...