What's yer arcade game?

Back in the day, going to the baths, bowling, an arcade or wherever, was there a particular machine you'd be desperate for a shot of above all others?

The swimming baths where I grew up had a café in it with a Street Fighter II machine that was an early obsession for me, if I see it somewhere I'll still insist whoever I'm with plays me at it (I'm pretty pish, cannae really pull off any combos or that but learned a few of the special moves as Chun-Li). The other big one for me is Bubble Bobble, I can't mind exactly when the first time I played it was, but I've got a wee table top cabinet version of it that I'm still addicted to (still never beat it).

• Replies 45

Top Posters In This Topic

1 hour ago, Todd_is_God said:

There's one in NQ64 in town

Nice!! I've never been yet but that definitely sways me. I went to that Super Bario before in the Merchant City but found it quite dear, fun though.

In terms of other pubs in Glesga that have arcade machines in them, I can venture The Raven, Sleazys and The Arlington for having those 1000 in 1 Pandoras Box type machines.

41 minutes ago, coineanach said:

Nice!! I've never been yet but that definitely sways me.

The drinks are reasonably priced, as are the games (all on tokens, was 15 for £8 when I was in). Defo worth a visit.

7 hours ago, 54_and_counting said:

Time crisis and then its machine gun upgrade called crisis zone

And House of the dead same shit but with Zombies.

And on the rare occasion that there would be a Tekken machine I'd be on it for hours.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Empty It said:

And House of the dead same shit but with Zombies.

And on the rare occasion that there would be a Tekken machine I'd be on it for hours.

House of the dead for me too. Side note, it had a cracking dreamcast port with light guns. 

Early doors, Pacland in the local chippie, Commando at the holiday park and Kick and Run with the pedal in the local arcade. 

Edited by Homer Thompson

28 minutes ago, Homer Thompson said:

House of the dead for me too. Side note, it had a cracking dreamcast port with light guns. 

Early doors, Pacland in the local chippie, Commando at the holiday park and Kick and Run with the pedal in the local arcade. 

Still have it for my chipped Dreamcast in the attic 😂

1 hour ago, Homer Thompson said:

Aye the arcade gun games had great ports back in the day, time crisis and crisis zone were fantastic on the ps 2 as well and as you said the dreamcast version of HotD was top notch

Always remember a machine in booths in glasgow centre, it was a light gun game but the whole screen was the arcade and you stood in a frame and the charcter copied your movements lile ducking and hiding, 

You were a cop as per and you had to hide behind crates and pillars etc, but unlike time crisis it wasnt a pedal you pressed, you actually had to do the movement of hiding lol, was a cracking game and the sweat was pishing off you after it 

1 hour ago, 54_and_counting said:

Aye the arcade gun games had great ports back in the day, time crisis and crisis zone were fantastic on the ps 2 as well and as you said the dreamcast version of HotD was top notch

Always remember a machine in booths in glasgow centre, it was a light gun game but the whole screen was the arcade and you stood in a frame and the charcter copied your movements lile ducking and hiding, 

You were a cop as per and you had to hide behind crates and pillars etc, but unlike time crisis it wasnt a pedal you pressed, you actually had to do the movement of hiding lol, was a cracking game and the sweat was pishing off you after it 

Yes! I remember that too. Do not remember whatever it was called though.