Dundee United 23/24

One thing Brentford seem to have nailed is recruitment. 

so, if any of this comes to fruition and we take on this trait, I’m all for it 

present & previous regimes have made one expensive mistake after another 

2 hours ago, Gibby82 said:

Yep. Flashing our knickers to become a feeder club for Brentford is surely beneath one of the great names of European football. 

Eh? When I read about the link up I’d just assumed they were going to be the feeder??? 

3 hours ago, Steven W said:

Also, and whilst I'm far from sold on Goodwin, does last night put paid to the "Can't win the big games" stuff that gets trotted out in certain quarters?

The only reason that a midweek match against Morton in March* is in any way a big game is precisely because we’ve made a complete arse of several other “big” matches lately. If we’d gone about our business in a remotely competent way in recent weeks we could have lost last night and not batted an eyelid. We were bound to win one sooner or later. 

(*may not be a big game but it is pleasantly alliterative)

2 hours ago, Dundee Hibernian said:

Think Matthew Benham is in the process of selling his controlling interest in Brentford, and has done so with Midtjylland, therefore I'm hopeful he is looking to take on a new challenge.

If he is looking to offload Brentford it could be that he’s taken them as far as he thinks he can and selling them now will give him the maximum return on his investment. Maybe he sees United where we are (hopefully at a pretty low ebb) and realises that he could improve us fairly drastically then try to sell us for a profit if/when we’re in a better place. We always laugh at guys who think they can make a profit from football, but this guy seems to have a pretty good track record at it. 

1 hour ago, Junior_Arab said:

Eh? When I read about the link up I’d just assumed they were going to be the feeder??? 

The only reason that a midweek match against Morton in March* is in any way a big game is precisely because we’ve made a complete arse of several other “big” matches lately. If we’d gone about our business in a remotely competent way in recent weeks we could have lost last night and not batted an eyelid. We were bound to win one sooner or later. 

(*may not be a big game but it is pleasantly alliterative)

If he is looking to offload Brentford it could be that he’s taken them as far as he thinks he can and selling them now will give him the maximum return on his investment. Maybe he sees United where we are (hopefully at a pretty low ebb) and realises that he could improve us fairly drastically then try to sell us for a profit if/when we’re in a better place. We always laugh at guys who think they can make a profit from football, but this guy seems to have a pretty good track record at it. 

I’m sure you can make money in the Moneybags Super tourist League.  

As Oggy has found out, there is f**k all money in Scottish football. 

Edited by adamntg

41 minutes ago, adamntg said:

I’m sure you can make money in the Moneybags Super tourist League.  

As Oggy has found out, there is f**k all money in Scottish football. 

That's not even remotely true. Ogren has just been really bad at it. 

Scottish clubs reaching European group stage football should be achievable on a fraction of the budget required to do so. 

9 minutes ago, Loemba90 said:

Been told Miller Thomson is out of contract this summer, surely we’re trying to get him on a long term deal?

Classic Utd if he leaves for fk all though

He can't leave for free unless United fail to offer him a new contract and NOBODY could be that incompetent. 

Assuming we don't f**k that aspect up again then it would be a few hundred grand, which should be enough to deter most suitors. Hopefully.  Would be nice to get back into a position of actually being able/wiling to tie down the better young players though. 

1 hour ago, invergowrie arab said:

Scottish clubs reaching European group stage football should be achievable on a fraction of the budget required to do so. 

The Thompson's were pretty crap at it too.

What's our profit/loss table looking like (before benefactor loans) over the last 20 years?

And we've never won a European tie in that time, far less got near any group stage.

8 hours ago, Steven W said:

Fortheringham and Newman in Scotland u21 squad, so (will probably) miss the ICT game on 23rd.

Could a badly timed Walton injury lead to a re-appearance of 'you-know-who'?

Kai would be a miss too, although not been firing on all cylinders lately.

(Side note, could we ask for a postponement at all?)

Scotland only seem to be playing Thursday so surely United tell him to make himself available Saturday.

3 hours ago, invergowrie arab said:

Aye, all you need to do is beat AZ Alkmaar or equivalent.  Piece of piss.  Or finish third, ahead of clubs who’ve already made millions from group stage football. 

59 minutes ago, ArabFC said:

What's our profit/loss table looking like (before benefactor loans) over the last 20 years?

And we've never won a European tie in that time, far less got near any group stage.

Sad to say we haven’t actually knocked a Proper Team out of Europe since Borussia Moenchengladbach in 1987.

Brondby was close, AEK and Trabzonspor not too far away, but a properly shite record over the last 35 years. 

15 hours ago, Steven W said:

Could a badly timed Walton injury lead to a re-appearance of 'you-know-who'?

Don't even joke about that...

15 hours ago, WhatDayIsIt said:

I think Rhuirah Adams is out on loan, so you know who might end up on the bench for that game

Just in case, let's get our goalie coach registered as a player - according to this he is 54 and last played in 2007, so a far better option than he who shall not be named: Paul Mathers.

10 hours ago, Junior_Arab said:

If he is looking to offload Brentford it could be that he’s taken them as far as he thinks he can and selling them now will give him the maximum return on his investment. Maybe he sees United where we are (hopefully at a pretty low ebb) and realises that he could improve us fairly drastically then try to sell us for a profit if/when we’re in a better place. 

I love your positivity - are you sure you're an Arab!?

7 hours ago, Pull My Strings said:

He can't leave for free unless United fail to offer him a new contract and NOBODY could be that incompetent. 

Had almost forgotten about that embarrassing "misunderstanding" - we really have been a joke of a club at times this past few years.

6 hours ago, ArabFC said:

So nasty it has to be on the "not safe for work" section of P&B...

11 hours ago, ArabFC said:

The Thompsons weren't trying to make a profit. ET was happy to plough his money and ST happy to take his salary and share options. They were still really bad a the whole running a sustainable football club too though.

You don't even have to win European ties to get European group stage football any more.

Even without European football other top flight clubs make money.

Indeed you could argue plenty money has been made from Utd recently just that none of it found its way to the owner.

Edited by invergowrie arab

1 hour ago, invergowrie arab said:

The Thompsons weren't trying to make a profit. ET was happy to plough his money and ST happy to take his salary and share options. They were still really bad a the whole running a sustainable football club too though.

You don't even have to win European ties to get European group stage football any more.

Indeed you could argue plenty money has been made from Utd recently just that none of it found its way to the owner.

Tbf, I think the Baldy Snake was quite keen to try make a profit to recoup some of the inheritance that his dad had wasted in his final few years. 

5 hours ago, invergowrie arab said:

I don't think that's the sales pitch you think it is.

Scottish fitba is for suckers - we could rake through all the clubs accounts to prove this, but its fairly self-evident.

Tony bloom Brighton owner apparently interested in us according to Jim spence. 

unless he’s got muddled up, both Brentford and Brighton owners are interested, both extremely well run clubs who both nail there recruitment especially Brighton. 

could be exciting times ahead, if either materialise

4 minutes ago, dundeeunited83 said:

Tony bloom Brighton owner apparently interested in us according to Jim spence. 

unless he’s got muddled up, both Brentford and Brighton owners are interested, both extremely well run clubs who both nail there recruitment especially Brighton. 

could be exciting times ahead, if either materialise

Was just coming here to ask about this.  Is it both guys interested or just Jim continuing to be a parody of himself and talking pish?

13 minutes ago, WhatDayIsIt said:

Was just coming here to ask about this.  Is it both guys interested or just Jim continuing to be a parody of himself and talking pish?

Bidding war.

Expect the Bradford, Bristol City, Bristol Rovers and Bridgerton owners to get involved too

14 minutes ago, WhatDayIsIt said:

The latter undoubtedly.