What are your storage preferences for various staple foodstuffs?   

99 members have voted

I do know that British eggs can easily be stored outwith the fridge, unlike their American counterparts, but it does no harm to have them there, and it just happens to be a better use of space in my particular situation. That's my excuse.

20 minutes ago, Barry Ferguson's Hat said:

Why in God's name would you have to put eggs in the fridge?

You don’t have to, but they will last much longer than the stated BB date if you do so.

5 minutes ago, johnnydun said:

Broon Sass in the fridge?

f**k is wrang wi you?

Manky  to have an open container of food anywhere but the fridge.

I reckon all cupboard sauce people leave their sauce bottles all filthy and encrusted with months old sauce. 🤮

r2xd0botycf11.jpg

Edited by Jives Miguel

24 minutes ago, johnnydun said:

Broon Sass in the fridge?

f**k is wrang wi you?

All sauce should be cold.

Except Worcester & Soy, ofc. But they're not real sauces.

ETA:

Cupboard

Fridge

Fridge

I know you don't have to put tatties in the fridge but if I don't, I forget about them and they start growing roots upwards and it really freaks me out.

Edited by RawB93

If you are wont to poach your eggs the whites stay together much better if a) they are as fresh as possible and b) are at room temperature when they enter the water. And why you would then want to put chilled brown sauce on them I do not know. Just a wee grind of salt and pepper for me, thank you.

Eggs - worktop

Potatoes - one of the large Amazon paper bags is ideal. Definitely not in their plastic bag. Then keep in cupboard.

Sauce - loaded with preservatives so why would you put them in a fridge.

Edited by Dan Steele