The We Love Spain Thread

1 minute ago, Granny Danger said:

I’ve been to a few different parts of Spain.  Galicia, Asturias, the Basque Country, Rioja (that was good but my romanticised view of how wine was made took a dunt) as well as the holiday resorts.  Lovely country, nice people.

Oh actually I ve been to Fuerteventura as well, but it was full of Germans (down Jandia).  Bit too volcanoey and windy for me but still fun nonetheless.

I remember the first time I went to Majorca in the early 80s with my parents, I needed the toilet so we popped into a little cafe near our hotel, I thought to myself wow they have the same food here as they had when we went to Blackpool - my dad calmly explained that egg n chips isny Spanish, so for that reason f**k England for trying to ruin my first visit to Spain, we had Paella for dinner that night it was delicious.

Also who doesn't like a siesta.

Edited by stevieKTID

I cycled from Alicante to Paris over a beautiful month in summer 2008. I've ridden across France twice now but Spain is my favourite country to have cycled across. Gorgeous wee towns (Cuenca is a stunning wee placey) and fairly unspoiled nature. 

Getting free food when you order a beer at a bar is the sign of a truly advanced civilisation.

1 hour ago, Lyle Lanley said:

Anyone else been to Tenerife?

Yip.  On the cable car up Teide there’s  a point in the middle where it dips slightly, when it happens the place goes from a gabble of voices to deathly silence before folk realise everything is OK.

59 minutes ago, Granny Danger said:

Yip.  On the cable car up Teide there’s  a point in the middle where it dips slightly, when it happens the place goes from a gabble of voices to deathly silence before folk realise everything is OK.

Aye been up on the cable car once and thought it was going drop in the middle. Coming back down was even worse. 

Went to Ronda years ago, still some of the hottest temperatures I have ever been in, got a picture standing in the middle of the bullring, looking like a lobster in a white t-shirt 

Fantastic place though, would love to go back

Chorizo and similar Spanish cured meats so completely and utterly annihilates every conceivable English sausage it's hilarious. 

Good tapas is the food of the gods to add. 

Mon the Spanish 

This allows me to re-tell the story of the time I walked past a big hotel in Glasgow and there was a big kerfuffle going on at the front door.

Turns out four Spanish guys had got stuck in the revolving door. I told the doorman it served him right for putting all his Basques in one exit.

15 minutes ago, jimbaxters said:

This allows me to re-tell the story of the time I walked past a big hotel in Glasgow and there was a big kerfuffle going on at the front door.

Turns out four Spanish guys had got stuck in the revolving door. I told the doorman it served him right for putting all his Basques in one exit.

That's a good Juan 

On 12/07/2024 at 04:09, Darth Crabbit said:

Went to Ronda years ago, still some of the hottest temperatures I have ever been in, got a picture standing in the middle of the bullring, looking like a lobster in a white t-shirt 

Fantastic place though, would love to go back

I hear the Williams brothers are from there.

Rodri's committment to playing with his shirt tucked in properly and his socks pulled up, and delicious small plates of food accompanying ice cold drinks in the sun are unmatched, so for those reasons Clive it's Spain for me.  

A pint costs one euro. A single vodka and coke contains 28 units of alcohol, and also costs one euro. The air conditioning in the buses works. They hate the English more than we do.

Great bunch of lads.