Tenkay Posted August 29 Share Posted August 29 Edinburgh City host Peterhead at Meadowbank on saturday, after (finally) earning a big win at Forfar. The blu toon have been one of the top teams in this league for the last few years, and are again one of the favourites to go up this season. City fans can, (maybe) look forward to Saturdays again with a wee bit more hope that we're turning a corner and things are improving. Still our Visitors will be expecting to collect an easy three points here, so it's another big test for us! 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pedro Cabeza Posted August 29 Share Posted August 29 We don't expect to collect an easy three points from any team in this league. From what I've seen of you in the highlights, I don't think you will be cannon fodder for anybody and I also don't think you will finish in bottom spot. For a team assembled almost from scratch, your results so far have been impressive. Also playing at Meadowbank, the most soul destroying stadium in Scotland with as much atmosphere as the surface of the moon must give you an advantage. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
peternapper Posted August 30 Share Posted August 30 Agree we will need to keep up our good work to get the points from this, after Andy McCarthy being taken out last week will have change things around a bit. Although i go to every game had to work hard to convince myself to buy a ticket as Meadowbank is such a horrible place to try and watch fitba. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
doulikefish Posted August 30 Share Posted August 30 (edited) The end of our fringe run finally As usual ...last Saturday "I'm nae going to meadow bank" come Friday travel and ticket for the match sorted Edited August 30 by doulikefish 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tamthebam Posted August 30 Share Posted August 30 It's shit but the most depressing place to watch football in Scotland? There must be a cage in West Division 4 in suburban weegieland which is even more terrible on a wet Saturday in November. I'd find Livingston the most depressing place to watch football myself and that's a "proper" stadium As for the game, our record against Peterheid is not good and I don't like Rory McAllister. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pedro Cabeza Posted August 30 Share Posted August 30 Rory was just saying the same thing about you Tam. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WattersIsGod Posted August 30 Share Posted August 30 1 hour ago, tamthebam said: It's shit but the most depressing place to watch football in Scotland? There must be a cage in West Division 4 in suburban weegieland which is even more terrible on a wet Saturday in November. I'd find Livingston the most depressing place to watch football myself and that's a "proper" stadium As for the game, our record against Peterheid is not good and I don't like Rory McAllister. Hamilton depressed me more but Meadowbank was a pretty close second......and that was with me actually seeing us winning away for the first time in years.. My away record over the last few years would get any manager sacked. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tamthebam Posted August 30 Share Posted August 30 4 hours ago, Pedro Cabeza said: Rory was just saying the same thing about you Tam. Fairy nuff 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jacobsladder Posted August 31 Share Posted August 31 It’s a weird feeling coming into this game on the back of an away win - the team are starting to gel but still worried about our defending at set piece and the fact we do tend to run out of steam a bit Peterhead have been playing out their skin and will be a good test - a 1-1 draw would suit me fine and show that progress is being made 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Les Cabbage Posted August 31 Share Posted August 31 Unchanged line up, no injuries and a smashing performance last week so can’t argue with that. Draw would do fine, hopefully the defence continues to hold firm like it did last week. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jacobsladder Posted August 31 Share Posted August 31 Jeez we are making Peterhead look like Man City here - no creativity at all and Peterhead are cutting thru us like a knife thru butter 4-0 Peterhead at half time - utter pish 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
doulikefish Posted August 31 Share Posted August 31 It's bizarre City have actually created more chances against us than any of our previous games in the league this season but this could be anything for us Need to check out our third again when highlights available...it's a worldie 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
doulikefish Posted August 31 Share Posted August 31 2nd half a non event the job was done in the first half The return of Conor Duthie after over a year out the only plus from the 2nd half 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
King Kebab Posted August 31 Share Posted August 31 4 minutes ago, doulikefish said: 2nd half a non event the job was done in the first half The return of Conor Duthie after over a year out the only plus from the 2nd half The first “Red Pudding Derby” of the season is already looking like a cracker!!! 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RubyTuesday Posted August 31 Share Posted August 31 2 hours ago, doulikefish said: Need to check out our third again when highlights available...it's a worldie I missed it despite it being down my end - was on my phone trying to get Oasis tickets. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
doulikefish Posted August 31 Share Posted August 31 11 minutes ago, King Kebab said: The first “Red Pudding Derby” of the season is already looking like a cracker!!! Away win ...Dems the roolz 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
King Kebab Posted August 31 Share Posted August 31 6 minutes ago, doulikefish said: Away win ...Dems the roolz Big Dick has ripped up the rool book mate!!! 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
doulikefish Posted August 31 Share Posted August 31 6 minutes ago, King Kebab said: Big Dick has ripped up the rool book mate!!! The zombies will be taking over the world not even big dick can break this one we have to accept it's what the fitba gods have decreed 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluetoonscotty Posted August 31 Share Posted August 31 Excellent first half, creating plenty of chances while limiting them to basically nothing. Max Barry’s goal was the pick of the bunch on what might have been his weaker foot? Great strike into the top corner from outside the box. We carried that momentum into the second half and could’ve had 2 or 3 more in the first 10-15 minutes after the restart. After that the game sort of fizzled out as we continued to control the game and see it out. Edinburgh knocked the ball about well at times, playing out from the back and seem to have a few tidy players on the ball. They tried to play “the right way” rather than sitting in trying to frustrate us. This might have been their downfall however as they allowed us far too many chances. Good to stay top of the league and still unbeaten going into this cup weekend. Good stuff! 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
peternapper Posted August 31 Share Posted August 31 Well it worth going back to the capital for 2nds, was down early so got parked at the ground so was able to pass the time wayching a game on the outside astro. Lovely weather although like our own mainstand was in full shade. It certainly did not seem quite so bad in daylight. Still a long way from the action. Access to the toilets involve a bit of a trek as does a trip to the food stand. Was handier being able to get into the ground from the car park although some folk went up to the other end so had to back track. All in all would say City have tried to improve the matchday expieriance but still have some way to go. As for the game, great 1st half with some good goals, let City have quite a bit of the ball 2nd half but did not really trouble our keeper. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...