Posted
14 minutes ago, Steve_Wilkos said:

Parents are braindead morons. 

I assume you’re speaking from experience? 

Posted
13 hours ago, craigkillie said:

Have teachers not considered just making their lessons more interesting?

You could share the laws of the game podcast on the ball in and out of play as an example.

I do actually enjoy the series 

Posted (edited)

It was a lot easier back in the days when phones had actual buttons. You could write a whole message under the table while 'listening intently', quick look down to check it was correct and send it. Touch screens made it impossible not to get caught :whistle

Edited by Spyro
Posted
5 hours ago, hk blues said:

Aye, fair point.

Do many kids fall down wells these days? 

Skippy isn't around to help them now sadly so they MUST have their mobile on them at ALL times because it's safer.

Posted (edited)

The drawbacks of phones in schools way outweigh any benefits they might have. A govt ban would give schools/teachers something to fall back on if questioned by kids or parents but a total ban is hard for schools to police.

I reckon if you got over half the kids to comply then the rest would maybe start follow though. If kids know they're unlikely to get any likes/comments/replies/reposts or whatever between 9 and 3.30, then using your phone becomes less attractive. 

Also when we've had kids away on school trips we've always had a rule of no phones at the dinner table. Every kid, without exception, has always accepted that rule. Of course, there's always the odd kid you see that needs told to put their phone away, but none of them ever challenged the staff about it. I think if rules are clear and consistent most kids will accept them.

Edited by houston_bud
Posted

You’ll never be able to totally ban phones from schools. My eldest is diabetic and the technology is all on his phone x2 which both need to be on him at pretty much all times. They both can’t be on silent either. 

Id imagine once kids notice that someone is “allowed” their phone while at school/during class that would be the rules pretty much thrown out the window.

Posted
2 minutes ago, PB1994 said:

You’ll never be able to totally ban phones from schools. My eldest is diabetic and the technology is all on his phone x2 which both need to be on him at pretty much all times. They both can’t be on silent either. 

Id imagine once kids notice that someone is “allowed” their phone while at school/during class that would be the rules pretty much thrown out the window.

There is always room for exceptions - kids who are old enough to use a mobile are old enough to understand exceptions.  

Posted

Teachers should conduct their lessons whilst having someone bounce around a Minecraft map for maximum brain rot.

Posted
On 16/10/2024 at 08:44, Jan Vojáček said:

Generations of children managed just fine getting belted for misbehaving too, in fact many probably learned from it, but it doesn’t mean we should’ve kept doing that. Progress.

The problem is, there's a correlation between auld yins who froth about modern youngsters and their telephonic devices, and people who post messages on Facebook about how they spent their childhood having the shit kicked out of them and it never did them any harm.

On 16/10/2024 at 09:32, ICTChris said:

When my dad started Primary One in 1949, the teacher made the kids sit with their hands on their head for fifteen minutes after lunch so she could have a nap.  The first time this happened, my dad left and went home, only to be taken back up to the school by his mother, who complained about the teacher.  As my dad puts it, that was his card marked in education.

My parents both tell stories that genuinely take your breathe away about teachers brutally beating children when they were in school.  Plenty of the teachers enjoyed it and made no secret of their enjoyment. 

Parents, of course, also beat their kids as a matter of course.  My dad also tells a story of when his dad, a local policeman, caught him playing truant - he was taken home and belted with the leather strap my grandad used to sharpen his cut-throat razor.  If my grandad was out then my granny would use the cord of the vacuum cleaner to hit the kids.

I have a good friend who grew up in a mining village in Fife in the 1980s.  As she tells it if one of the adults in the village saw a kid from the village doing something bad, they would hit them and then tell their parents, who would also hit the kids when they found out.  Halycon days!

We're only a hundred years or so away from the notion that children should be beaten after every class because the pain would cement the lesson in their mind. This was common sense thinking not so long ago.

It's taken a hell of a long time to gradually move away from the idea that kids require regular doses of violence in their formative years, and there are still plenty who are itching to find an excuse to exorcise their own demons by pummelling the weak.

Posted
3 hours ago, PB1994 said:

I'd give the kids more credit than that to be honest. They'll appreciate that some kids require to have their phone close by for specific reasons.

Posted
30 minutes ago, houston_bud said:

I'd give the kids more credit than that to be honest. They'll appreciate that some kids require to have their phone close by for specific reasons.

Aye, probably been extremely harsh towards them.

Posted
1 hour ago, houston_bud said:

The kids deserve that credit tbf.

The parents? Not so much

Posted

Smartphones: 'I feel guilty for not buying my daughter one for school' - BBC News

A mum has said her 11-year-old daughter returned home from school in tears because she did not have a smartphone to use in class.

Celeste Lewis said she felt guilty after her daughter Ava's school, Whitchurch High in Cardiff, encouraged pupils to use their phones in lessons to do things like look up locations on Google Earth.

Unlike in England, there is no guidance advising schools to ban mobile phones in classrooms in Wales, with the Welsh government saying they could be "used effectively to support learning".

The school said it had an "acceptable use" policy for phones, which it regularly reviewed, but wanted children to be prepared for the future.

Posted (edited)
On 16/10/2024 at 23:13, houston_bud said:

The drawbacks of phones in schools way outweigh any benefits they might have. A govt ban would give schools/teachers something to fall back on if questioned by kids or parents but a total ban is hard for schools to police.

I reckon if you got over half the kids to comply then the rest would maybe start follow though. If kids know they're unlikely to get any likes/comments/replies/reposts or whatever between 9 and 3.30, then using your phone becomes less attractive. 

Also when we've had kids away on school trips we've always had a rule of no phones at the dinner table. Every kid, without exception, has always accepted that rule. Of course, there's always the odd kid you see that needs told to put their phone away, but none of them ever challenged the staff about it. I think if rules are clear and consistent most kids will accept them.
It will be impossible to control. Children now cannot imagine their lives without phones. They may even start protesting and do poorly in school because of this. Then they will start paying for homework at https://ca.edubirdie.com/pay-for-homework and not only. The government will only make things worse with this move. Unless parents take away phones before school.

That will never happen. Kids will bring phones to school!

Edited by Keyesper