Posted

The capacity of some people to be cruel to others astonishes and sickens me. Hearing the tapes of the wee boy begging Myra Hindley for mercy, seeing a picture of an old woman leading her grandchildren into the gas chambers at Auschwitz and today this story - https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/c4gz1dv8ly2o 

Bad enough when it's cruelty to adults, but it seems worse when it's bairns or pets that these people torture. 

I don't support the death penalty but I can understand that some people lose their right to live when they do such things, if only to ensure they can never do it again. 

Has any P&Ber ever tortured etc etc 

Posted

Basically anyone who spends their energy promoting hatred over love does my napper in.

We all experience both emotions, but honest to God which do you want to prevail?

Posted
54 minutes ago, Richey Edwards said:

95% of the population, and that's a conservative estimate.

This is arrant nonsense.

All racists, homophobes and misogynists desperately cling on to the belief that they are in some kind of majority.

Thankfully, they continue to remain a minority 

Posted
6 minutes ago, Cosmic Joe said:

This is arrant nonsense.

All racists, homophobes and misogynists desperately cling on to the belief that they are in some kind of majority.

Aye, can't be doing with that kind of talk but it seems to be the go to attitude for some on here.

There are some horrible, horrible outliers as the linked story shows but the vast majority of people are intrinsically good. If that's not the case, the game's a bogey.

Posted
3 hours ago, Silvio Tattiescone said:

The capacity of some people to be cruel to others astonishes and sickens me. Hearing the tapes of the wee boy begging Myra Hindley for mercy, seeing a picture of an old woman leading her grandchildren into the gas chambers at Auschwitz and today this story - https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/c4gz1dv8ly2o 

Bad enough when it's cruelty to adults, but it seems worse when it's bairns or pets that these people torture. 

I don't support the death penalty but I can understand that some people lose their right to live when they do such things, if only to ensure they can never do it again. 

Has any P&Ber ever tortured etc etc 

It’s an absolutely shocking story but suggests to me some sort of mental health issue as a sane rational person wouldn’t do something like that.

Posted
9 minutes ago, Louis Litt said:

Cycling Mikey 

there's a loonball from East Lothian who stands videoing buses in Edinburgh and reports them for supposed traffic violations. 

Posted
2 hours ago, Cosmic Joe said:

This is arrant nonsense.

The big learning point of my life has been that about 10% of people are genuinely good - they'll do the right thing even when if it harms them - 10% are bad and the the remaining 80% will go along with whoever is winning. 

There will always be bad people and I can live with that, but I can't get my head around the cowardice of the majority. In the history of almost every scandal I've learned about there have been normal people with nothing to gain who have turned a blind eye or covered it up. I'd cheerfully execute those f**kers myself. 

Posted
2 hours ago, Louis Litt said:

Cycling Mikey 

He's being criticised (yet again) for his latest video). 

For those in Edinburgh. Deacon Thurston. 

Posted
7 hours ago, GordonS said:

The big learning point of my life has been that about 10% of people are genuinely good - they'll do the right thing even when if it harms them - 10% are bad and the the remaining 80% will go along with whoever is winning. 

There will always be bad people and I can live with that, but I can't get my head around the cowardice of the majority. In the history of almost every scandal I've learned about there have been normal people with nothing to gain who have turned a blind eye or covered it up. I'd cheerfully execute those f**kers myself. 

You think there are only 780 million good people on the planet?