Telefunken U47 Posted February 1, 2004 Share Posted February 1, 2004 From the Sunday Herald. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Faraday Posted February 1, 2004 Share Posted February 1, 2004 Interesting, but i would rather vogts concentrated on the young scottish players coming through. I see Gallacher scored for blackburn again today. However agathe and fernandez could be a quick fix. However its a bit down the craig brown route and look where that got us! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David W Posted February 1, 2004 Share Posted February 1, 2004 Two good players, Scotland would be mad not to consider playing them. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Broon Posted February 2, 2004 Share Posted February 2, 2004 Agathe is a diddy of the highest order and should never be considered for the famous blue jersey. A complete non starter in my book I agree with DH, we should concentrate on developing the young proper Scottish players. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
k38jfb Posted February 2, 2004 Share Posted February 2, 2004 I'd have Fletcher and McFadden ahead of Agathe and Fernandez any day. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluetooner Posted February 2, 2004 Share Posted February 2, 2004 Probably said this a million times before..... they are not scottish so shouldnt play for Scotland. Its bad enough using English people and can just about accept that due to all being in the UK, but since when were french people or whatever scottish? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kullibino Posted February 3, 2004 Share Posted February 3, 2004 Is whats good enough for the french and the german etc not good enough for us? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluetooner Posted February 3, 2004 Share Posted February 3, 2004 Id just rather have people who play for the country with passion than people who do it to further themselves in some way..... As someone else said people like fletcher and mcfadden are just as good if not better than agathe and fernandez. Give them a game first. Atleast they are Scottish. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest SteakyTheBino Posted February 5, 2004 Share Posted February 5, 2004 Anyone that thinks david fernandez would merit a place in the Scotland sqaud anyway is a complete numpty. Agathe-As if he would show any passion what so ever! We will not get anywhere in the future playing diddies! We shouldnt be considering obvious foriegn diddies! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest ozzy Posted February 6, 2004 Share Posted February 6, 2004 They probably can't even speak great english so how would they sing flower o scotland!? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
arab_joe Posted February 6, 2004 Share Posted February 6, 2004 I'd have Fletcher and McFadden ahead of Agathe and Fernandez any day. Definitely. Scotlands biggets asset is its commitment and determination. I don't know if players who have only been in Scotland for a few years could give the same as boys who have been here their whole lives? Remember who bad Matt Elliot was? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest stuartmaher Posted February 6, 2004 Share Posted February 6, 2004 Remember who bad Matt Elliot was? I think Elliott did a decent turn for Scotland. Anyway it's all very well taking that stance but when England give hundreds of caps to Barnes, Butcher & Dorigo, the Dutch have a squad full of Surinamese and half the French team is from Senegal (& vice versa). Poland have a Nigerian up front for them and when we played Germany all 4 of their strikers (Klose, Bobic, Neuville & Kuranyi) were born outside of Germany. We've also lost a few players over the years to this thing i.e. Baker, Houghton, Ian Hume. So if all these countries with much more resources than us can do it, why should we sit back and watch? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest spr Posted February 8, 2004 Share Posted February 8, 2004 Given a straight choice, I'd play these guys ahead of the likes of the Scottish granny brigade (yer Elliotts, Sullivans etc) since they actually live and work in Scotland. That should count for a wee bit more than coming here on holiday once, that's if they have ever been here at all before the call-up (eh matty, sully?). However, at the end of the day they have not an ounce of Scottish blood in them so, no, we should stick to guys born in Scotland or having a Scottish parent(s), imo. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Annfield Red Posted February 9, 2004 Share Posted February 9, 2004 I'd have Fletcher and McFadden ahead of Agathe and Fernandez any day. Here Here. I'd rather have a team of Scottish players than imported ones. Oh aye Sullivan and Elliott! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gordon EF Posted February 10, 2004 Share Posted February 10, 2004 Is whats good enough for the french and the german etc not good enough for us? No, it's not! They are aiming to win things, we're aiming to have some pride, we're not going to do that with a Frenchman and a Spaniard. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest stevemac Posted February 11, 2004 Share Posted February 11, 2004 Typical tartan army nonsense. If these guys want to play for Scotland then we should be bending over backwards to help them realise this opportunity!!!! Both, especially Agathe, would be real assets to the side. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
deky Posted February 11, 2004 Share Posted February 11, 2004 To play for Scotland you should be born here,or at least one of your parents should.Going back to grandparents is scraping the barrel a bit.As for foreigners who just happen to live here for more than five years,what happens if after five years ,once they get their first Scotland cap they move to england or the continent,will they even remember where Scotland is?Scotland teams should always be Scottish. As far as the argument about the French and Germans doing it and being succesful if the same thing applied in the league we would all be singing bigoted songs and filling our grounds like the old firm.You don't have to join them to beat them sometimes ,and sometimes does for me. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest ~The Blue Brazil~ Posted February 11, 2004 Share Posted February 11, 2004 Fernandez would get a game, but come on, they AREN'T Scottish. I'd rather play a shitty Scottish player than Fernandez or Agathe as he is Scottish. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joozy Posted February 11, 2004 Share Posted February 11, 2004 Doesn't bother me in the slightest. If there's a good foreigner who is eligible and would give us more chance of getting to major tournaments again... why the hell not? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluetooner Posted February 11, 2004 Share Posted February 11, 2004 OK so these people that would like them to play just because we might get to a major championship.... i presume you dont all have a go at the old firm for playing foreign players only? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...