Ric Posted February 22, 2004 Share Posted February 22, 2004 No, not a streaming diatribe against 'Der Terrier' as you might have expected with a title like this, but a side shot at the media for their handling of it all. I for one, as I have expressed in other threads, think that he should be given the chance, but regardless of your opionion on this matter (and this is not the thread to voice your opinion on that - I am making a point about the media's position not the managers!), surely you must see that it's turning into a witch hunt. Why not burn him if he floats and if he drowns let him go, eh? What I find annoying, pathetic, childish and a kneejerk reaction is the need to carry a BBC poll of whether we have faith in Berti any more. What is most gaulling is that we never had a poll to see who we wanted as a manager, nor did we have a poll to ask how many were backing Berti when we had good results against Holland or Germany. Only now do we have one when you can guarantee the result will be in the negative. All too easy pickings for fat lazy hacks who want to make a drama out of a crisis. On the band wagon will jump McNee, Traynor, etc who ply their trade by being reactionary and not proactionary. All too easy to kick people when they are down, all too easy to play Devil's advocate when the subject is emotive. Love him or hate him he does not deserve to be treated like this. We are simply making ourselves the laughing stock of football even more with this tirade of abuse. When Berti goes (in the next 2 weeks, 2 months or 2 years - when his contract is up) who do you think will be willing to take over after the hyperbole and vitriol of the last couple of days? If you think that publicly assassinating one manager via the media is going to endear the Scottish setup to other possible candidates, think again my friend. </rant> Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raving On Posted February 22, 2004 Share Posted February 22, 2004 Here here... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest spr Posted February 22, 2004 Share Posted February 22, 2004 I quite agree. You don't see the Scotland manager (or indeed any manager) call for McNee,Traynor or Nicholas etc etc's head when they write a crap column in the paper. Why should these people be calling for someone else to lose his job? Tossers. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swampy Posted February 23, 2004 Share Posted February 23, 2004 Well put. I think stairparkrabbit's onto something though. Let's organise a P&B Poll next time Traynor spouts some drivel Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RiG Posted February 23, 2004 Share Posted February 23, 2004 I seem to remeber not so long ago when we beat Holland that Berti was our saviour and that we were off to the Euro Championships. I mean, could the Scum and Retard been any more arrogant over that victory when they came out saying we were, basically, through to Euro 2004. No after a couple of bad results he is Satan and he must be deported. Wankers. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluetooner Posted February 24, 2004 Share Posted February 24, 2004 Well put.I think stairparkrabbit's onto something though. Let's organise a P&B Poll next time Traynor spouts some drivel It would get boring rather quick if we kept doing it every time tho, the forum would just be poll:- should jim traynor go, according to what people say of him tho *being in US dont get to hear/read first hand whats said so cant comment* Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adamski Posted February 24, 2004 Share Posted February 24, 2004 Can anyone think of a poll run by a tabloid where the question was whether someone should lose their job or not and the overwhelming majority didn't vote for that person's dismissal? Build up the argument on one side only, whichever way the tabloid wants, then poll Joe Public. Doesn't matter whether it's a football manager, a politician or whoever. Desired results guaranteed. Plus, in all probability a nice little earner for the rag in question every time someone calls the vote line. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chris Posted February 26, 2004 Share Posted February 26, 2004 I mean, could the Scum and Retard been any more arrogant over that victory when they came out saying we were, basically, through to Euro 2004. No after a couple of bad results he is Satan and he must be deported. It was even worse than that, after the 6-0 game Traynor said he was a disgrace and had to go. How can one man go from being the saviour of Scottish football to a national disgrace within the space of 2 football matches and less than a week?! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cityfan Posted February 27, 2004 Share Posted February 27, 2004 Can you really take Traynors comments seriously though? More often than not, he does not express his true feelings, he will just say what gets a raction. Traynor is brilliant at getting a reaction from people, just look at the way hes got the tartan army's attention in the past. Reaction and attention = More people reading his column and listening to his show. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sonny Therock Posted March 1, 2004 Share Posted March 1, 2004 Away ya bunch of Brigadoon navel gazers! Traynor has conistently been on the sceptical side since McVogts was (unfairly) given the Scotland job. It's not the media who pick the national team or don't have a clue how to organise. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kullibino Posted March 1, 2004 Share Posted March 1, 2004 I suppose he fluked his way through Euro 96 then, if he has respect of ppl like Matthaus and Klinsmann then thats good enough for me. The problems not the manager or the players,but the over expectation,mainly built up by the media. We're getting like england beleieving we have some sort of devine right to be at tournaments,have a look at the sides that are there this summer, how many of them have weakert player pools that us? ONE latvia! I'm not a massive follower of the scottish national team, but looking in from the outside the problems seem pretty obvious to me!And some ppl are just spouting pure shite without any hint of an argument to back it up at all. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest cleland Posted March 1, 2004 Share Posted March 1, 2004 No one claims we are world beaters, but neither are Wales If Ritchie can mark Earnshaw out a Nationwide division one game, then he can do it for Scotland I don't know if Vogts should go or not, but for 500k a year I expect better than disorganised shambles & a shrug of the shoulders "what can I do?" when his team gets gubbed If he stops the daft experiments, and just accepts there are no hidden treasures in the Nationwide League he can stay. Decide on the best team and stick with it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sonny Therock Posted March 3, 2004 Share Posted March 3, 2004 I suppose he fluked his way through Euro 96 then. Yup, he sure did my friend! As the German press were happy to point out at the time. He inherited a team that couldn't fail. Face the truth; the wee man is garbage and would struggle to put together a team capable of beating a bunch of second division level part-timers where footie is not their first job. He's a diddy. And an overpaid diddy at that. 500K for th job he's done? Money for old rope. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Se Draca Posted March 3, 2004 Share Posted March 3, 2004 500K for th job he's done? Money for old rope. I'd have thought he'd buy something more interesting Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kullibino Posted March 3, 2004 Share Posted March 3, 2004 Yup, he sure did my friend! As the German press were happy to point out at the time. He inherited a team that couldn't fail.Face the truth; the wee man is garbage and would struggle to put together a team capable of beating a bunch of second division level part-timers where footie is not their first job. He's a diddy. And an overpaid diddy at that. 500K for th job he's done? Money for old rope. Aye very good,go back and have a look at the squads for Euro 6 then. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swampy Posted March 4, 2004 Share Posted March 4, 2004 The German press, like the Scottish press, love to see Vogts fail. If you use those two sources as a basis for judging Vogts' success then your conclusions will obviously be total pish. Fud. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sonny Therock Posted March 5, 2004 Share Posted March 5, 2004 Fud? Moi? I think not you inbred galloot. Which queue were you standing in when the brains were handed out? McVogts has been given a fair crack by the press ; hiding behind lamentable excuses will not do. It's time for a change. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robbo Posted March 5, 2004 Share Posted March 5, 2004 ST.........agree,his times up and time he walked or punted taking Burns with him. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...