Guest wideboyal Posted March 23, 2004 Share Posted March 23, 2004 It was reported in the Herald and Record this morning that Berti could be heading away to manage Turkey when their current coach's contract expires. We could also be getting compensation for him leaving early! Is this a good thing or a bad thing. I for one would like to see the back of him..... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest spr Posted March 23, 2004 Share Posted March 23, 2004 A bad thing for Turkey methinks. Me too, I think he's had his chance. Imo we have not improved under him nor are we likely to. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
morrison Posted March 23, 2004 Share Posted March 23, 2004 Aye right, why would Turkey want that failure?! If anyone employs him after us, they deserve everything they get - the guy's a numpty. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
k38jfb Posted March 23, 2004 Share Posted March 23, 2004 Accept the offer from Turkey if they want him, but if they don't, sack him if we don't show any improvement in our next two games. Anyway, isn't turkish delight rhyming slang for Berti's performance? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest LJ Posted March 23, 2004 Share Posted March 23, 2004 I'd let him go and give Bonhoff the job. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kullibino Posted March 23, 2004 Share Posted March 23, 2004 The guys a well respected manager in world football, if i were him i'd be over there in a shot! Have a wee look at the turkish player poor compared to the dross he has to work with here! Do we have anyone of the likes of Basturk? or Sas?Or Emre?Or even Muzzy Izzet, when will bee accept that we are with out current squad a poor national side! Who do we appoint as the next manager?Everyone talks about the motivational qualities of Strachen,Well Keegan's the best in the business at that and he was way out of his depth at international level. A new man might get an extra 10% out of the players but at the end of the day its not going to change the fact that the player just aren't there. PPl might pull the Wales card out again byt do we have a Giggs, Hartson or Bellamy or even a Speed, Savage or Jones! Do we f**k, but we are moving in the right direction, alot of damage has been done to the scottish game in the last decade with the massive influx of (poor)players from overseas, but the SFA along with Vogts and Bonhof have us moving in the right direction, it's not going to be an overnight process. Look at France They never Qualified for the 94 world cup, but they knew that eventually they would see the benifits of their youth academy.Fair enough we'll never have the success that they have, but we will improve!BELIEVE! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Bhoys67 Posted March 23, 2004 Share Posted March 23, 2004 If Berti is thinking of leaving then the SFA should sack him now. With the world cup qualifying to begin shortly, the last things player need to worry about is if the manager is going to be there. And would Scotland go for another FOREIGN manager to replace him? The SFA should look for a top home grown coach such as Danny McGrain, or dare i say it, Alex McLeish? If the SFA wait to long to sort this out then Scotland's World Cup chance could be some what damaged. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robbo Posted March 23, 2004 Share Posted March 23, 2004 The SFA are skint and can`t afford to sack Vogts. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Bhoys67 Posted March 23, 2004 Share Posted March 23, 2004 Robbo, how can the SFA be skint, Scotland for most of thier home matches fill the stadiums the use (depending on quality of opposition). Even our Canadian Soccer Association just signed a $5,000,000 deal for sponsorship, and we don't even have a national league, so i don't think the SFA can be as bad off as you said. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swampy Posted March 23, 2004 Share Posted March 23, 2004 I hope he decides to stay. We are making progress iwth him at the helm. Rather than enter another Craig Brown-esque age of reliable mediocrity, I'd prefer to see Vogts stay and take gambles in friendlies (since that's like, what they're for and all) rather than bring in some crowd-pleaser who won't actually take the team anywhere. Bonhof, as has been mentioned, would be the ideal replacement. If/when Vogts leaves/gets sacked, ideally I'd like a Bonhof/Strachan partnership Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
houston_bud Posted March 25, 2004 Share Posted March 25, 2004 I'd let him go and give Bonhoff the job. too right. bonhoff has done wonders for the u21s. he should be the next scotland manager Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest spr Posted March 28, 2004 Share Posted March 28, 2004 I think he's said he's quite content just to work with the kids. Can't see him hanging around if his mate wee Berti gets the bullet. Agree Strachan's the kind of guy we need. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...