Captain Kerthorse Posted May 16, 2004 Share Posted May 16, 2004 Hi, Myself and a few others are re-doing the official forfar site over the summer months. We have been running for some time a poll to identify just exactly what information the sites users want (as we know we have let standards slip over the last season). Would apprecaite getting some input from away supporters so if any of you could fill it in etc it would be good. Please approach it as if you were answering what you would like to see on YOUR clubs website (if you can bracket what team you follow after your name that would be ace too) Poll is here: http://www.forfarathletic.fsnet.co.uk/tbta/fafc.htm All the best etc (ps - the poll has ALOT of drop down menu boxes so watch out if you dont run alot of memory on your system) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary Posted May 17, 2004 Share Posted May 17, 2004 Hi Kev What would be good for us would be information about the club specifically for visiting fans, just stuff in brief like best pubs, Club address and phone number, also links to the clubs official and unofficial websites & Forums. Also a link to a map and some transport links? Heres what we put on the Stranraer site..... CLICK HERE Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
An Sionnach Posted May 20, 2004 Share Posted May 20, 2004 What would be good for us would be information like best pubs. Very good point, particularly if you are hoping to attract more youngsters and families. I've had to learn through experience where the best child-friendly and Guide Dog (GD) welcoming hostelries are and it's been a bit of a struggle at some places to find anywhere to go with two kids and a blind wife. Some helpful advice for next season: Arbroath - Tutties Neuk opposite the ground. (A legend, apparently ). Kids, GD's and wheelchair accessible. Good food, reasonable prices. Arbroath Alloa - Hmm, I've found nothing near the ground so Stirling is your best bet. Hogs Head, 2 Baker Street. Just up the hill from the station. Kids, GD's Wheelchair accessible if they open both the doors! Taxi rank at the station to get to the ground afterwards! Alloa (also Stirling) Ayr - never been so don't know. Honest Men's recommendations welcomed Berwick - The Angel, Brewery Bank. Kids, GD's but no easy wheelchair access. Beer Garden for nice days is wheelchair friendly though! Black and Gold at the ground. Kids, GD's, wheelchairs welcome. Does good food too and is where most Berwickers go before (and sometimes after) the game). Berwick (The Angel) Brechin - The Eagle Inn in High Street. Small, separate dining area - kids, GD's and wheelchair access. Brechin Dumbarton - Bowling Club, right at the end of Castle Street. Kids, GD's and wheelchair access. Not much food though, unless you like living on crisps Dumbarton Forfar - No. 99 opposite the road to the ground. Kids, GD's but can't remember about wheelchair access. Seem to recall having to go down some steps to the bar, but once you're in the street level half, they've got a waitress service so should be okay. Good food, too - unless you want to nip round the corner for an infamous Bridie! (Sorry, nae map but it's 97-99 North Street, Forfar). Morton - The Norseman on the corner by the ground. Kids, GD's and good atmosphere as a lot of the Morton crew go there. Nae food, unless crisps and nuts count, and two flights of stairs so nae wheelchairs. However, a chipper is right next door and they didn't seem to mind carry outs being brought in! (Again, nae map - but it's right on the corner by the ground. Ye cannae miss it!) Stirling Albion - See 'Alloa' Stranraer - a wee hotel on the main road to the ground. Kids, GD's and wheelchair accessible. Quiet, with just a few locals. Food available at reasonable prices, even made my boy a toastie when the food service was 'shut' after the game. Life saver as the next train back to Glasgow wasn't til 8pm Stranraer Realise this has run on a bit but hope it's of some help to all you fans out there B) (One proviso - this has all been from memory, some not so recent, so don't blame me if something has changed when you get there. I always ring in advance just to 'sus' things out. Please feel free to point out any errors or let me know of any other/better establishments) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
boardroomshuffler Posted May 20, 2004 Share Posted May 20, 2004 I hear a couple of Berwick directors are buying a pub..Acess can only be gained by showing a "monkey"at the door to gain entry.That means i can gain access but how many more? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...