The Cricket Thread

bewlay

46 minutes ago, Marten said:

A washout today would mathematically confirm qualification for both Ireland & Scotland.

I think Ireland are already through with their washout. With Germany now unable to qualify we are through if either of our game or Italy's game doesn't get played (of if we win and/or Italy lose).

3 minutes ago, Bully Wee Villa said:

I think Ireland are already through with their washout. With Germany now unable to qualify we are through if either of our game or Italy's game doesn't get played (of if we win and/or Italy lose).

Yeah, Ireland are through already indeed. I just had a look at the run rate calculation and Scotland are all but mathematically through already. Even if Italy win both their matches convincingly (like they reach 180 runs and bowl the opposition out for 90), Scotland can only finish below them on NRR if both the remaining games for Scotland are complete hammerings in the category of Spain v Isle of Man a few months ago (Spain bowled IOM out for 10 & then hit 2 sixes to chase their target in only 2 balls).

8 minutes ago, Marten said:

Yeah, Ireland are through already indeed. I just had a look at the run rate calculation and Scotland are all but mathematically through already. Even if Italy win both their matches convincingly (like they reach 180 runs and bowl the opposition out for 90), Scotland can only finish below them on NRR if both the remaining games for Scotland are complete hammerings in the category of Spain v Isle of Man a few months ago (Spain bowled IOM out for 10 & then hit 2 sixes to chase their target in only 2 balls).

I noticed China were skittled for 25 by Thailand, with Extras the top scorer with 9. :bag

A bit of a struggle for Scotland’s batsmen today, not the typically fluent batting performance we’ve come to expect in these qualifiers (the match against Jersey aside). Berrington more or less single-handedly salvaged the innings, with brief late support from Leask. Not sure of the wisdom of bringing Mackintosh in at 5 - he looked nervous and tentative throughout (aside from one classy sweep shot), as he has in most of his performances with the bat for the national side to date. It’s definitely bowler-friendly conditions at the Grange today though. I’d expect 159 to be more than enough.

IMG_3027.jpeg

Edited by Frankie S

Who is the bloke with the transatlantic accent who has been commentating on these games? He's beyond irritating. Appears to believe he can create excitement by randomly screaming whenever there's an significant event, and the volume of his voice doubles seemingly at random.

Was bliss when he buggered off for half the Austrian innings the other day and it was just the other guy and the female guest.

17 minutes ago, Boo Khaki said:

Who is the bloke with the transatlantic accent who has been commentating on these games? He's beyond irritating. Appears to believe he can create excitement by randomly screaming whenever there's an significant event, and the volume of his voice doubles seemingly at random.

Was bliss when he buggered off for half the Austrian innings the other day and it was just the other guy and the female guest.

Is it Peter Della Penna? May be wrong but think he's American and was defo doing some commentary earlier in the tournament. He's a muppet, remember a huge twitter rant he did about how England complaining about mankads could be attributed back to their colonial past

1 minute ago, bairn88 said:

Is it Peter Della Penna? May be wrong but think he's American and was defo doing some commentary earlier in the tournament. He's a muppet, remember a huge twitter rant he did about how England complaining about mankads could be attributed back to their colonial past

Yeah, cheers. Certain that's him.

Scotland qualify and straight into main draw. Will be 4 groups of 5. Qualifiers so far Scotland, Ireland, USA, West Indies, Australia, England, Netherlands, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and Bangladesh.

Nae point in staring at your bat when you never moved your feet.

This is typical England. Decent Aus bowling, but they haven't got a clue how to temper their game and bat in these conditions. Utterly bizarre, with them being the Home nation.

Edited by Boo Khaki