Seal the trapdoor

11 hours ago, PossilYM said:

Plus we've still to see movement upwards from the Wosfl into the LL.

Even by default Wosfl teams will eventually lift off promotion wise. The old Junior Uber element "nobody wants to watch us play Broomhill on a Tuesday night" will quieten down as the pyramid caravan moves on. Believe that in turn will be healthier for the Wosfl clubs left behind.

We were told Auchinleck Talbot were going to skoosh through the leagues and would be a championship club as soon as the pyramid was open. Crowds too big to be held back by the diddies that had signed up to the Lowland League. We're still waiting...

1 hour ago, The Moonster said:

We were told Auchinleck Talbot were going to skoosh through the leagues and would be a championship club as soon as the pyramid was open. Crowds too big to be held back by the diddies that had signed up to the Lowland League. We're still waiting...

Honestly, what utter tosh this post is

I don't like Talbot, never have, an enjoyed pumping them when i played against them but what is your comment all about.
If thats a comment in your head, then its from delusional fans, who will talk their team up, have you never said anything dumb about what your club will do, Yeha I bet you haven't. 

A lot has to be done to get Talbot to that standard.  But they have the foundations to do so.  They own their own ground, they have a stance great fan base and they have their history, hey have an SFA license.  They have everything in place if they all push together to go through divisions until they find their level.  I'd definitely say that beyond the Lowland league is their level, meaning SPFL2.  Right now Talbot are going through a new stage in their history, a clean sweep, bringing in new players past few years to get to the standard they want to be, every team eventually does this. 

My own personal view, do Talbot want to go through the pyramid?, I believe no, majority are not convinced by it so I don't think its a big push on their front unlike teams like Clydebank but if thats true then that's Talbot prerogative to do so.

15 hours ago, Bestsinceslicebread said:

I know its the SPFL2 and most fans don't want change but honestly, for that league and leagues above, how boring playing the same teams 4 times a season in the league and then worse, getting them in a cup.  I think if anyone is thinking promotion and relegation to and from the SPFL2 then 1 automatic and 1 playoff is acceptable for most but in all honesty, Stranraer if they had lost the playoff with EK then they would just not be back and could even see them drop into the SOSFL😵‍💫.   I'm sure if you asked East Stirlingshire, Berwick Rangers, Cowdebeath, Albion Rovers, Brechin City Id believe they would all be in the same mindset at the situation they are just now and that would be to open up promotion to and from the SPFL2 

I'm fairly confident a large number of supporters of SPFL2 clubs would like to see changes to the leagues. I think most would be in favour of larger leagues. The question is really about how that's done and what other changes are rolled up into it.

Nobody's going to be in favour of some daft conference, or letting B teams in to the SPFL just for the sake of change.

I'd love to see an expansion of the SPFL leagues and allowing more movement between the SPFL and the HL/LL.

45 minutes ago, Bestsinceslicebread said:

Honestly, what utter tosh this post is

I don't like Talbot, never have, an enjoyed pumping them when i played against them but what is your comment all about.
If thats a comment in your head, then its from delusional fans, who will talk their team up, have you never said anything dumb about what your club will do, Yeha I bet you haven't. 

What the f**k you on about? :lol:

The Talbot fans on here were the biggest loudmouths of the junior cohort, all because they beat a league team in the Scottish Cup and were upset that the junior grade was being demolished. It was their fans who said they could pish the leagues if they wanted/had the opportunity, but here we are watching them f**k around in the WoS. Just seems a lot of chat on here from some weirdly bitter folk that current SPFL teams are somehow falsely in position, when in reality all these big teams that should apparently be further up the chain to replace them can't actually win promotion from their league. 

And for the record, no, I haven't ever claimed my team could pish several tiers of the football pyramid if they wanted to. 

8 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

What the f**k you on about? :lol:

The Talbot fans on here were the biggest loudmouths of the junior cohort, all because they beat a league team in the Scottish Cup and were upset that the junior grade was being demolished. It was their fans who said they could pish the leagues if they wanted/had the opportunity, but here we are watching them f**k around in the WoS. Just seems a lot of chat on here from some weirdly bitter folk that current SPFL teams are somehow falsely in position, when in reality all these big teams that should apparently be further up the chain to replace them can't actually win promotion from their league. 

And for the record, no, I haven't ever claimed my team could pish several tiers of the football pyramid if they wanted to. 

but its fans, delusional bitter fans and the guy your replying to is not a fan of Talbot either so your coming on talking to everyone to read about a league lower than your team is in and you, as far as I'm aware don't have any concept of its strength or even weakness.  There are many strong teams in it and Talbot as I said, majority are not interested in pushing up the pyramid.  Don't class everyone who is more inclined toward the WOSFL as delusional.

p.s.  the part in bold,  some are bitter, granted, some are junior orientated and i couldn't give a toss about them but you have to look at the Facts

Cowdenbeath, East Stirlingshire, Berwick Rangers, Albion Rovers, Brechin City are all part of these teams your are talking about and guess what they haven't or cant get back and are replaced by teams lower down, thus this is why unanimously folk who follow the lower leagues say there are stronger teams than some in the SPFL2 and the weaker ones are slowly being driven down the leagues.

The same goes for people in tier 6 saying there's stronger teams at that level than the Lowland league.
its all about opinions unless facts are thrown into the mix

24 minutes ago, Gordon EF said:

I'm fairly confident a large number of supporters of SPFL2 clubs would like to see changes to the leagues. I think most would be in favour of larger leagues. The question is really about how that's done and what other changes are rolled up into it.

Nobody's going to be in favour of some daft conference, or letting B teams in to the SPFL just for the sake of change.

I'd love to see an expansion of the SPFL leagues and allowing more movement between the SPFL and the HL/LL.

Yeah Gordon EF totally agree with you 100% and i believe a fair amount would like to see changes, in reality we mostly all want to see it fairer and a smoothly run pyramid.  It is a functioning pyramid but there are still some major problems that need addressed objectively 

21 minutes ago, Bestsinceslicebread said:

but its fans, delusional bitter fans and the guy your replying to is not a fan of Talbot either so your coming on talking to everyone to read about a league lower than your team is in and you, as far as I'm aware don't have any concept of its strength or even weakness.  There are many strong teams in it and Talbot as I said, majority are not interested in pushing up the pyramid.  Don't class everyone who is more inclined toward the WOSFL as delusional.

p.s.  the part in bold,  some are bitter, granted, some are junior orientated and i couldn't give a toss about them but you have to look at the Facts

Cowdenbeath, East Stirlingshire, Berwick Rangers, Albion Rovers, Brechin City are all part of these teams your are talking about and guess what they haven't or cant get back and are replaced by teams lower down, thus this is why unanimously folk who follow the lower leagues say there are stronger teams than some in the SPFL2 and the weaker ones are slowly being driven down the leagues.

The same goes for people in tier 6 saying there's stronger teams at that level than the Lowland league.
its all about opinions unless facts are thrown into the mix

The strongest team in the Lowland League by quite a distance last season couldn't beat Stranraer over two legs. What does that say for your "the lower leagues have stronger teams than in SPFL2" comment? 

Every club is where it deserves to be right now. 

1 minute ago, The Moonster said:

The strongest team in the Lowland League by quite a distance last season couldn't beat Stranraer over two legs. What does that say for your "the lower leagues have stronger teams than in SPFL2" comment? 

Every club is where it deserves to be right now. 

Oh ffs, its like talking to a.... oh never mind

Yeah everyone is where they deserve to be because that is how the league is at, is it self interest? is it corrupt/  i don't know but you have a team who have finished dead last but they have been given a survival playoff that is all for them.
lets make it straight, over history in leagues, there have teams who have been relegated who are stronger than the team coming up thats common place..  There are many reason why Stranraer beat Ek. they had too, they brought in very experienced players to help see them over the line. EK had not played for, was it 3 weeks or 2 weeks due to their league ending so were rusty, is the EK manger good enough?  so many ifs or buts but at the end of the day Stranraer won and good on them.  Do I think that EK are stronger than Stranraer, well last year I did but fact remains they lost.  DO I think the same this year, I'm slightly towards EK but I haven't seen both play.  its all about personal views until you put facts in.

but your making noises, daft noises about Talbot fans saying this and that and after them saying that saying there's weak teams in the SPFL and stronger below but this is FACT, over the past 6 or 7 years, the weaker teams from the SPFL have been dropping and not returning.

It genuinely like talking to a kid, he said/she said, ignoring the Facts and putting up one sided information and facts.
its supposed to be a debate so try and be objective as I know I clearly do try to be objective

15 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

Not much as there's a difference between "cup" football and the league. Plenty of 4th placed teams a decent distance behind 2nd have won a play-off round since the SFL/SPFL have had their play-offs.

8 minutes ago, Bestsinceslicebread said:

Oh ffs, its like talking to a.... oh never mind

Yeah everyone is where they deserve to be because that is how the league is at, is it self interest? is it corrupt/  i don't know but you have a team who have finished dead last but they have been given a survival playoff that is all for them.
lets make it straight, over history in leagues, there have teams who have been relegated who are stronger than the team coming up thats common place..  There are many reason why Stranraer beat Ek. they had too, they brought in very experienced players to help see them over the line. EK had not played for, was it 3 weeks or 2 weeks due to their league ending so were rusty, is the EK manger good enough?  so many ifs or buts but at the end of the day Stranraer won and good on them.  Do I think that EK are stronger than Stranraer, well last year I did but fact remains they lost.  DO I think the same this year, I'm slightly towards EK but I haven't seen both play.  its all about personal views until you put facts in.

but your making noises, daft noises about Talbot fans saying this and that and after them saying that saying there's weak teams in the SPFL and stronger below but this is FACT, over the past 6 or 7 years, the weaker teams from the SPFL have been dropping and not returning.

It genuinely like talking to a kid, he said/she said, ignoring the Facts and putting up one sided information and facts.
its supposed to be a debate so try and be objective as I know I clearly do try to be objective

Calling me a kid whilst trying to shut down the argument by shouting FACT. Okay pal.

5 minutes ago, FairWeatherFan said:

Not much as there's a difference between "cup" football and the league. Plenty of 4th placed teams a decent distance behind 2nd have won a play-off round since the SFL/SPFL have had their play-offs.

Hold on a minute, you've got folk arguing that the FACT no team has come back up speaks to the strength of the Lowland League, but when I throw in the team who has most recently stopped a Lowland League side coming up, it's because they were playing "cup" football? :lol:

3 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

Calling me a kid whilst trying to shut down the argument by shouting FACT. Okay pal.

Nope, its not n argument its Fact

Your not called  a kid, I said its like talking to a kid

the quote was "It genuinely like talking to a kid, he said/she said, ignoring the Facts and putting up one sided information and facts.
its supposed to be a debate so try and be objective as I know I clearly do try to be objective"

your clearly trying to blindside but obviously wont work with me, facts are facts

8 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

Hold on a minute, you've got folk arguing that the FACT no team has come back up speaks to the strength of the Lowland League, but when I throw in the team who has most recently stopped a Lowland League side coming up, it's because they were playing "cup" football? :lol:

Your actually defending the defenseless

yeah cup football including playoffs are either up ties that are either one off game or two legged, it is not a league, totally different.

Also your changing the narrative from 5 or 6 years ago to last year

Edited by Bestsinceslicebread

2 minutes ago, Bestsinceslicebread said:

Your actually defending the defenseless

yeah cup football including playoffs are either up ties that are either one off game or two legged, it is not a league, totally difference.

Also your changing the narrative from 5 or 6 years ago to last year

You're*.

Just now, Bestsinceslicebread said:

🤣 Blindsiding again

you're your ; clutching at straws,  I've given you the facts and you have been closed

You've really done nothing of the sort but I don't want to sit through another 4 paragraph word salad from you so we'll leave it there.

What was a noble idea (the pyramid) being corrupted by bad actors (the Old Firm) to use it as a means to get their weans teams into the Championship is undoubtedly worrisome and it's completely understandable why some are now questioning whether we we should temporarily suspend any new clubs being promoted into the SPFL, pending removal of the blight.

9 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

You've really done nothing of the sort but I don't want to sit through another 4 paragraph word salad from you so we'll leave it there.

10 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

of course we can

but as said before your clearly changing the narrative

Saying about Talbot fans which was said 4,5 6 years ago and then your changing it to suit your sided debate just talking about Stranraer.

Said before "Also your changing the narrative from 5 or 6 years ago to last year"

2 hours ago, George Parr said:

What was a noble idea (the pyramid) being corrupted by bad actors (the Old Firm) to use it as a means to get their weans teams into the Championship is undoubtedly worrisome and it's completely understandable why some are now questioning whether we we should temporarily suspend any new clubs being promoted into the SPFL, pending removal of the blight.

Old Firm died in 2012