The Playing The Guitar Thread

A_dee4life

Thread for people who can play or are learning to play the guitar (acoustic, electric, bass, whatever). Could be useful for asking questions about chords or equipment or whatever.

So to start off, some questions. What does everyone play? How long have you played? How good are you?....

I started learning about November, had a cheapy classical acoustic guitar for years so decided to try to learn off the internet. Through Youtube videos I can now play a good few classic riffs. Now thinking for buying a new guitar though, not yet sure whether to get a steel stringed acoustic or electric. I know both have positives and negatives but what would you suggest?

• Replies 119
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Thread for people who can play or are learning to play the guitar (acoustic or electric). Could be useful for asking questions about chords or equipment or whatever.

So to start off, some questions. What does everyone play? How long have you played? How good are you?....

I started learning about November, had a cheapy classical acoustic guitar for years so decided to try to learn off the internet. Through Youtube videos I can now play a good few classic riffs. Now thinking for buying a new guitar though, not yet sure whether to get a steel stringed acoustic or electric. I know both have positives and negatives but what would you suggest?

What type of stuff do you enjoy playing, and do you have a view to going into a band with it? If you are looking towards playing beefier stuff then I would obviously suggest you go for an electric. That way you will still have your old acoustic lying about for quieter sessions, rather than having two acoustics and having to bash away on that if you ever felt like playing some dirty thrash metal.

I play the Bass,i have played for around a year and a half. I am still learning,i do not play enough,but i enjoy it.

Pretty much that. Been "playing" for two now.