Game of Thrones

Quentin Taranbino

Good to see Inverdaoch from Take th High Road on it last night , he was the guy who wanted to kill the kingslayer when he was captured .

so it was! great trivia spotting.

he's obviously recovered from his insanity or alcoholism or whatever it was he suffered just before the end of TTHR. Between him and Ron Donachie High Road's been well represented (James Cosmo been in High Road at all?)

If you're that good, what's the burd who plays the red-haired wildling that's been driving Jon Snow mad for the last 2 weeks been in before? I know her face from something, but can't place it.

EDIT - never mind, got of my lazy virtual arse and did my own research. Rose Leslie, been in an episode of Vera, current series. The pregnant girlfriend of a suspect, she worked in the garden centre.

Edited by Boghead ranter

so it was! great trivia spotting.

he's obviously recovered from his insanity or alcoholism or whatever it was he suffered just before the end of TTHR. Between him and Ron Donachie High Road's been well represented (James Cosmo been in High Road at all?)

If you're that good, what's the burd who plays the red-haired wildling that's been driving Jon Snow mad for the last 2 weeks been in before? I know her face from something, but can't place it.

Downton Abbey apparently. Can't say I've ever watched it. Honest.

Thought that was an excellent episode. My only complaint, although I don't want to turn into one of those b*****ds who slate a TV programme or film for not sticking exactly to the book they're based on, is that I'm worrying they've changed Jon's story a bit too much here. Everything else was great though, the scene with Tyrion and Cersei was fantastic as was the closing scene with Theon. The actor playing Jaime is spot on.

She's like a younger version of Bianca from Eastenders. Purely because of the ginger thing.

Thought that was an excellent episode. My only complaint, although I don't want to turn into one of those b*****ds who slate a TV programme or film for not sticking exactly to the book they're based on, is that I'm worrying they've changed Jon's story a bit too much here. Everything else was great though, the scene with Tyrion and Cersei was fantastic as was the closing scene with Theon. The actor playing Jaime is spot on.

I'd agree, that part is fantastic and really important in the books and I hope they can swing it back around to include the jist of what happens in the book. I think they will, I think they just wanted to show more Ygritte/Jon scenes alone.

Good to see Inverdaoch from Take th High Road on it last night , he was the guy who wanted to kill the kingslayer when he was captured .

the guy that played davie sneddon should be given some sort of role in this.

i just imdb'd the actor and the only thing he has been in since high road is a shot at glory :lol:. obviously sneddon was such a momentus dramatic creation that he doesn't feel able to portray lesser men.

She's like a younger version of Bianca from Eastenders. Purely because of the ginger thing.

Wouldn't have had her as a Scot though.

Anyone else think that they've cast Tyrion as a lot more serious now he's back in King's Landing. Before, he'd generally walk about taking the piss out of the fact he was about to get killed by a bunch of wildlings. Now he's far more serious, although probably largely because KL is about to get attacked. Not read the books, which I'm slightly thankful for. I'd rather go through watching the TV show and then go read the books in a few years and then see what they missed out .

Not to give anything away, but Tyrion does come into his own in the second and third books. As the Hand of the King, he's the one that's making things happen in KL and responsible for protecting it as Joffrey is a hopeless wee shite and Cersei is too wrapped up wanting Jaime returned safely. I'm slightly jealous of folk watching that haven't read the books as the run up to the end of the series is going to be amazing.

Edited by KnightswoodBear

camp pirates sister says c**t -a lot

Bianca saves Jon Snow from a gutting so she can have his baws. Snowbaws eh?

King of the North? Got his hole. Good lad. Jailed his maw as well.

Kingslayers in a boat with the big lassie playing at being a knight, Nae luck, she disnae put out. He should sing a song.

Death Fairy gets the wee lassie through the gates with a visual arts installation called Murdereded Guards by the Foreign Sounding one.

Dwarf's Sussed out the invasion location as the shitport after his number-one-in-the-ninties-sellsword has cleaned his nails. He makes pals with the baldy ball-less one as well. Meanwhile his sister locks up the wrong whore. There's a bit on the DVD extras we're hoping for..

The fat lad in't north finds obsidian. Handy for a bit of dragonslaying. Him and jaime need to get together to get their headbanging out the way.

Sailors with back story eh? Who said stannis was boring? he eats cats and dogs. Nae red wummin with her scary c**t though.

Blondie and are three dragons are the chat between dwarfie and nae baws. Funnily enough then we see blondie and her creepy uncle.

Er that's it

Hurry up Jambo rocker!

Edited by chico

big jorah mormont better get at least a gammy of danerys for all the pish she is putting him through.

jon snow is a moron.

why did the wee man not offer to pump his sister when she was slagging his maggot? that is probably the number one thing i want to see in game of thrones.

putting his maw under arrest and banging charlie chaplin's niece in the same day was quality work from rob.

how come theon and his sister can buzz about westeros but arya and yoren spent about 5 episodes travelling north and got absolutely nowhere?

big jorah mormont better get at least a gammy of danerys for all the pish she is putting him through.

jon snow is a moron.

why did the wee man not offer to pump his sister when she was slagging his maggot? that is probably the number one thing i want to see in game of thrones.

putting his maw under arrest and banging charlie chaplin's niece in the same day was quality work from rob.

how come theon and his sister can buzz about westeros but arya and yoren spent about 5 episodes travelling north and got absolutely nowhere?

My similar question is - the guy who's been bumping people off to help Arya because she let him out of the locked cage - if he's that good at taking people out, how did he end up captured by someone in the first place?

Maybe he wanted to be caught.

Ok, I'm going to have to admit to it now, but I can't help but feel there has been a bit of an illusion that things have been moving forward for the last couple of episodes, when in fact they've rather stagnated.

Now I don't mean to be critical, but we've seen quite a bit of Snow and Ygrette who still haven't really done much moving around in the glaciers, even though we've seen a switch in positions of power, it feels like they've been at it longer than they should have. We did get to see at least what happened to Snow's chums when he couldn't kill her, but not really enough time to see him dealing with the guilt of getting some of his fellow rangers killed. It's seems though that halfhand at least has a plan up his sleeve to get Snow closer to the wildings, maybe they'll fight, maybe he'll have to kill halfhand to get closer to the wilding if Halfhands plan is what I think it is.

Another example is Arya and Tywin, who has finally taken again, three episodes to move away from their little conversations. As enjoyable as they have(the littlefinger one in particular), I can't help but feel there has been a lot of emphasis on putting the pieces in place in the last 3 episodes more than their previous 5, so that anticipated action that we got a taster of at the start of this season can finally start. Game of Thrones made the jump from decent to outstanding in episode 9. It's where where I can't help but hope it will kick off in next week when Stannis arrives at King's Landing. None of this prologue for season 3 in episode 10 this time please, I want it to kick off like a motherfucker.

For all the stories that have stayed in the same place, Stannis, seems like someone who has been completely overlooked in the last couple of episodes. Only in those short sweet minutes of seeing him with Davos, his now hand in waiting, did we see him show vulnerability about holding Storm's End against all odds on Robert's orders, only for his brother Renly to be given the place instead.

I think the most enjoyable scene however, was Tyrion and Varys standing on the line of defence at the high wall. Tryion did not expect to play this game let alone be any good at it, but it seems to have given the man a sense of purpose upon which he thrives upon. Varys seems to view it as a game where it's goal is to try pieces from place to place as much as possible. I didn't feel we saw enough of it of late as I feel that it one of it's strengths when it does it dramatically. It is emerging that the game itself of power is taking priority over the people playing it. That's when we move on with Tryion and Varys to Tryion and Cersei. Definitely the most intense moment of the episode, not because Cersei picked the wrong whore, but because of the way Tryion acted. Not only does he have the range of emotions towards the threat that Cersei was making, but he had to mask that fact that it was Shae, but at the same time display his genuiene sympathy to the girl in the wrong place. He still person enough to feel for her, even if he is relieved that it is not his beloved. His 'I will square this debt' speech had to rewound and watched again. The tense atmosphere around it created by the depth of what he would have felt had it actually been Shae was spectacular.

King Robb gets more of a look in this episode. He has a lot more to deal with than before. A friend who betrayed him(and will probably die for it), a Mother letting her maternal instincts cloud her judgement to let go his leverage for his sisters and the unknown Tywin making a surprise attack in his direction has really not helped his matters. He didn't feel prepared for it, almost the same way Tryion didn't feel prepared for the King's Hand. Yet they've probably thrived the most out of their constrasting circumstances more than anyone. He finally gives in to his temptations with Talisa(and with an arse like that who wouldn't?), but not before we some depth of her character after sitting on the fringes.

We see just a little heartwarming scene as well before Danerys and Jorah, about how he will never forget about the image of her walking into the fire, with her becoming overcome with emotion to touch his face.

Now the main concept of this episode. Robb said to Talisa 'How can a man be brave if he's afraid?' That was the only time a man can be brave, he told me."

This sticks out for a one reason in particular. The fear of dictating ones actions. With Yara and Theon, we see the best and worst of their relationship. Theon expects an open embrace in Winterfell for his actions, yet she just rode past him at the gates. Yet we see her showing that is afraid for him, that he is spiraling into chaos to point where Robb's forces will overthrow him being so far away from home, but she is clearly not afraid of him. Theon believes he needs to hold his course out of fear of disappointing his father again. Tywin believes Robb is too young to be afraid, however it is dismissed by the quote by his father. Cateyln made a foolish decision out of fear for her offspring, by letting Jaime go escorted by Brienne. Jorah is afraid of staying in Qarth for Danerys' sake, yet she afraid to lose her children and will risk it all for them. Jaqen does not entirely fear death himself, but its shown that he certainly doesn't embrace his own as Arya cleverly tricks him into making her escape with Gendry and the fat one.

The 'Prince of Winterfell' himself Bran was barely seen this episode, due to playing the pretending corspe that hangs over winterfell. As said before, I didn't think in the slightest that it was the Starks boys, and I can't help but feel that the writers could have and should have done a lot better at trying to confuse us about it. Credit where it's due however for hiding back in winterfell(Lord of the rings reference from pippin "The closer we are to danger, the further we are from harm").

Episode 9 I think is where it is going to and must happen. The pieces are in place. Twyin is going to face Robb with a surprise attack, Danerys is going back to claim her dragons from the warlock, Jon Snow will be confronting Mance Rayder. But most importantly and I can't stress my excitement enough for it, Stannis will finally confront King's Landing, where I can't help but feel Melissandre will play a part in it. Moist.

I may stay up on Monday to write next weeks review after seeing the promo for next weeks episode. It just can't not kick off here...

the show's problem is that the pov characters don't interact much with one another (not read the books but i believe this is right).

if you have a dozen main characters who need screen time but they can only talk to certain people things will stagnate.