Going for a night out in Edinburgh

Michael94

• Replies 78

Think the lack of decent suggestions for this young whippersnapper shows why Hive is so popular when it comes to weekend nights out.

Places like Cab Vol, most George St clubs etc aren't actually that bad but you feel proper mugged off paying about £8 to get in and the extortionate price of everything seems to attract a horrible amalgamation of tasteless Edinbraaa Yooni arseholes and G-Star touting superstar tradesman fuckwits (I'm thinking more George St here).

If it's for an expensive, well planned out in advance type thing OP, I would have a bit of a crawl across the various bars in and around the Cowgate - BrewDog, Vodka Rev, Kohl, Sneaky's etc, then go to Cabaret Voltaire on Blair Street, if you like your dance and that. Wouldn't fancy (or be able to afford!) that every weekend but could be a good night, if you're not on a budget*

*If you are just go to Hive obviously :D

I think there's too many different suggestions...I'm struggling to pick sad.gif

The Hive is the place to go.

By the way whenever me and my mates go to the Hive we always go to this pub which is pretty much beside it, it's got green paint outside it and by and large it's pretty decent, £2.50 a pint and they always have sport on the big screens, it's not a shitehole either and it's busy enough but you can always find a seat, it's pretty ideal.

^^^ You seem to suggest £2.60 is cheap, it's not really?? Or have I misunderstood?

Edit - not aimed at you TJR.

I find it cheap having regularly paid £3 a pint when i stayed in Haddington. Anywhere else that's good for a cheap well poured brew out of curiosity?

Lloyds offer £2 a pint for Carlsberg, alas Carlsberg tastes awful in comparison to other lagers imo.

Ghillie Dhu at the west end is good...the old casino....

Is that the one just next to the subway? Quite enjoyed it in their when I went... People of a more mature age as opposed to young hoodlums raving it up at the "mighty" City.

No danger next to Rutland ... Scrubway dearie dear :)

The general consensus from myself is Tron and then Hive followed by the wee pizza place round the corner for some post club scran. Whynot is good on a Friday, you do get the odd c**t in their. Head to Bar Napoli for some pizza as well afterwards. Cav is alright if your looking to get launched behind bars for paedophilia. You only need to be about 12 to get in these days. Silk can be okay cause it's next to the grassmarket where me and my mates enjoy going to the Salsa Bar. 2.60 a pint! Been to The Lane a couple of times, used to be Berlin but I couldn't tell you what its called now. I remember seeing Ryan Mcgowan in their one night after we beat the rangers 2-1 at Ibrox. I was a bit overly friendly with my praise. :huh:

Go with The Globe then The Hive.

I'd avoid The Tron.

Aye Brewdogs great actually, but probably not for a bunch of 18 year olds on a saturday night. :lol:

If you're implying that the drink is so strong they'll all end up in a mess, I reckon it's fine. Speaking from personal experience, I seem to get absolutely cunted from time to time on an amount of bevy that would've been no problem four years ago. I know a few folk who say this.

It'll be P&B Gold-bound when we finally get someone. ;)

I once told a mate who was going for a piss-up in Belfast to try this trendy street full of cool pubs and clubs called The Shankhill Road.

He actually namedropped it in front of a load of local birds in an attempt to seem all trendy and in the know. 1-0 me. :D

Even as a private school w**k I find george street is too much. Its filled with p***ks looking for a fight and if you are not a first XV rugby player you are nothing apparently. Opal lounge can go burn in hell. Many of them are bar-orientated with pish dancefloors.

Liquid rooms is decent. The Hive as many have said is an utter shitehole but fun nonetheless. Cav is a shitehole but had decent nights there.

IMO Edinburghs great for pubcrawls...usually start off at Brewdog, work your way along to The Three Sisters, Opium then onto the Grassmarket to Biddy mulligans etc. Some great pubs down there bursting with life and fun.

Am i the only 1 who prefers to have no plan and just wanders round from pub to pub seeing where the night takes me?

If a pub is good and i have a bit of chat on the go with the ladies i stay a while. If the pub looks terrible and the crowd is all wrong i leave.

What i find most amazing about Edinburgh is the way a pint can rapidly inflate in price even in pubs that are 100 yards apart.

It is quite embarrassing to hand over a tenner for 3 pints and get asked for more money.

I'm getting drawn towards the Hive...seems like the place to go

To be honest the first few times I went out after turning 18 (and not spending half my night worrying about getting knocked back) I could have been in a shed in Baghdad as long as it had some music (any music), girls and a bar. It doesn't matter really where you do until you start developing standards, which come about 19.

You are correct. I'd certainly recommend giving it a bash.

You still get some decent eastern European beers like Pilsner and Budweiser(not to be confused with the yank kind) in those big pint bottles for 3 squid.

Ask to get some raspberry jam in them, I was cynical but as soon as it hit the taste buds I practically came.

I've seen people playing boardgames and what not as well! Definitely not as good on Friday or Saturday mind, but then where is in Edinburgh :(

EDIT: I meant to say, I was the most keen vodka drinker before I went there. They have some pretty decent stuff that I never knew made vodka taste so good, plus they freeze it as well(really makes a difference). I'd definitely recommend trying that 5 vodka shots of their menu(that's right a menu) for £11. But not alone, that was a brief night...

I'm a regular vodka drinker, so I reckon I need to try it out at some point soon. I always bottle trying the different varieties when I go places though - are there any ones you would particularly recommend?