Brexit slowly becoming a Farce.

John Lambies Doos

22 minutes ago, Suspect Device said:

Aye but how much will the 50p coin be worth?

Not that we will be able to buy anything in the wasteland post Brexit Britain. 

We could sling them at sheep to kill them.

4 hours ago, ICTJohnboy said:

If the wawmin in the chip shope says it's aw gonnae kick aff, then wae shoood aw bae worryin !!!

Regarding a civil war, how would anyone actually identify who they should be ragin / fightin with ??

I suppose the reality would be that it would give the hardcore neds and EDL types an excuse to smash cars, smash up shops, attack immigrants, set fire to things and generally behave like your typical English football fan abroad.................

Dont civil wars generally spark off when someone high up within the Army manages to instigate an uprising against the Govt. IE the only body in the country with motive and means.

Since there is less than zero chance of that happening, I think she might be worrying about nothing. Unfortunately for the Brexiters, a lack of self awareness has meant they dont know that most intelligent people can now see this is a fucking stupid thing to do.

6 minutes ago, WATTOO said:

If the wawmin in the chip shope says it's aw gonnae kick aff, then wae shoood aw bae worryin !!!

Regarding a civil war, how would anyone actually identify who they should be ragin / fightin with ??

I suppose the reality would be that it would give the hardcore neds and EDL types an excuse to smash cars, smash up shops, attack immigrants, set fire to things and generally behave like your typical English football fan abroad.................

I have a handy colour chart you could use..

18 minutes ago, WATTOO said:

As mentioned I found that article very depressing. Just try living in Burnley - you would soon see what I mean.

I've been told by 2 pub landlords here to keep away from their premises if I'm going to persist in mentioning the "B" word.

All I've ever said in the past is that I'm surprised at the numbers in this area who voted to be worse off.

You're right to suggest that the neds will have an excuse to smash cars, attack immigrants, etc....The thing is though, they will blame the EU for the mess the country will find itself in - especially in the likely event of a No Deal.

4 minutes ago, Granny Danger said:

So we are agreed, the strategy will be “We’re not leaving Europe after all?  Right, let’s attack the Pakis!”

I despair.

Even a soft brexit could very well create that unhappy scenario.

There is a serious and deep rooted belief around these parts that all these immigrants just came to the UK to soak up all the benefits they can get their hands on and enjoy a free health service. There is another widespread belief that they invariably get offered the best council housing available.

26 minutes ago, ICTJohnboy said:

Even a soft brexit could very well create that unhappy scenario.

There is a serious and deep rooted belief around these parts that all these immigrants just came to the UK to soak up all the benefits they can get their hands on and enjoy a free health service. There is another widespread belief that they invariably get offered the best council housing available.

Yes, the sad part is that it suits the Government agenda for the "people" to believe that narrative, so they're happy to let it run and fuel the racists and nutters.

Of course, the problems will REALLY begin once we leave and then there's no EU to blame, so other than a 1930's Germany scenario I really don't know what will be the next steps.

I really do think we're at a junction (again, similar to post world war 1 Germany), where we either embrace Corbyn and a socialist reboot to our system or alternatively we go for an extreme Tory option made up of UKIP and BNP types who will influence all the nutters to blame all non whites and "foreigners" for their ills.

Hopefully, either scenario will be the catalyst for us to finally break free from this madhouse..........

Yes, the sad part is that it suits the Government agenda for the "people" to believe that narrative, so they're happy to let it run and fuel the racists and nutters.
Of course, the problems will REALLY begin once we leave and then there's no EU to blame, so other than a 1930's Germany scenario I really don't know what will be the next steps.
I really do think we're at a junction (again, similar to post world war 1 Germany), where we either embrace Corbyn and a socialist reboot to our system or alternatively we go for an extreme Tory option made up of UKIP and BNP types who will influence all the nutters to blame all non whites and "foreigners" for their ills.
Hopefully, either scenario will be the catalyst for us to finally break free from this madhouse..........
Unfortunately there are many in Scotland who are part of this madhouse

Dont civil wars generally spark off when someone high up within the Army manages to instigate an uprising against the Govt. IE the only body in the country with motive and means.

Since there is less than zero chance of that happening, I think she might be worrying about nothing. Unfortunately for the Brexiters, a lack of self awareness has meant they dont know that most intelligent people can now see this is a fucking stupid thing to do.

The only reference to an army coup by a senior official in the armed forces that I can recall in recent years was if Corbyn entered number 10 and made significant defence cuts. So less than zero chance then!!!!

1 hour ago, WATTOO said:

Eh no. Thankfully Scotland will soon have an opt out of either.

As mentioned I found that article very depressing. Just try living in Burnley - you would soon see what I mean.
I've been told by 2 pub landlords here to keep away from their premises if I'm going to persist in mentioning the "B" word.
All I've ever said in the past is that I'm surprised at the numbers in this area who voted to be worse off.
You're right to suggest that the neds will have an excuse to smash cars, attack immigrants, etc....The thing is though, they will blame the EU for the mess the country will find itself in - especially in the likely event of a No Deal.
I would reply to this thread if I wasn't too busy producing 'Make Burnley Great Again' baseball caps.

"There could even be a civil war. The country has used its voice and if the Government ignores what the people have said then there is going to be a civil war. There is going to be."

Between who? Chip shop workers with the IQ of a fucking hammer and the UK government? Hopefully Skybet let me stick 20 notes on the winner of that one. Cretin.

:lol::lol::lol:

The government wants the estimated 3.5 million EU citizens in the UK to apply for settled status so they can continue living and working here.

But that will not have happened by the time Britain leaves the EU on 29 March.

In fact, Ms Nokes revealed to the Commons Home Affairs committee, just 650 people had registered so far in a pilot programme.

This is going catastrophically well. The 650 are probably the real mugs in this. No good can come from letting the Home Office know that you exist.

Edited by Carl Cort's Hamstring

22 minutes ago, Carl Cort's Hamstring said:

This is going catastrophically well. The 650 are probably the real mugs in this. No good can come from letting the Home Office no that you exist.

Great.  So if we now work 24/7 to process all these people before 29th March, that is still less than 1,000 people per hour.  Why the panic?

3 hours ago, Carl Cort's Hamstring said:

This is going catastrophically well. The 650 are probably the real mugs in this. No good can come from letting the Home Office know that you exist.

They'll be fine - all the Home Office will do is deploy those vans with the 'go home' message on it again.

Interesting collection of thoughts from former Australian PM,Tony Abbott.

It’s pretty hard for Britain’s friends, here in Australia, to make sense of the mess that’s being made of Brexit. The referendum result was perhaps the biggest-ever vote of confidence in the United Kingdom, its past and its future. But the British establishment doesn’t seem to share that confidence and instead looks desperate to cut a deal, even if that means staying under the rule of Brussels. Looking at this from abroad, it’s baffling: the country that did the most to bring democracy into the modern world might yet throw away the chance to take charge of its own destiny.
Let’s get one thing straight: a negotiation that you’re not prepared to walk away from is not a negotiation — it’s surrender. It’s all give and no get. When David Cameron tried to renegotiate Britain’s EU membership, he was sent packing because Brussels judged (rightly) that he’d never actually back leaving. And since then, Brussels has made no real concessions to Theresa May because it judges (rightly, it seems) that she’s desperate for whatever deal she can get.
The EU’s palpable desire to punish Britain for leaving vindicates the Brexit project. Its position, now, is that there’s only one ‘deal’ on offer, whereby the UK retains all of the burdens of EU membership but with no say in setting the rules. The EU seems to think that Britain will go along with this because it’s terrified of no deal. Or, to put it another way, terrified of the prospect of its own independence.

But even after two years of fearmongering and vacillation, it’s not too late for robust leadership to deliver the Brexit that people voted for. It’s time for Britain to announce what it will do if the EU can’t make an acceptable offer by March 29 next year — and how it would handle no deal. Freed from EU rules, Britain would automatically revert to world trade, using rules agreed by the World Trade Organization. It works pretty well for Australia. So why on earth would it not work just as well for the world’s fifth-largest economy?
A world trade Brexit lets Britain set its own rules. It can say, right now, that it will not impose any tariff or quota on European produce and would recognise all EU product standards. That means no border controls for goods coming from Europe to Britain. You don’t need to negotiate this: just do it. If Europe knows what’s in its own best interests, it would fully reciprocate in order to maintain entirely free trade and full mutual recognition of standards right across Europe.

Next, the UK should declare that Europeans already living here should have the right to remain permanently — and, of course, become British citizens if they wish. This should be a unilateral offer. Again, you don’t need a deal. You don’t need Michel Barnier’s permission. If Europe knows what’s best for itself, it would likewise allow Britons to stay where they are.

Third, there should continue to be free movement of people from Europe into Britain — but with a few conditions. Only for work, not welfare. And with a foreign worker’s tax on the employer, to make sure anyone coming in would not be displacing British workers.
Fourth, no ‘divorce bill’ whatsoever should be paid to Brussels. The UK government would assume the EU’s property and liabilities in Britain, and the EU would assume Britain’s share of these in Europe. If Britain was getting its fair share, these would balance out; and if Britain wasn’t getting its fair share, it’s the EU that should be paying Britain.

Finally, there’s no need on Britain’s part for a hard border with Ireland. Britain wouldn’t be imposing tariffs on European goods, so there’s no money to collect. The UK has exactly the same product standards as the Republic, so let’s not pretend you need to check for problems we all know don’t exist. Some changes may be needed but technology allows for smart borders: there was never any need for a Cold War-style Checkpoint Charlie. Irish citizens, of course, have the right to live and work in the UK in an agreement that long predates EU membership.

Of course, the EU might not like this British leap for independence. It might hit out with tariffs and impose burdens on Britain as it does on the US — but WTO rules put a cap on any retaliatory action. The worst it can get? We’re talking levies of an average 4 or 5 per cent. Which would be more than offset by a post-Brexit devaluation of the pound (which would have the added bonus of making British goods more competitive everywhere).
UK officialdom assumes that a deal is vital, which is why so little thought has been put into how Britain might just walk away. Instead, officials have concocted lurid scenarios featuring runs on the pound, gridlock at ports, grounded aircraft, hoarding of medicines and flights of investment. It’s been the pre-referendum Project Fear campaign on steroids. And let’s not forget how employment, investment and economic growth ticked up after the referendum.

As a former prime minister of Australia and a lifelong friend of your country, I would say this: Britain has nothing to lose except the shackles that the EU imposes on it. After the courage shown by its citizens in the referendum, it would be a tragedy if political leaders go wobbly now. Britain’s future has always been global, rather than just with Europe. Like so many of Britain’s admirers, I want to see this great country seize this chance and make the most of it.

Article taken from Spectator magazine 27 October 2018.